We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

344 reviews
Save
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (11)
Pool & Beach (8)
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good19%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“shuttle bus”(29 reviews)
“free breakfast”(37 reviews)
“scooteroo tour”(20 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Shuttle Bus Service
Air Conditioning
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (344)Write a Review
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
166
65
38
20
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
166
65
38
20
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busfree breakfastscooteroo tourpool tableping pongcinema roomswimming poola free shuttle servicetwo nightseast coast tripbed dormlots of spaceenjoyed my staypalm treescouple of nightsrelaxed atmosphereno air con
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This is the most amazing place in Agnes Water/the east coast!!! This hostel will make you feel like you are so at home and the people who work are have the most amazing energy about them and you genuinely will not want to leave as...More

Thank livday
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had issues as soon as we arrived, the hostel wasn’t as advertised. Without going into too much detail, the pool was murky green (a rain water pool apparently - that’s a puddle right) not like the photos. The rooms have NO KEYS (They do...More

2  Thank -Global-Galivanter-
Response from Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross BackpackersResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry that you felt the need to write this upsetting review. Our double rooms are booked out on a regular basis and the majority of our guests compliment us on how lovely they are. Maintenance in a hostel is an ongoing process and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hostel along our east coast trip so far. The kitchen is dirty and smelly, so are the bathrooms. We were lucky we were camping there , their outdoor camping land is spacious and nice, but I would never go there again. Just a sad...More

1  Thank Alessa D
Response from Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

We take offence to this review. We employ a full time cleaner who starts at 8.00am in the morning and works through till lunch time. She is a very hard worker and she will be mortified when she reads this review. We have two staff...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only good thing about this hostel is that it’s got loads of land but who really cares about an empty field. Also the free shuttle bus is good unless you miss it then you have to wait about 2 hours for the next one...More

Thank Luke W
Response from Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Luke & Ellis, Well thank you so much for your unbelievable review. I say unbelievable because it actually is totally that !! You booked your stay through Booking.com. On this site you have filters where you can put in exactly what your requirements are...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our stay here. Our room was a double one, and it was so nice, spacious, huge closet, private bathroom, own deck with a small table and chairs... Sooo relaxed atmosphere, surrounded by nature, the staff friendly and relaxed as well, chill, no one...More

1  Thank Yessica G
Response from Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review Yessica. Reading reviews such as yours makes my heart sing. My husband and I have worked so hard to create this beautiful space for people to enjoy and soak up the nature around them. To think, this property was...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345665
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (11)
Pool & Beach (8)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"all rooms are good"
Read review
"Rooms close to the bar can be noisy"
Read review
"Ask for a room with a hammock out front !"
Read review
"Private doubles are quiet and reasonably priced."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing