We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Cobb and Co Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penola
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cobb and Co Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Warrbambool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights in cottage 2. Don't expect the latest decor but it's clean and comfortable with everything you need and very generous breakfast provisions provided. A short walk to the Main Street and the lovely Pipers of Penola. This was great value as it worked out at around $50 per person per night for four of us. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank JC-3280
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Make over slowly happening, have new curtains, new mattresses, nice thick fluffy white towels, new sheets, more to follow shortly.Thanks for returning keys promptly. Cottages are in a great quiet location. More 

Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is our stock standard accommodation whenever we visit Penola/Coonawarra. We are always well looked after by Diane and the central location means that everything in Penola is within comfortable walking distance. The cottages are well appointed and comfortably furnished, with enough breakfast provisions supplied daily to contain even the most ravenous appetite.

Helpful?
Thank Foxy52
Diane W, Manager at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

We enjoy having you return on your visits to Penola/ Coonawarra. See you next trip. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This is a great cottage, very well equipped and centrally located. Two bedrooms, good size lounge with flat screen TV and DVD. Good size spa bath. I would stay again. However, it could do with a good clean. Quite a few cobwebs and the bathroom was a little dirty. The breakfast provisions were adequate if not lavish. The stove is... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
Diane W, Manager at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Sorry the cottage was not to your standard. Kitchen upgrade on plans. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2016

A comfortable base to spend time in the Coonawarra and explore the history of Penola and Mother Mary McKillop. Comfortable and plenty of space to relax - and the best bacon and eggs provided for diy breakfast in the well-equipped kitchen.

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Glad you found us and enjoyed your stay. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Close walk to shops. It is a spacious, clean & comfortable place to stay. Kitchen is quite well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The cottages have laundry facilities within each cottage. My wife enjoyed the spa! This would be fantastic if it had WiFi.

Helpful?
Thank donnaandrob
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Please all was good, sorry about no WiFi, ( you can have your own portable, great for travelling). More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2016

You might think you are stepping into a time warp and back to the 19th century but inside your cottage is 5 star in its decor and comfort. Attention to detail from the extensive offerings for breakfast to the toiletries, linen and homey set up of the rooms able to handle a small family. The location has you within easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Pleased you found us and enjoyed your stay. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We found these cottages very relaxing, travelling with two other couples. It was so easy to walk to all the attractions in Penola and a short drive to the wineries. Di looked after us beautifully and we loved the breakfast supplies - best bacon!

Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

The three cottages work well for small groups or individuals, so pleased you found us and all worked well for you, yes the bacon is yummy. More 

Dunlop, ACT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Situated in a quite location only one block to the main shopping area, restaurants and cafes. The cottages are spacious, comfortable and the supplied breakfast is very generous. There is covered parking, full size fridge, oven, microwave and stove top, large TV and each cottage has a washing machine to catch up on laundry if travelling or staying a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Pleased you found us and enjoyed your stay, look forward to meeting you again on a return trip. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

The cottages are situated in a great spot, close to everything. Breakfast was egg and bacon, cereals, bread, juice and tea and coffee which was topped up each day. We were a little disappointed that when we moved the couch to watch tv the wall behind needed paint and some plaster. The walls were generally marked and the carpet stained... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fen-and-Borge
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Sorry about the dvd player, was taken out because it was not working, unable to purchase another immediately and unfortunately didn't have a spare. Cottages are about to get a make over with new carpets, curtains, kitchens and paint. More 

Willunga, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2015 via mobile

A group of three cottages in walking distance to the town - pubs, restaurants... Very well priced at $150 per night for a two bedroom cottage. Supplies of eggs and bacon for breakfast. Nice touches like two chocolates each day and orange juice in the fridge. All round good place to stay for a few nights.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
Diane W, Owner at Cobb and Co Cottages, responded to this review

Pleased you liked your stay, the cottages are very conveniently located. More 

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penola
0.7 mi away
A Must at Coonawarra
A Must at Coonawarra
#1 of 3 in Penola
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexander Cameron Suites
0.6 mi away
Coonawarra Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Merlot & Verdelho Townhouses
5.5 mi away
Coonawarra Units
Coonawarra Units
#5 of 5 in Coonawarra
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Penola Backpackers
Penola Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Penola
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 Stand alone, 2 bedroom, fully self contained cottages, full breakfast provisions provided, centrally located, reverse cycle air/con, heating, very quiet area, undercover car park at cottage, Bbq ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cobb and Co Cottages

Address: 2 Portland St, Penola, South Australia 5277, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Penola
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cobb and Co Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each cottage identical - so spoiled for choice.”
 of 5 bubbles suecD9991ZU, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“A wonderful cosy homely cottage to stay whilst touring this fascinating wine region”
 of 5 bubbles glenisee2015, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“look elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles colin270, 5 Dec 2012 | Read review
“The front cottage on the road has the nicest layout, and even though opposite the school you don't hear any noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Ozwitch, 18 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4