We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Colonial Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Colonial Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 302: English reviews
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My childhood girlfriends of 40 years and I stayed here for several days to celebrate a birthday. Our suite had two bedrooms, full kitchen and a very comfortable living room with a wrap around sofa. We enjoyed the easy access to the beach and the pool was very nice. The staff and manager were very friendly and accommodating. Our overall...

1Thank Cheryl S
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to come back so soon. Labor Day weekend is very busy so I certainly encourage you to call soon. I will ensure to share your kind words with our staff.

Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My family and I have stayed there for 3 years and this year was really disappointed. We checked in to have the wrong room and the room we got was upstairs and smelled. I confirmed 3 times that we had bottom floor since the steps were too narrow. We were moved 3rd day with no further problems. Cleaning could be...

1Thank Steph24572
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. Our parking lot is small and we have certainly brainstormed on ways to improve this. I make no excuse for the housekeeping issues you mention as this is unacceptable and I can assure you will be addressed. Improvements to this landmark property are continual so I do hope you...

Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewed 25 July 2013

It is not the Ritz...but we knew that when we booked a last-minute reservation. Our room was clean and comfortable. Decor was circa 1960's but the TV was a new, flat screened model. Very friendly staff and a very good continental breakfast. Easy access to the Beach and pier and a wonderful restaurant is right next door. Additionally, it is...

2Thank Susansellsthebeach
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I certainly appreciate your kind words and honest feedback. The owner is continually working to improve and upgrade this property so I do hope you will consider staying with us in the future. I certainly agree it is a great place for a morning jog.

Fenton mo
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I drove from Missouri to bring my family of 5 on vacation and this place ruined it the picture's show a nice 2 bedroom but the pics must have been from when the day they built the place its was so gross it smelt like mold they only had a stand up shower and I have a 12 month baby...

1Thank mweedman83
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry you traveled so far and were so disappointed with your stay. In recent months the Colonial Inn has invested a lot of time and money to improve the guest experience. Capital issues aside I will never make an excuse for housekeeping issues as this is unacceptable and will be addressed. We tend to receive high marks...

Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Colonial Inn. The front desk staff was very friendly, however, the motel itself is in desperate need of a renovation. The location is great being right on the beach with private access and next door is a pier. However, dogs are allowed at the hotel in every room, so most likely you will hear dogs...

1Thank Amber M
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Amber I truly appreciate your feedback. It is certainly our policy that only part of the hotel is pet friendly. I sincerely apologize if this caused any inconvenience. I can also assure you, as you stated, that the owner is working diligently to ensure the property is upgraded. He made significant upgrades this past year and plans to continue to...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the efficiency out back. Cute room. View of the ocean nice. Very good spot for surfing next to the pier below. Katie at the front desk was really nice. We had problem with the AC. She had it taken care of quickly.

Thank E J
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again very soon.

Morris, IL
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I can't say enough about the helpfulness and knowledge of the staff. In booking "blind" I was hoping that we wouldn't be staying in an out of date place. The registration went smoothly and the folks couldn't have done a better job of directing us to local attractions and restaurants. The motel rooms were clean and the location of being...

1Thank Jim C
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

Jim I appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. Ownership of Colonial Inn changed hands just under two years ago and have been going through phases of upgrades and improvements. We do hope you will visit us again soon and see what all we have improved. I will certainly share your kinds words with the staff.

Butler, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 June 2013

After doing a lot of research, I found Colonial Inn. It had great reviews, despite having only a two star rating. For the great price we deciced to take a chance, and we are glad we did. The motel is older, but the rooms have been updated, repainted, new mattresses, etc. it was clean and the staff was friendly. Katie...

1Thank Ann P
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

We all appreciate your feedback. I am elated you had such an enjoyable stay. It is so nice to hear our off season renovations were a success and we are already planning upgrades for next year. We hope to see you again soon.

Madison, Virginia
Reviewed 24 June 2013

You should know at the outset that the Colonial Inn is a no-frills type place. It has rooms, parking and a continental breakfast. It even has wi-fi if you're so inclined. That said, it also has an absolutely amazing location (it's right on the beach next to the Nags Head Pier and a block away from Lucky 12 Tavern which...

2Thank DukeOfMadison
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your review with Katie and Hagen. We hope you are able to return soon.

West Virginia, United States
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was a great place to stay. The staff were super friendly in helping out. It was very clean (which is a major concern when staying in a hotel). It was right next to the beach. We will be staying here again on our next visit!

1Thank Mable D
Joshua R, General Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review

We have certainly worked very hard on this property and it is so nice to hear your kind words. Reviews like this help motivate the staff by letting them know their hard work is paying off. We hope to see you again soon.

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (124)
Pool/Beach Area (16)
View from Room (8)
Room/Suite (20)
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Bathroom (4)
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen (34)
Beach (12)
Deluxe Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Kitchen (26)
Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Kitchenette (18)
Pool (9)
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (64)
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Room/Suite (31)
Other (11)


  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Colonial Inn is nestled at MP 11.5 On the oceanfront right next door to the Nags Head Fishing Pier. The hotel offers many different room types to accommodate every need. We are also pet friendly! There is a seasonal outdoor pool, a private beach access, refrigerators and microwaves in every room, as well as LG flat screen TVs. We also provide free YMCA passes at request, and free WIFI for our guests. We offer discounts for AAA, AARP members and run specials throughout the year. Historical sites, gift shops, and the outlet mall are just minutes away. Jockey's Ridge State Park is half a mile south and the Wright Brother's National Memorial is less than 4 miles away. Lucky 12 Tavern is in walking distance, and Tortugas' Lie Shellfish Bar & Grill is half a mile north of the Colonial Inn!If you are looking for Old World Charm in the heart of Nags Head, the Colonial Inn is the place for you and your family! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 3329 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9267
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Price Range: £85 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Nags Head
Colonial Motel Nags Head
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Colonial Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Oceanfront rooms are the best.”
Zap3852, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the ocean offer the best ambiance”
RaleighBill, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just don't go to this "Hotel"”
Sail1960, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we had ocean front”
js556677, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
TameraP_13, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5