We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Blue Water

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Blue Water
The Blue Water
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,059: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our first impression of the hotel was not great. Travelling with a small group it took a long time to get our rooms as the hotel was full and the deluxe rooms we had booked months in advance were not available. The rooms on the 2nd floor were not acceptable. We had 2 small twin beds, dirty chairs, light fixtures.......

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
Doncaster
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having visited Sri Lanka some years ago we decided to choose the Blue Water Hotel which is a reasonable transfer time of around 90 minutes from the airport due to the new toll roads. The hotel is located below Columbo on a stretch of beach which is accessed from the main road via a single track road and over the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonnyBantam
cornwall
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was great, the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble , there was a good choice of food and it was very tasty , the room was of a good standard and large for a double . There were always sunbeds available and the pool was never overcrowded , there were also very few children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne w
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is easily accessible with all the sign boards from wadduwa town. The location is ideal just next to the sea. It's water everywhere and gives the feeling of the sea. Our room had everything.Space was manageable.We liked the balcony with the sea view. I wasn't sure about the peep hole on the door which I could see inside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chathuri D
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Blue water hotel is amazing and the staff is great. If you come to visit, please call Ruchi At Ruchi Tours to take you anywhere. He is reasonable and very very good. The experience has been great here. Such a wonderful anniversary gift from my husband. Memorable!! Please come to Sri Lanka, stay at Blue Water, tour with Ruchi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Positives (1) Amazing food, with demonstration cookery classes - different theme every night but pasta, meat, veggie, available every night plus fantastic desserts of all sorts. Will never be bored with it! (more asian cuisine than british in general) (2) Service fantastic - managers watching staff all the time to make sure they are being aware as possible. (3) Sunbed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulianJazzPiano
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 1 week ago

* Near to capital city * Easy locate * Ample Car Park * Delicious Food * Nice front office staff * Beautiful Location * Beautiful Beach * Good Rooms - need to modernised * Big Pool Part Under Renovate * WIFI - not satisfied * Jim , spa, Night Club and other facilities available

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinuka D
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Blue Waters hotel in Wadduwa has to be my favourite hotel along the west coast of Sri Lanka. It sets the pace for relaxation the minute you enter through the vast doors and catch the view as far as the eye can reach on an expanse of green and glistening blue of the ocean. Thats right the minute you walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aruni S
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed on business as locations were closer to this area. Moved to Colombo after 6 nights as this is not what it sells. Needs updating everywhere to be 5 star Staff are very helpful and friendly Wifi poor always having to reconnect and speed very slow in rooms Issue with mosquitos Rooms ok but a little dated. Well appointed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had been on a tour of Sri Lanka and had extended our holiday with 3 nights at this hotel. we had been celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and were treated with to an upgrade of room , cake, flowers wine and chocolates . on our last night we returned to our room to find the room decorated with balloons,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newexp2
keerthiweragoda, General Manager at The Blue Water, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy that you had a pleasant stay at The Blue Water.However, I regret to note that you were not happy with the second meal at the Nautilus restaurant.I have done an investigation and found out that it was not brought to the attention of the management where we could have given you another opportunity to dine...

1,681 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1094)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (207)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (138)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (200)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
2:56
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (358)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (567)
Viewed
Amenities (46)
Viewed
Beach (11)
Viewed
Club Suite (66)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (57)
Viewed
Executive Suite (66)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (79)
Viewed
Superior Deluxe Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadduwa
1.4 mi away
Reef Villa & Spa
Reef Villa & Spa
#1 of 10 in Wadduwa
410 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
1,093 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
5.2 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kalutara
1,013 reviews
16.9 mi away
Eden Resort & Spa
Eden Resort & Spa
#2 of 9 in Beruwala
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Blue Water

Address: Thalpitiya | Colombo and South West Coast, Wadduwa 12560, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Wadduwa
Price Range: £102 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Blue Water 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Wadduwa
Blue Water Hotel Sri Lanka
Blue Water Sri Lanka
The Blue Water Sri Lanka/Wadduwa
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Wadduwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Wadduwa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wadduwa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Blue Water staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Water staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms in the new section. Room 203 was not acceptable.”
 of 5 bubbles 632NicoleP632, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All of the rooms have a sea view but the upper floors have a better view .”
 of 5 bubbles annew133, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Left hand side avoiding looking over temporary building work”
  • View from room showing temporary building work (very quiet)
 of 5 bubbles JulianJazzPiano, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pool side rooms for better view.”
 of 5 bubbles dinukad, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Club Suites in new private wing offer privacy. But, anywhere in this hotel is great because of the architecture, Geoffrey Bawa style!”
 of 5 bubbles arunis2016, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay