We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Devils Marbles Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wauchope
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Devils Marbles Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly I know being a Territorian myself that places to stay with a room are few and far between. But just because you slap a couple of mining camp rooms down shouldn't mean you can justify ripping people off. We found the "dongas" to be dirty with no TV and over priced at $130 a night. No discount for Territorians...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan0085
Belmont, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

What a top place to stop. All staff were super friendly, meals were outstanding and the garden area is a little Oasis. Everything was lovely and clean. Kids had a ball under the sprinkler and playing in the pool. Wish we could have stayed longer. 10 out of 10.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherieBinstead
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Cherie, thank you for your outstanding review. It's so hot this time of year so yes, the sprinkler gets a hiding.. good old fashioned fun we reckon. Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you here again.

Emu Park, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a powered site and our family had a room. Both were good and we had everything we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room where our family were the air con stopped working. A staff member immediately transferred them into another room and helped move their things. We are in the restaurant and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela R
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Pamela, we're sorry about the air-con but relieved we were able to work out a solution - thank you for being so understanding. We wish you well on the rest of your journey and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

What an amazing little Oasis. Nice camping ground, clean donga style bathrooms. The pool and beer garden are an amazing surprise and worth stopping on your travels for this alone!! We stayed in Sept on an AFL finals night. A fantastic night in the bar with super friendly staff, gorgeous meals and the whole family involved watching the footy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FiFiDJ
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Fifi, thanks for that great review. The team really do a wonderful job so it's great when people notice. We wish you well on the rest of your journey and look forward to seeing you again. Cheers from all of us..!!

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on our way through to Masters Games in Alice Springs driving from Darwin. Decided to book another night for the way home as it was such a great spot. Simple, clean accomodation but a great little beer garden and restaurant. Lovely food and good service. Will be back....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You Tamara for your great review. We hope you went well in the Masters and look forward to seeing you again. From all of us - thank you..!!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed in a tent in the grassy unpowered area - only $10pp. Very happy with the basic camp kitchen and amenities, and the staff were friendly and helpful. There's also a nice swimming pool and a lively bar area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Karen, we're delighted you had a great time. A lot of effort goes into keeping the place in tip top shape so it's great when people appreciate it. From all of us we wish you well on the rest of your journey and look forward to hosting you again.

East Fremantle
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We booked a cabin on 19 July for the night of 6 October. We received this response " that's all done for you mate. We look forward to seeing you here then". Imagine our surprise when we arrived at 3 pm to be told they had overbooked and they could not accommodate us! They claimed the person who took the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrigidaD2013
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Well what can we say? We're sorry. We can't undo what happened. It's the first instance of this since purchasing the hotel nearly four years ago. But it's happened once and once is too often. Needless to say we have introduced comprehensive measures to ensure it doesn't happen again. If you're ever up this way again we'll throw you a...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We didn't make Tennant Creek before sundown and decided to stay here at a powered site. The many roadside cows are a danger - the don't wear hi-viz. Very glad we did. Friendly staff, no problem to change the BBQ gas bottle or help with the washing machine. Amenities are spotless, the pool is clean and the beer was cold....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren K
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that Darren, we've all got kids ourselves so we try and make it as family friendly as possible. Yes, you have to watch those moo cows, so many people have come a cropper driving at speed at night time. Have a great trip and we look forward to seeing you again here soon.

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Food is excellent. We enjoyed it so much we stayed again on the way home. Fresh, creamy barra encased in light batter, excellent salad, perfect chips. Same for the schnitzel. Both 'de luxe cabins' are airy, spacious, clean with good mattresses on queen size bed and quietly efficient air con for a great niight's sleep. The cabins have a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

Great Stuff Shirley, we're very proud of our chef extraordinaire Bernie. This Monday night we'll find out if we've won the Gold Plate award for the second year running.. fingers crossed..!! Have a great trip and we hope it's not too long before you drop in again.

Reviewed 30 September 2016

This place is a great place considering there is no competition. The staff are great and don't mind a chat. There is a nice pool out the back for the kids. The kitchen has a good variety of tasty food. I had a stir fry beef and I'm sure it was good quality scotch fillet. Yummy. And the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smiley M
Greg T, Owner at Devils Marbles Hotel, responded to this review

G'day Smiley M and thank you for your wonderful review. We're obsessive about our food quality and cleanliness so it's terrific when people like your good self take the time to give us a pat on the back for it. Hope you have a wonderful journey and look forward to seeing you here again. Cheers Greg

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauchope
0.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
364 reviews
0.0 mi away
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
0.0 mi away
Goldfields Hotel Motel
Goldfields Hotel Motel
#2 of 3 in Tennant Creek
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Nitmiluk Chalets & Campground
0.0 mi away
Territory Manor Motel and Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An unexpected oasis in outback Australia. Fine food, wine and beer selection. Beautiful beer garden, spotlessly clean rooms, pool and closest amenity to the Devils Marbles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Devils Marbles Hotel

Address: Stuart Highway | via Alice Springs, Wauchope, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Wauchope
Price Range: £11 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Devils Marbles Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Devils Marbles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 de luxe cabins very comfy”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyh45, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The deluxe rooms would suit a larger group or families, all rooms are fairly basic and overlook the carpark.”
 of 5 bubbles V6190WPamandah, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ideal positioning of cabins at edge of powered camping sites. Cabins handy to walkway through to beer garden and hotel”
  • Cabin
  • Saying above bed in cabin - love it!
 of 5 bubbles MarkM699, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The wifi isn't great - you have to be near the bar to get service ( it's provided by NT gov not by the pub )”
 of 5 bubbles SGM475, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The best place to stay to break up the long Katherine to Alice Springs road trip.”
 of 5 bubbles J6145AIchristopherr, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5