We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanderling Resort

Show Prices
#1 of 1 Hotels in Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sanderling Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

900 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanderling Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 890: English reviews
Henderson, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Our desk clerk was fabulous. When I explained my husband's health condition she generously moved us from the 4th floor to the first and up graded us to a suite at no extra charge. This prevented from him stressing over easy in and out and being able to park closer to our room. The bed was comfortable, the bellhop was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SFalkner
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for the review. We are glad you joined us and enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you again soon

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We had great views of the sunset and woke to a beautiful sunrise from our room. The room was large and very clean. Staff were friendly. For the most part things were what I would expect from a name that has resort in it. However, I was disappointed in the cheap toilet paper and the cheap feeling sheets. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandee2073
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and good comments which we will pass along. We are glad you were able to enjoy some of those amazing winter sunrises and sunsets. We appreciate you being our guest.

Reviewed 2 February 2017

The resort is housed in an old US Coast Guard Station that is on the National Historical Registry. The interior had been modernized and is very well done. We had a third floor suite in the South wing. Excellent ocean view from living room and bedroom. Staff left us a welcome gift consisting of a tray of bread, cheese, fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and the review. We hope you enjoyed a sunrise over the ocean!

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend in January 2017. The resort wasn't busy, since it was off-season and we got a good rate on Expedia for $159 per night. The resort fees were $15/day due to being off-season. The resort is beautiful. Very spacious and comfortable. Our room was a standard king sunrise room. The bed was very comfortable, and had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mellowdrama
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and the review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back often. We do run specials on our website that may not be offered on Expedia so feel free to contact us.

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We spent three nights at the Sanderling Resort over Thanksgiving. We had a great off season rate in the South building on the second floor. No pretty views here unless you are on the third floor. Even then there is no view of the beach due to the height of the sand dune. Only the blue of the ocean can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marta_mil
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and your review. We are sorry not all aspects of your stay were memorable. We will use the comments to continue to improve. Note to Travelers: Each building has third floor rooms that have oceanviews. Second level are only considered oceanside because of the referenced dune line.

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy B
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Tidewater Virginia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastvoyager
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Reviewed 4 January 2017

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Ridgetop, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robby F
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 29 December 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariana M
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this review

665 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (353)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (162)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (284)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Oceanfront King Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanside King Room (38)
Viewed
Pool (31)
Viewed
Premium Oceanfront King (42)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duck
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks/ Corolla
8.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
14.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,132 reviews
21.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
15.7 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanderling Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
10 months ago
NJ
7 months ago
Richmond, Virginia

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Sanderling Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I loved the ocean side. Beautiful sunrises on our deck.”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Oceanfront room was extremely clean with an awesome view.”
 of 5 bubbles taylorse1, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would recommend a 3rd floor room to be able to see the ocean over the dunes. Well worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles sharronl700, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor in any of the buildings give the best view of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 624rayj, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure and see the Corolla light house and the OBX wild ponies”
 of 5 bubbles beegeeb2016, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5