We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Greenock's Old Telegraph Station

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Greenock\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 42: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place was nice but it lacked in the hospitality department. Breakfast supplies for 1 day, when questioned was told that it's a healthy choice to only have bacon once, thought it was my choice. Not one tissue in the place. Very disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david i
Sue S, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this review

Hi David. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you found the cottage facilities suitable for your group. I'm also glad we were able to accommodate your request for an early check in in order to prepare for your son's wedding, and the extra guests added at the last minute. I'm not sure how you...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Just spent a few days relaxing here - was tidy, comfortable and quiet. The host (Sue) had left local artisan provisions for breakfast which were amazing. Really good base to explore the Barossa and surrounding areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sbirrell2016
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend here and we all really enjoyed our stay. The Bnb felt homely, comfortable and it had lovely personal touches such as toys and amenities for children as the owner knew we were coming as a family. It is a convenient location with an oval and playground across the road and the local pub and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lhg1984
Sue S, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this review

I appreciate that you have taken the time to write a positive review and that you have already passed on recommendations. Thank you.

Brisbane, QLD
Reviewed 23 August 2016

What a beautiful little cottage with all the amenities for your stay to be comfortable. We only stayed one night but wish we had a few more nights to enjoy the surrounds. Next visit to the Barossa will hopefully a include another stay at this wonderful place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roar08
Sue S, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this review

I look forward to welcoming you back anytime, and hopefully for longer. There is so much to see and do in Greenock and the Barossa Valley.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The cottage is very authentic and immediately transports you back to the 1830's. It was well stocked with all you could want for breakfast and included nice touches like bath robes! The heating (this was July !) was very effective with reverse cycle as well as, a fire stocked with good supplies of wood. The information pack was very comprehensive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
Sue S, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you stayed warm and that you enjoyed the local attractions. There is quite a bit to do and see within walking distance of the cottage.

Adelaide, South Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

As South Australia was being hit by wild storms in July we were making our way to the Old Telegraph Station wondering what we would find. With excellent directions and entry instructions being sent by our host we walked in to the house already warmed by the airconditioner. A lovely welcome. This cottage has been beautifully restored and has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptee95
Sue S, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You certainly struck the worst weather we've had for a while but that doesn't seem to have deterred you from getting out and about. It is good to hear you visited some of the local Greenock attractions. The town is certainly becoming a destination in itself. I've passed on your...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Perfect weekend stay. Charming and homely cottage. Yummy breakfast provisions and bottle of wine to enjoy by the fire. Beautiful big bathroom with a spa. Water pressure not great but worth the wait.Great location to all the wineries and eateries. Definitely recommend a stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiDi41
Sue S, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. The spa bath is large so takes a while to fill, but is worth it as you said, especially after a day of touring all those wineries and eateries! Thanks for the review.

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

A cosy cottage set in the centre of the township which makes you feel that you have travelled back in the time. Original features have been preserved, including the kitchen and bathroom. We were very happy with the generous breakfast provisions and the big 4 burner BBQ outside. The electric blankets we're a godsend given the temperatures were Baltic! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BorisBrisbane
Sue S, Owner at Greenock's Old Telegraph Station, responded to this review

The weather has turned colder now with autumn/winter upon us. I'm glad you appreciated the electric blankets. Thanks for the feedback re adding another bathroom. I'm not sure how we'd be able to add another one without destroying the original features and look of the cottage. At least the one bathroom we have is large, and isn't at the bottom...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the old telegraph B &B for a romantic getaway and it was awesome. Beautifully renovated cottage with lovely wood features. Two bedrooms with big comfortable beds (with electric blankets for winter). Generous breakfast provisions and very private. Pay tv and Internet provided (although not unlimited so good for browsing not streaming). The shower was nice and hot...not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tess H
england
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Beautifull homely accommodation. Where everything you need is provided. Lovely comfortable bed with gorgeous linen. Fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. Very comfortable. Would highly recommend. Near to wine tasting area-Murrays is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hotelguest21

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
7.2 mi away
Novotel Barossa Valley Resort
3.1 mi away
The Paddocks
The Paddocks
#1 of 1 in Nuriootpa
202 reviews
7.1 mi away
Country Pleasures B & B
Country Pleasures B & B
#1 of 8 in Angaston
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Blickinstal Barossa Valley Retreat
8.9 mi away
Abbotsford Country House
5.6 mi away
Lanzerac Country Estate
Lanzerac Country Estate
#1 of 14 in Tanunda
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This cottage served as one of the original telegraph stations in South Australia, following the extension of the telegraph line from Adelaide to Angaston, built in 1860. Today The Old Telegraph Station has been lovingly restored into a beautiful Barossa two bedroom bed and breakfast cottage. With its peaceful location, it offers visitors a relaxing environment while still being situated within the heart of the world famous Barossa Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Greenock's Old Telegraph Station

Address: 11 Murray St, Greenock, South Australia 5355, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barossa Valley > Greenock
Price Range: £107 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenock's Old Telegraph Station 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Greenock's Old Telegraph Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Greenock's Old Telegraph Station staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“guest have the whole cottage plus large outdoor area for warmer times”
 of 5 bubbles ptee95, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Lovely just book it if you can”
 of 5 bubbles hotelguest21, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Sole occupancy of this accommodation, all rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles mjworrall, 18 May 2015 | Read review
“Don't look anywhere else. You found it.”
 of 5 bubbles kb1262, 15 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Both rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles Aljo37, 27 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay