We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smiths Beach Resort

Traveller (116)
Pool & Beach (42)
Room & Suite (40)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Pure heaven for beach lovers, Smiths Beach Resort is the quintessential Australian beachside experience. Nestled between Cape Naturaliste and Cape Leeuwin in Western Australia, this Small Luxury Hotel of the World features a range of fully self-contained beach houses, luxury apartments and villas. Most accommodation offers large open plan living areas, with open fireplaces and stunning views from your entertainer’s balcony. Partnering with well-known restauranteur Kate Lamont, the resort features Lamont’s Smiths Beach, incorporating a gourmet Deli and Café along with fine dining Restaurant offering guests and visitors a premium range of food and wine from the region and beyond.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Tennis Court
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
228Reviews
177Photos
3Q+A
62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 60
  • 12
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+4
A stunning resort in an absolutely gorgeous part of WA’s coastline. The views of the cape are breathtaking and apartments are modern and relaxing. With ocean views out the front and red bush views out the back the ocean view apartments are definitely the way to go. In the
Read more
Picture perfect setting at Smith’s Beach Yallingup. Modern, clean and comfortable. Mixed a bit of pleasure with business driving around the area. Fabulous restaurant attached to hotel, Lamont’s. Good ground coffee, fresh milk, good choice of teas. Will definitely go back again!
Read more
We travelled here in January for a two night getaway with the kids. We stayed in a Beach Shack with two children and a baby. The Beach Shack was exactly what we were after and fit us all in comfortably. It also had a little court yard area with a bbq. We swam at the pool, ate
Read more
Response from Adam M, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review. It is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your two nights in our Beach Shack. Being fully self-contained they are a great family friendly option. The team and I all sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Smiths Beach Resort in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Adam McWhirter
Read more
+2
The customer service over the phone with the assistant manager was standoffish, rude and unhelpful when asked for resolutions and help with issues booking a reservation. The room was completely different than what was advertised and than what the photos represented on the resort
Read more
Response from Adam M, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Tahlia N, Thank you for taking the time to review Smiths Beach Resort. Our apologies are extended that your stay fell below your expectations. We note that you chose to reserve our lead in One Bedroom Beach Shack that is described on the online travel agency you reserved your accommodation through as a budget cottage and is separate/next to Smiths Beach Resort. It does not have the same standard as, and is not affiliated with, Small Luxury Hotels of the World however guests still have access to the resort facilities. This room type is marketed and priced in accordance to this. During the course of your two night stay you chose not to contact our team that are available 24 hours a day to advise you were unhappy with your room allocation. Had you done so our team may have been in a position to offer alternative options. When asked on departure if you enjoyed your stay you replied that it was "great''. It was disappointing to learn of your room allocation disappointment until you posted your first online review following your departure. It becomes difficult to resolve any concerns or offer solutions following a guests departure. We are pleased to note that you felt the room was clean and had no maintenance issues. While we have been more than polite and apologetic on our past two responses to your reviews on alternate review platforms, we do note that you were frustrated prior to your stay as you were unable to utilise an third party voucher (this is outside of our control given you booked via this third party website) and also were frustrated that your credit card kept declining so you were required to update it on the third party website in order for us to finally process your accommodation payment. After our Assistant Manager continued to politely explain this to you, you continued to air your frustration at him, despite his best efforts to assist you. It seems there is little we could then have done to ensure a positive outcome given your attitude at this time. It is also noted that your response to our reply on a previous forum was removed due to inappropriate language by the forum moderator, and certainly we do not condone the use of such language. If you browse through the majority of guest reviews you will note that your review is in stark contrast to the majority of guest feedback. We pride ourselves on being one of the most preferred options of luxury accommodation in the region. Kind Regards, Adam McWhirter
Read more
Beach house very spacious and spotlessly clean. Kitchen should be better equipped (eg no oven wear,only 4 cups etc requiring cleaning as soon as an item is used). Good BBQ. Location excellent for exploring the Margaret River region, Augusta being the furthest point we visited at
Read more
Response from Adam M, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at Smiths Beach Resort! While naturally very pleased that you generally had a good experience and highlighted positive points, I was disappointed to read that you also had experiences which did not meet your expectations. Our rooms are equipped with the number of items to accommodate the maximum number of guests in each room. For example the Two Bedroom Beach House that accommodates four people is supplied with 6 of every item such as 6 cups to accommodate 4 people. Guests are always welcome to request additional items if required. Your food and Beverage feedback has been passed onto Kate Lamont the owner of Lamont's Smiths Beach for her review. The Lamont family is well regarded in culinary circles with Kate previously being the Deputy Chairperson of Tourism Australia. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Smiths Beach Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Smiths Beach on your next visit to The Margaret River Region. Kind Regards, Adam McWhirter
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining
nice view from our balcony!
sunset from our balcony
Down to the pool area
View towards Smiths Beach
PreviousNext
1234568
I had no issues at all with spiders but they are everywhere in Australia, coming originally from Europe as well I know exactly where your fear is coming from, just buy a can of Mortein just in case
2 votes
Do you take leavers accomadation?
Dear Viviababio, thanks for your message but we do not take leavers' bookings I'm sorry. I suggest you contact Geographe Bay Tourism Authority and they will be able to give you details of hotels who do in this area.
0 votes
"beachfront for sure"
"Ocean view rooms are amazing !!!!"
"Beach House's are the best - Numbers 1-10"
"Don't play with the AC controllers too much! AC stops working. They are automatically set to range from 21 to 24 degrees."
"Book a Villa/Apartment with a Sea View...."
PreviousNext
12345613
PRICE RANGE
US$121 - US$459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
smiths beach hotel yallingup
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaMargaret River RegionYallingup
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing