We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (65)
Dining (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the Cape Fear River, our downtown NC hotel is minutes from water tours, shopping, dining and historic sights. Guests benefit from our free shuttle to and from Wilmington International Airport (ILM), just seven miles from the hotel. Each room offers free Wi-Fi, water views, workstation with ergonomic chair, and HDTV. Other hotel amenities include 24-hour fitness center, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, room service and library. Choose from three onsite dining options. Board & Barrel Coastal Kitchen offers Southern cuisine, indoor/outdoor dining and live weekend entertainment. Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse serves the best steaks in town, or have a locally roasted coffee at Buffalo Bayou. Our onsite convenience store is stocked with snacks and sundries. From small meetings to extravagant waterfront weddings, our expert team coordinate your day with detailed perfection. Enhanced with 17 meeting rooms, AV technology, catering options and space for 800 guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Marina View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
65Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
45Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
245Reviews
148Photos
15Q+A
38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 46
  • 30
  • 11
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I have stayed at this Hilton every year for the last 13 years. While the changes to the rooms look nice, they are not very functional. There is absolutely no counter space in the room bathrooms and the toilets have been moved to the corner and lowered to feel like elementary
Read more
Response from 00gc, Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded today
Hello Samantha T: I am pleased you are a regular visitor and we appreciate knowing where we need to improve. Your feedback on our room updates is vital as we are always looking for ways to plan and deliver an exceptional experience. We appreciate your business, and we hope you will choose us again whenever your travels bring you to the area. Daniel Perkins Assistant General Manager Hotel Ballast Wilmington daniel.perkins@hilton.com 910-343-6153
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
I stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of my client. I had no idea what to expect, never having been to Wilmington, but this hotel was a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is on a tight site, so other than the view of the river, and the retired battleship, doesn't have any
Read more
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Ballast Wilmington for your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed our Southern hospitality and loved our landmark hotel located on the historic Downtown waterfront! Thank you for highlighting your excellent breakfast experience, and we look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you on your next visit to our city. Thank you, General Manager
Read more
Everything in the hotel is certainly above average and a pleasure to take in. I only wish I could stay there longer as the price is a tad on the expense side, but then again I'm poor college student. The walls are a little thin but not too much so. The staff is A grade, very
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for the generous review of the Hotel Ballast Wilmington. We are happy to know you had a great stay and that you were impressed with our courteous associates. We have taken note of your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you, General Manager
Read more
The room, lobby and whole hotel are beautiful and well appointed. Although the cost was high, we loved being on the river. The sunset was magnificent! No refrigerator in room, no ice machine on our floor, made it a little on the minus side.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel Ballast Wilmington. We are glad you had a comfortable stay and that you loved our location. However, we are sorry we missed meeting some of your expectations. We value your business and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you, General Manager
Read more
From the moment of arrival through to departure we were embraced by courteous, caring, and accommodating team members. It was a pleasure to watch the management work alongside staff in a family like culture. The rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast in the dining room
Read more
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for the glowing review of the Hotel Ballast Wilmington. It’s an absolute delight to know you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and especially, you loved our location. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon for another outstanding visit. Thank you, General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Photo provided by managementHotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Guest room
Our Beautiful King Sized Parlor Suite!
Our Beautiful King Sized Parlor Suite!
Our Beautiful King Sized Parlor Suite!
PreviousNext
12345613
Do any of the rooms have balconies?
No, but the views are either of the Historical part of Wilmington on the land side or great views of the river on the waterside!
0 votes
Show all answers
Do any of the rooms have balconies?
No balconies
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a restaurant inside the hotel?
Yes.
0 votes
Show all answers
What is the parking situation? Lot, valet?
self park also. valet is good . quick retrieval.
1 vote
Show all answers
No Sofa. Perhaps in the Suites?
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Ask for a river view; the city view is all construction."
"Currently, there is construction across the street, so a river view room would be best."
"Riverside rooms have great views"
"Choose riverfront view"
"Ask for riverside views...they are awesome!"
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$151 - US$320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton wilmington riverside hotel wilmingtonwilmington hilton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastWilmington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
274
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing