We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ksar Shama

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (280)
Pool & Beach (72)
Room & Suite (46)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs in Ouirgane
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
One hour south of Marrakech, at the foothills of the Atlas Mountains. Situated on its own 15 hectare olive grove, offering its visitors a breathtaking panoramic view of the snow-capped Atlas Mountains. Relax amidst the surrounding natural beauty, take local excursions, enjoying tastes of the local fare, fruits from the garden, olive oil from the groves. Large group facilities allow for unforgettable memorable occasions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Car park
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Steam room
Currency exchange
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Arabic
384Reviews4Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 246
  • 82
  • 23
  • 19
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
cherryblossom50 wrote a review 14 Feb
Church Stretton, United Kingdom392 contributions116 helpful votes
Fantastic complex of accommodation with large swimming pool area, lots of different areas to sit and relax and eat outside. Bar and restaurant. Good evening meal and plentiful breakfast. Friendly staff. All areas very clean. Indoor open fire in the dining room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sue s wrote a review Jan 2023
12 contributions6 helpful votes
I stayed at Ksar Shama with a single traveller group for three days walking in the Atlas Mountain region. The location is superb, beautiful, very isolated. I can imagine that in the summer guests would be pleased to have very cool bedrooms and dining areas but in December, although the day time temperatures were 24/25 degrees, the early mornings and evenings are VERY cold. We all wore our coats to eat breakfast and dinner. The staff lit both fires in the dining rooms in the evening but the heating did not work. It was advertised as a Spa and Hammam hotel but it was not operating. Many of the air con/heating systems in the bedrooms did not work and were serviced with 2 bar electric fires. There was no heating in the basic bathrooms and shower rooms. The rooms did not feel clean. I was in Room 15, a large family room with fantastic views, at the back of the swimming pool, which had two bedside tables with broken unusable drawers. One lamp was unplugged when I arrived, and on inspection the plug socket was hanging off the wall. It was very short of usable plug sockets. The first couple of nights I went to bed wearing socks and jumper, and once in the shower (thankfully the water was always piping hot) you really didn't want to get out of the shower to get dry and dressed. The outdoor swimming pool area was fantastic but freezing cold, to be expected in the mountains in December. The covers on the sunbeds were very very dirty and stained. The breakfasts comprised mainly cake. On the plus side, apart from the fantastic location and lots of hot water, the staff could not be more helpful and accommodating. FOUZIA, MOHAMMED AND ABDUL, in the bar and dining room, and the chef and kitchen staff were friendly and helpful, helping with our luggage when we arrived, providing tea bags and cold milk for our British tea, and extra chips and veg when we asked. All in all this hotel needs some money and TLC spending on it to bring it up to a comfortable and clean standard.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayoub B, General Manager at Ksar Shama
Responded 5 Aug 2023
Dear Sues, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t have the experience you were expecting. We have taken note of your feedback, and we are happy to let you know that we have made improvements accordingly. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you another time for a stay upto your standards. Kind regards, the team at Ksar Shama.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen C wrote a review Dec 2022
Swindon, United Kingdom1 contribution
This place is nothing like you are led to believe it is when you go to book on their website, apart from the location, which is indeed lovely, but very isolated. We arrived as a group of 13 people who had all been given separate rooms. Firstly we were offered a welcome drink which was mint tea, which I do not like, but was told that was the only option and if I wanted anything else I would have to buy it! We sat and had this in the lovely pool area, which initially looked fabulous, until you saw all the dirty sunbed covers which needed a good wash. When I was shown to my room which was hidden around the back in a very isolated area on the ground floor, I was not happy. When I walked in I immediately found it cold, dark and dirty. There was a bed, the floor hadn't been swept, there was a wardrobe with 2 wire hangers and no drawers to put anything in. The flooring was stone and very cold, with one dirty rug thrown in the middle with 2 chairs with very dirty covers on them and a table. There was a very cold and dark bathroom with a shower in the corner which was even darker. There was also no safe in the room. We had dinner and breakfast included and on the first night we were given some soup, followed by chicken in a terrine with a few olives in it. There were no potatoes of any kind, no pasta, no rice or couscous and no vegetables, just chicken on it's own! Dessert was some very dry chocolate brownies. You could not buy a glass of wine, only a bottle. The beer was over £3 for a very small bottle (that was the cheapest one) and a gin and tonic was £9! All the sunbed covers were dirty, The breakfast was also very poor, some bread type buns, hard boiled eggs, cheese triangles, pancake type things and jam, marmalade and honey. No meat or real cheese or bread or anything like that. The evening meals continued to be very average and on the last night we were given what they said was beef and roast quince, which was indeed quite tasty, that was if you could find a bit of beef amongst all the bones, and again no potatoes, rice or vegetables to go with this. I was overcharged by about £10 and when I queried this the manager argued with me that I had not been overcharged, but then the next morning when I said I didn't agree, she admitted that actually I had been charged for someone elses 2 beers which were £5 each!" Also don't believe there is a spa there, because this has been closed for over 2 years apparently. There is no spa/hammam/massage/steam room, as advertised on their website!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ayoub B, General Manager at Ksar Shama
Responded 5 Aug 2023
Dear Karen, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t have the experience you were expecting. We have taken note of your feedback, and we are happy to let you know that we have made improvements accordingly. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you another time for a stay upto your standards. Kind regards, the team at Ksar Shama.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Diana V wrote a review Jul 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Absolutely beautiful experience ! The house and land are gorgeous, beautiful comfortable rooms with soft beds. Very friendly and gentle stuff, warming hearts really. A perfect get away to tranquility and pure joy of being nurtured by nature and kindness of people . Definitely my top 5 in Morocco.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jennie K wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
This is my third trip here. It’s a beautiful and relaxing location. The staff are friendly and helpful. Hiking nearby. The pool is absolutely beautiful. And the views of the mountains are so lovely. I will continue to come back year after year.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mehdi Mellouk wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
amazing landscape and a good dry weather great service and been here now for the first time on a business trip and definetly coming back with family and friends perfect place for couples to enjoy themselves as well strongly recommended good price and quality service feels just like home
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Abder A wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Words cannot express how wonderful this place is. We had an amazing, relaxing time in Ksar Shama. The rooms were clean with a great view on the mountains. The staff were friendly and helpful. You can walk around or hike. You can also walk to the mosque. I definitely recommend this place !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book prior arriving to the place as it get over booked quickly.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anouar wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
A wonderful place with a magical pool view. Service rooms food … all they were so good and satisfying. We enjoyed our time there. This place deserves to visit. If you wanna have a good time with your family or friends or even alone this place if for you Well be back soon
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Traveler55607768067 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Best place to be at!!! KSAR SHAMA If u ever in Marrakech this is the place to be... Beautiful views amazing food, stuff is Amazing (FOUZIA) shes the lady u need to call. KSAR SHAMA Thanks for the amazing time and will see u next year for sure🙏🙏🙏 ....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TrueBelieverMorocco wrote a review May 2021
Marrakech, Morocco4730 contributions94 helpful votes
Ksar Shama in Ouirgane, 1 hour's drive from the maddening crowds of Marrakech, ticks all the boxes Nestled in the Atlas Mountains on a scenic drive from Marrakech, Ksar Shama is rustic and charming The room is spacious, the bed is comfy and hot water in the shower. The room overlooks a garden with olive and peach trees. There is an outside pool which is always tempting and refreshing after a half day 's trekking . Wifi is available in n shared areas such as the restaurant and the living room Lunch and dinner are available upon request The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Fouzia, the manager If you 're looking for a place to exhale, which is quiet and green, look no further
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for room 18 or 20 VERY QUIET
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ouirgane area.
PRICE RANGE
£67 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ksar shama hotel ouirgane
LOCATION
MoroccoMarrakech-SafiOuirgane
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

KSAR SHAMA - Updated 2024 Reviews (Morocco/Ouirgane)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ksar Shama
Which popular attractions are close to Ksar Shama?
Nearby attractions include Expérience Atlas Mountains (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ksar Shama?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ksar Shama?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ksar Shama?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ksar Shama?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Mouflon, Chez Momo Restaurant, and Mohartirste.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ksar Shama?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ksar Shama have airport transportation?
Yes, Ksar Shama offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ksar Shama located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Ouirgane.
Does Ksar Shama offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ksar Shama?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Arabic.
Does Ksar Shama have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.