Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia

38 Station Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370 Sri Lanka
Traveller (3)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 15 hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
At Ceylon City Hotels we believe in making every ones stay at truly ‘feel at home’ stay. The minute you step in to our tastefully decorated hotel we would want to treat everyone the way we wanted to be treated ourselves. We want everyone to feel that they are indeed our very special and valuable guest. Just a stone throw away from the Commercial capital Colombo, Ceylon City Hotel- Mt Lavinia is latest luxury hotel by Ceylon City Hotels Group after Ceylon City Hotel- Colombo. Situated just away from the busy roads of Colombo, Ceylon City Hotel- Mt Lavinia is the perfect destination for both business & leisure travelers. The strikingly modern luxury property is just minutes away by foot from the famous Mt Lavinia beach and strategically located within just few minute drives from major attractions in Colombo. Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia is tastefully decorated with modern and luxury facilities. The hotel consists of 43 luxury rooms and suites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Family

Location

38 Station Road, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 10370 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 74 out of 100
74
Bandaranayake Intl Airport
23.7 mi
See all flights
Diyawanna Oya Seaplane Base
28Reviews0Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 10
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shiraz wrote a review Jan 2020
Colombo, Sri Lanka15 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great place for an overnight stay or budget travellers. Away from the main city but still closer to all the facilities. Closer to the southern coastal railway line too for those who want to venture the train ride
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sahampathy D wrote a review Apr 2019
Colombo, Sri Lanka33 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one night during The weekend with the family (with a 15 month old baby as well) on the 3rd floor room 306. Fairly large clean room with clean toilets and other essentials. Breakfast was really nice and very nice restaurant manager. Good location to explore Mount Lavinia as well for tourists. Easy access to both Galle Road and Hotel Road.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 22 May 2019
Thank you for your 4 star review of Ceylon City Hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service. We are glad to have read your high remarks about our room location, and food. While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
prashant n wrote a review Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom24 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is great at the price quoted. Very clean swimming pool, staff is courteous and helpful Very accessible, plenty of good eating joint nearby. Beach is at very close distance. Bedsheet, Towel, pillow were fresh and clean. Meet owner and manger of the place they were great guys and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 6 Mar 2019
Thank you for your 5 star review of Ceylon City Hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service. We are glad to have read your high remarks about our pricing, swimming pool, helpful staff, room and room cleanliness. While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
swissclarinetist wrote a review Dec 2018
Singapore, Singapore34 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for two days. First day: no hot water for all of us (in all 6 rooms). Second day: we had hot water. Small, lovely pool in the ground floor and the location of this hotel is good. The sugar in the room seemed to have expired but the coffee and tea satchets seemed fine. Overall, acceptable experience despite the small hiccups along the way.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 6 Mar 2019
Thank you for your 3 star review of Ceylon City Hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service. We are glad to have read your high remarks about pool and the hotel location. Please accept our sincere apologizes in the hot water issue but glad our team was able to fix it quick and provide the services next day at fullest. While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ruweid Ansar wrote a review Aug 2018
Colombo, Sri Lanka44 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were at this hotel for one night, room was very comfortable and my kids loved, swimming pool was awesome even though not much space between the pool and rest if the area, have high standard of privacy at pool area, food was served alacarte menu, we tried there lunch promotion it was very genoures portion, breakfast also arrange accordingly, overall very nice property and we will recommend for any one.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 18 Sept 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review of Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service. While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rajendran36 wrote a review Jun 2018
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice swimming pool, great location. Every minuite wind kiss our face.I visit here with my family. Need to improve varaities of B'fast. I stay 4 days in thair but last day I requestd the Indian foods It was great. Other main thing is hotel sorrownded with nice resturants and great place to shopping too.

Wonderful staff . Always welcoming and smiling .specialy thanks goes to Rizan and Saiff . Every time they redy to help. Generally peaceful and quiet hotel.
Near beach, about 5 minutes walk away, you need to cross railway line to get to it, but quite safe, if a little quirky!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 18 Sept 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review of Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service. While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nooriya Ali U wrote a review Apr 2018
8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stated here for 2 nights and it was a very good stay. This is a brand new hotel with excellent facilities. We got a room with balcony which overlooked the swimming pool and almost a 120 degree view on the ocean.

We had breakfast and the food was good and over all services were good.

3mins walking distance to the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 21 May 2018
hank you for your 5 star review of Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have read your compliments of your stay with us and glad we were able to provide a quality service. We are glad you found our staff helpful and you found the location useful. Glad to find your approval on our food and service. I'm also happy to hear you enjoyed the amazing views of the Indian Ocean from our rooms. While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shameena S wrote a review Dec 2019
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The family suite we stayed for two weeks was great in size & cleanliness.It was a pleasent stay.The food was delicious & mostly we ordered local dishes,Also there are many food outlets in the vicinity of Mount Lavinia area.Convenient location.The staff was very obliging,we hosted a lunch party as well for a large crowd at their restaurant during our stay,the management was very supportive to help us out to make it a memorable one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vibhavarin86 wrote a review May 2019
Mumbai, India32 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited last week, understand that due to the situation in the country we were the only occupants apparently!! The rooms on third floor were stuffystuffy, as the windows were closed in the entire building, AC too small for my double room took an entire night to cool the room in this heat. Food was ok ok, they refused more juice in breakfast. Bathroom had small dead cockroaches and even in bed. As it was only a day and night we managed, but better avoid when less crowd.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 22 May 2019
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. We at Ceylon City Hotel always makes sure all our rooms are clean and neat before we release to our guests and in this case we have checked but did not find any complains either. We understand at times these incest would creep in beyond our control although we take highest measures to keep them away. If you had make a complaint we would have been glad to give you a room change and make sure you are at ease. Please accept our sincere apologies and if you ever plan to visit again please email us personally so we will make sure all arrangements are in order for a comfortable stay. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sightseer822866 wrote a review Apr 2019
Chennai District, India2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
i, being a pure vegetarian, we asked for idli dosa and vada, but the vada is prepared in the oil prepared for non-vegetarian food, most probably fish was fried in it and is used for dosa and vada, which we could not eat at all. this has to be taken care or while making breakfast or lunch or dinner whatever.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CeylonCity, Guest Relations Manager at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Responded 22 May 2019
Thank you for your 4 star review of Ceylon City Hotel following your recent stay with us. We are sorry for the convince caused to your during the break fast but glad our team was able to quickly rectify and provide a good lunch and dinner. While thanking you once again for your high review we are eagerly looking forward in welcoming you at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
jackw53 wrote a tip Jan 2019
London, United Kingdom419 contributions141 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"3rd Floor Sea facing"
Read full review
Mahesha Nirmal wrote a tip Sept 2018
Colombo, Sri Lanka24 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try there ala carte menu"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia area.
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceDehiwala-Mount Lavinia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CEYLON CITY HOTEL, MT LAVINIA - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Which popular attractions are close to Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Nearby attractions include Asian Gems and Jewellery (0.3 miles), Nalanda Gems & Jewellery (0.1 miles), and Kochi Miris (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Angler, Seafood Cove, and Governor's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia have airport transportation?
Yes, Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (4.8 miles), Paramadharmawardhanaramaya (2.8 miles), and Colombo Magic (4.4 miles).
All Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia HotelsDehiwala-Mount Lavinia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount LaviniaHotels near Ceylon City Hotel, Mt Lavinia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire