We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Save
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (3)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Available
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Suites
Kitchenette
Accessible rooms
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
58
19
7
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
58
19
7
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea cave adventuresacross the roadbeautiful outlookprovide towelsgreat locationnice bathroombuffalo beachbig balconysliding doorthree nightswalking distance to towngreat weekendrestaurants and shopshot poolscomfortable stayocean viewlocal area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

With views like these there is nothing to complain about ! Stunning full floor to ceiling glass front window/doors overlooking the bay and totally self contained this little apartment made for a delightful stop over. The hosts were wonderful and extremely knowledgeable and helpful about...More

Thank KCKaycee
Response from JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel WhitiangaResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kaycee, Thank you for taking time to review your stay here with us at The Oceanside we really appreciate hearing feedback form our guests. We are so glad to hear how impressed you were with our ocean view and spacious apartment, It means a...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We were a little early but room was ready. Very easy and pleasant check in from owner. These folks also run the Sea Cave Adventures that we went on yesterday. Room is excellent, upper level with large glass front opening to big balcony. Ocean is...More

Thank Kenneth H
Response from JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel WhitiangaResponded 22 April 2017

Hi Kenneth, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Oceanside Motel, we really appreciate hearing all the feedback from each of our guests. Yes, our upper level rooms are pretty great, the elevation gives that little bit...More

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We had an upstairs room which gave us plenty of room and a great view. The owners operate the Sea Cave Adventures tour as well. The tour was a great experience despite the very ordinary weather we had. The owners will provide towels for the...More

Thank pete20102016
Response from JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel WhitiangaResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Pete, Thank you for the kind review of your stay here with us at The Oceanside we appreciate your time and feedback. The view from our upstairs units are spectacular and always make the stay that little bit more enjoyable - very happy to...More

Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed in December last year in an upstairs apartment.Great view.Very friendly hosts.They have canoes and electric bikes for hire.We returned in February but stayed in a downstairs room as I was on crutches.The room had a ramp to it and a good sized shower...More

Thank Delwyn B
Response from JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel WhitiangaResponded 2 weeks ago

HI Delwyn, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here with us at The Oceanside Motel we really appreciate hearing your kind feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much in December you came back...More

Reviewed 24 February 2018

Ground floor unit was very large with bedroom separate from living room. Bathroom is very small and could be updated. Clean and comfortable and very conveniently situated across the road from the beach and a short walk into townMore

Thank 19shirley43
Response from JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel WhitiangaResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Shirley, Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us at the Oceanside Motel, we really appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious unit and the location is perfect for relaxing on the...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Whitianga, New Zealand
See all 18 hotels in WhitiangaSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Laundry Service
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitianga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitianga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Natalie S
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from JandLCoomber | Property representative |
HI Natalie, Yes the rooms do have Air Con but as Kim said above - you can open the sliding doors out the front of your room and have the ocean breeze flow thru. Thanks Jill & Les
0
Votes
shelley582017
22 February 2017|
Answer
Response from JandLCoomber | Property representative |
Hi Shelley, Thank you for your question - unfortunately we do not have wheelchair access to our bathrooms (toilet & shower). However as we do have access to the rooms via ramps, we will now look at what we can do to... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Best views from upper floor units with more room but more expensive."
Read review
"Book ahead, I am sure many know of this gem."
Read review
"Go for the newer rooms if you do not mind paying a few more dollars."
Read review
"All of the rooms were very spacious with all the mod cons of home"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing