Royce Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Royce Hotel

8 Barnes Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000 Sri Lanka
Traveller (101)
Room # 3(my room)
Room & Suite (30)
From our breakfast table
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 15 hotels in Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Royce Boutique Hotel is a charming boutique property situated within a 5-minute walk of Mount Lavinia Beach and 1 hour from the Airport. It offers free Wi-Fi access in its public areas. Royce Boutique Hotel is a 10-minute drive from Dehiwala's National Zoological Garden and the city of Colombo. Bandaranaike International Airport is a 45-minute drive away. Fitted with mosquito nets, rooms offer air conditioning and a fan, a flat-screen TV, and an attached bathroom with hot shower facilities. Some rooms include a private balcony. At Royce Boutique Hotel, guests can head to the reception for assistance with services such as airport transfer, laundry service and Tuk-tuk shuttle. Free public parking spaces are available at a nearby location.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Charming

Location

8 Barnes Avenue, Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia 31000 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Bandaranayake Intl Airport
23.2 mi
See all flights
Diyawanna Oya Seaplane Base
157Reviews4Q+A28Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 44
  • 16
  • 8
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
PaulLateo wrote a review Apr 2014
Singapore, Singapore2 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service personalized - 5 stars

Breakfast delicious - 5 stars

Location, next to the beach and restaurants - 5 stars

Rooms, very spacious and clean. Mattress gave me best sleep out of all my travels through Sri Lanka - 5 stars

I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Sri Lanka or passing through Mt Lavinia district. Just a footstep away from Colombo.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: My room no.2 was very spacious had balcony toilets very clean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
abe1953 wrote a review Dec 2013
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain78 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice frontage to a colonial style building. Rooms need updating, especially the bathroom and they look out on scruffy buildings. No bar and service was inexperienced. Nice people but not good enough for the price
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chari_9018 wrote a review Sept 2017
Colombo, Sri Lanka101 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It's ideally located within a 5 minute walk from the main road They have managed to retain the colloquial feel of the house with a small garden that could use a trimming, but it sort of adds to the whimsical nature of it.
The rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable, Although the canopy does obstruct the view of the tv. the ac didn't work properly though and because of the canopy there was no fan (room number 1)

breakfast you have 8 options, and around 4 were mostly a play on eggs so
I suggest you inform them at night about the Sri-Lankan options so they make arrangements for it. we ordered some toast and it is listed as an extra order but they didn't charge us for it which was nice of them.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: ask for the rooms upstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
irina_a_belyaeva wrote a review Nov 2013
Donetsk, Ukraine3 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to spend 14 days at this hotel. Pre-booked room. When we arrived and saw this hotel, we decided to cut our STAY in it from 14 to 2 days. In this case, Mr. Gino offered to pay a penalty for late cancellations. At night, Mr. Gino brought us out of the room in the hotel lobby, closed all the doors, and threatened by the police and required to pay him for all 14 days. He scared my child, in spite of the fact that the child was crying, he threatened us, do not let the room all night kept us in the lobby. Since we were together, my daughter and I, we were not helping anyone, my daughter had a tantrum, we had to pay the full amount. That's how we got into a hostage. I do not recommend staying in this hotel. It was the most horrible holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRR_Management, Manager at Royce Hotel
Responded 2 Dec 2013
Dear Miss Belyaeva, We read you review with much disappointment. I am sure you know within youself that your review of our hotel is entirely untrue and an incorrect account of what actually transpired. You have booked for a 14 nights accommodation at our Hotel. As per our booking policy, cancellation made 3 days before arrival is fully refundable. Cancellation within 3 days of arrival will incur full charge of the total stay. Upon your arrival, you were very happy and expressed delight in your room and the hotel. However, on the second night, after meeting some beach Boys at the beach, upon their advice, you have decided to go to another location with them. We told you that your cancellation policy required that you cancel at least 3 days prior to arrival, otherwise full charge of the total stay will be charged. We further explained that our hotel is fully booked during your period of stay due to a Medical Convention held during that period and your cancellation without full payment would cause great loss to us. You became agitated and threatened to walk out of the hotel without paying. We had no choice but to advise you that if you walked out without paying, we would have to call the local police. At this point you turned around and yell to your daughter that we are not letting you and your daughter leave and we are not allowing her to go to the other beach location. Upon hearing that, she started to cry. We think that was a very cruel thing that you did to your daughter. To calm the situation, I offered to give you a free night accommodation, charging you 13 nights for the 14 nights you stayed. You were happy and accepted the offer. Throughout your stay, our staff took good care of you and your daughter, making sure you have enough of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Even on the day you returned from your trip with the Beach Boys and complained that they cheated you; overcharging you for a tour you thought was only for $100, our staff took care of you even more to help you enjoy your holiday. You and all guests staying at Royce Hotel are our utmost responsibility and we always ensure all our guests have a safe and pleasant stay. We are sorry that you feel this way about Royce Hotel, and even more sorry that you have written such an untrue review to try to hurt us. I hope you have it in you to realise your mistake and revoked your review. We do not claim to be a 5 star or even a 4 star hotel. We are, however, a small hotel which runs on true hospitality and genuine concerns for the comfort and safety of our guests. All our staff are selected for their honesty and sincere approach to customer service. And we ensure that we give back to the local community by pledging to donate a percentage of our net profit to local charity organisations. Based on all the positive reviews from previous hotel guests, I am confident that we are on the right track and will continue to strive to provide the best service to our guests. With Best Regards, Royce Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harleyclarkey wrote a review Feb 2016
County Dublin, Ireland1,922 contribution998 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A truly lovely charming villa that has been left to run down and badly in need of maintenance. There is shabby chic and there is downright lack of professional management. What potential this has! I see the reviews saying it is fabulous, great, etc.....but it is not. The run down starts right at the front sign and entrance.

There was no one at all to greet us or to take our bags or to register us. We stood around until someone turned up. Great.

There is nowhere to sit and relax in comfort. The sitting area is as unwelcome as you could get with a few uncomfortable sofas. Not attractive at all.

I see mould, damp, peeling paint, dirty shower, dirty walls and doors, no deep cleaning anywhere, no proper bedroom curtains, broken hotel sign on the wall outside, ill kept gardens, linen all over the breakfast area, horrid tacky dining area, dirty tables and dirty (plastic) table cloths, slow service, lack of proper WiFi, dreadful breakfast, broken tuk tuk, dead cock roaches by our bed.
Why does the owner not see what I can so very clearly see? My photos show these issues.

My guess is that the takings from just one night would employ a man for a couple of months. A full paint job and deep cleaning are needed from the front gate/entrance to all of the interior.

Breakfast choice is very strange and very odd. It is mean. You have eight options and I was told you pick one, yes just one, option.....so , as an example, you may have fruit or omelette or eggs or curry, etc. The one item we wanted, rotis, were not available.
Breakfast is important and should not be a single dish meal as offered at the Royce. So, we actually went and bought our own cereal, fruit, honey, bread etc to have a proper breakfast!!
The breakfast area had laundry on a table and in the open cupboard...and more in the adjoining area. Sloppy and unprofessional.

Wi Fi is dreadful and would only connect by siting near the entrance by the office.

There very clearly has been no proper training for the lovely, helpful staff here nor is there a proper manger on duty. The manager in a previous reply to my previous review (removed) confirmed the young local staff are trainees. You just cannot run a hotel in a professional manner with no proper manager or proper training. There was NO manager or proper staff when we stayed.
It is not fair or acceptable on the staff or the guests. Why is there no real manager to train the staff to look for and correct the issues all over this hotel ?

To be honest we would not stay again.

In fact we stayed for four wonderful nights in the nearby fabulous Mt Lavinia Hotel where rooms cost $135 and up....just over twice what we paid here.

ps....to the manager.
My review is based on our experience and not based, as you said in reply to my previous review, on "ignorance", as my near to 600 reviews will testify.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRR_Management, Manager at Royce Hotel
Responded 21 Feb 2016
Dear Harley, Your previous review was removed by TripAdvisor management as it breached their guidelines it seems we are not the only ones that share the view that your reviews are ignorant. We are very open to our guests feedback so that we can improve as you may refer to our previous responses. However there is a fine line between unbiased constructive criticism... and abusing your power as a trip advisor member (as you so proudly exclaim your 600 reviews will testify to) to write personal attacks on legitimate businesses. For example: In our response to your previous deleted review, we informed you that the owners go out of their way to hire unskilled workers from the villagers to give them an opportunity to work in a place that they may never have a chance to. Yet despite this knowledge you still feel entitled to comment on the few unskilled workers on the Hotel grounds. As explained: We do not offer a buffet breakfast. We offer an ala carte breakfast which we have been told is the best in the area. If you want an international buffet breakfast, hotels at $200USD/night will be more suited for you. You seem to have a personal vendetta against us... for an unknown reason. We hope you are able to put your emotions aside and remove this review without making up whatever comes to your head (comments like dead cockroaches, broken tuk tuk, tacky chairs... really now? did we serve sewer water and have ants in your underwear too?) P.S: our rooms are $35/night and Mt Lavinia is 5 X more expensive.... you should adjust your expectations... it is like comparing apples and oranges. Your 600 reviews must have taught you something right? Otherwise I rest my case.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy G wrote a review Apr 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom15 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We must have stayed in a different hotel.The reviews I have just read bear no resemblance
to our experience.
Dark room, no where to sit but a chair at a desk. The garden and hotel needs attention. Staff were polite but needed training.
5 star it is NOT
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
madamjackie wrote a review Jan 2018
Bardwell, United Kingdom106 contributions83 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were due to stay in this hotel on 30th and 31st December. I had a confirmed booking with the hotel, and subsequent email nearer the time of our arrival. When we turned up there was a notice saying "hotel closed for renovation". We phoned the number only to be informed the hotel had been sold and no-one had bothered to inform us. The person speaking had no other suggestions for us and as a consequence we ended up having a disasterous and expensive new years' eve at Palms Hotel down the road.
Beware if booking direct!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pink_franny wrote a review Jul 2016
Patchway, United Kingdom11 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice 3 night stay. Really helpful and organised airport pickup. Few ants in the bathroom but where doesn't in Sri Lanka?
Simple but nice breakfast. Really comfy bed with good mosquito nets and also air con. I would really recommend this hotel to couples who want a little bit of luxury but are on a budget!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRR_Management, Manager at Royce Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2016
Dear pink fanny Thank you so much for your kind review We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a very affordable boutique hotel with modern luxuries and you hit the nail on the head on that one! We were glad to have served you and hope to see you again next time you are in Sri Lanka! Warm regards, RH
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChenE wrote a review Jan 2016
Dubai, United Arab Emirates25 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and someone came to the gate to help us in. Everyone was very friendly and obliging. The room was clean and all we needed for a short stay (air conditioning to). There is one pillow per person and it pretty flat... My suggestion, use a travel pillow... Otherwise I was satisfied. The breakfast was another's appreciated bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ADaroza wrote a review Jan 2015
London, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying at Royce Hotel is more like staying at a good friend's (very nice) house. I walked in at 6pm from a disappointing guesthouse nearby without a reservation, after a long day of travel having just climbed Adam's Peak that very morning, and after spending two weeks in rural Sri Lanka. Geno is incredibly accommodating and hospitable, and the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. You can't put a price on kindness, and my bed for the night here is comparable to my own at home! So if your budget allows, I would recommend spending the extra US$15 or so to stay here because it is more than worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TRR_Management, Manager at Royce Hotel
Responded 2 Feb 2015
Dear Adaroza Thank you for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride on being the best value hotel in the area - cleanest rooms, best tasting breakfast and excellent service! We are glad you loved our bed - we use orthopeadic spring mattresses and egyptian linen :) Thank you again for your kind feedback it is very motivational for our team! RH
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yohan hewage asked a question Dec 2017
Colombo, Sri Lanka49 contributions7 helpful votes
Is there a pool anyone can visit from outside?
stargrit asked a question Feb 2017
Toronto, Canada34 contributions9 helpful votes
For guests whose flights arrive after 2pm, would late checkins be possible?
stargrit asked a question Feb 2017
Toronto, Canada34 contributions9 helpful votes
how much are the airport shuttles per person?
cdp1950 asked a question Aug 2016
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom87 contributions3 helpful votes
Do they have rooms with twin beds and balcony
Answer from JennyGAustralia
Queenscliff, Australia352 contributions83 helpful votes
I'm sorry can't answer that as we were on the ground floor. Just be a tad cations as they we the ones who organized our transport not a Tuk Tuk off the street as they suggested
Frances R wrote a tip Dec 2017
Brighton, United Kingdom15 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask to see the free rooms and pick one"
Read full review
chari_9018 wrote a tip Sept 2017
Colombo, Sri Lanka101 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for the rooms upstairs"
Read full review
HRV wrote a tip Aug 2017
Adelaide Hills, Australia7 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Down stairs rooms are the best."
Read full review
RossiDietrich wrote a tip Apr 2017
Sofia Region, Bulgaria21 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms on the second floor has balcony, rooms on the first has a garden view"
Read full review
londondoctorc wrote a tip Jan 2017
london18 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a superior room"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia area.
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceDehiwala-Mount Lavinia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ROYCE HOTEL - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Royce Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Royce Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mount Lavinia Beach (0.3 miles), Asian Gems and Jewellery (0.3 miles), and Smiley Escapes (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Royce Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Royce Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Royce Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Royce Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include LOON TAO, The Fat Crab, and The Shore By O!.
Does Royce Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Royce Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Royce Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia.
Are any cleaning services offered at Royce Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Royce Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Royce Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall (4.3 miles), Paramadharmawardhanaramaya (2.6 miles), and Vehera Kanda Ruins (4.6 miles).
Is Royce Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia HotelsDehiwala-Mount Lavinia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dehiwala-Mount LaviniaHotels near Royce Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire