We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
United States
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Arrived at Rocky Harbour after a 6 hour drive from Port aux Basques and checked into our B&B, the Anchor Down. We were greeted by Vera & Dave (very friendly couple) and told by Vera we need right away to go down to the Ocean View Hotel (which is right by the beach) and get tickets for the evening show...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olching
British Columbia
Reviewed 1 September 2014

You couldn't ask for better accommodation in Rocky Harbour and perhaps in all of Newfoundland, or for better value for your money. The rooms are very clean and comfortable (ours had a double jaccuzi!), parking is easy, food hearty and delicious, including Vera's homemade bread and preserves, the atmosphere quiet, private and homey. Vera and Dave are delightful hosts, able...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaneBritishColumbia
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Anchor Down is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in. The room was modern, spacious and clean with a full ensuite bathroom. The breakfasts were outstanding - Vera and Dave went to a lot of trouble to serve a different "hot" breakfast every day, accompanied by yogourt, toast, homemade preserves, coffee, etc. We stayed for four nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
London, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The pros: extremely clean, well maintained spacious rooms, and a SCRUMPTIOUS breakfast well managed for the large number of guests. They really care about putting out a top notch meal. The cons: Their high level of organization meant a gently cool reception when we called mid-afternoon to let them know we wouldn't be able to arrive until 7:30pm (check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
Daine, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry that we were not available to greet you at 7:30 PM. Dave and I start our day at 5:30 AM, I trust you understand why we like to get everybody in by 6 PM. We try not to leave a note but occasionally we go for supper or supplies and regarding removing your outside shoes at...

Vineland, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent eight nights touring Newfoundland and did not stay in a bad b&b. However Anchor Down must rate as our favourite. Vera and Dave were wonderful hosts. They have obviously been doing this for a while because they seemed to know exactly how to be helpful while all the time not being the least bit intrusive. To watch them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Razzle2
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 22 August 2014

this was our favorite B&B in Newfoundland….why? clean accommodations, great food, great location, ease of parking, and hosts were informative, helpful, but not intrusive. Other guests were friendly and interesting also, and there were several areas to gather and chat with others. Buy a jar of the homemade jam if it's available…. our favorite souvenir!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loltexan
Warsaw, Indiana
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Dave and Vera are pros. Clean, friendly, well run and comfortable. We really have no critiques to offer. Dave and Vera are interesting and fun people. Breakfast was served on the dot at 7:00. Everything ran smoothly. It is highly unlikely you will be disappointed with your stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jim f
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Four of us stayed here while visiting Gros Morne! Great place! Vera and Dave's breakfasts were outstanding! The best of our two week trip! If you are planning on hiking in Gros Morne, this would be a central place to stay as well! I am very fussy about cleanliness but this takes the cake! Spotless! Quiet as well! loved sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NancyS55
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a great stay at Anchor Down in Rocky Harbour. Dave and Vera not only cooked up some amazingly delicious breakfasts (best we ate in NFLD!) but the rooms were incredible clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend the jacuzzi tub option :) Don't give it another thought - book in at Anchor Down.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robyn C
Estevan, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed for four nights with Dave and Vera in July and we just can't say enough about how much we enjoyed it. From the warm greeting, honest suggestions of where to eat dinners, suggestions and help in booking activities, comfortable beds to the relaxing atmosphere, everything was perfect. Breakfasts were very filling and delicious -- creme brulee French toast anyone?...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HarronFamily

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
0.6 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
91 reviews
23.6 mi away
Seabreeze B & B
Seabreeze B & B
#1 of 3 in Cow Head
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
6 reviews
4.6 mi away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
216 reviews
23.8 mi away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
6 bedroom 4 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the room off the sitting room. Not sure what the others were like but the other guests were as happy as we were.”
 of 5 bubbles peterbO9349ZJ, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the kitchen if you want to sleep in but don't miss the breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles dgg0809, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was right off the kitchen area but we were not bothered by any noise. The bed was extremely comfortable; ensuite bath was spacious”
 of 5 bubbles stevesA6434WO, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't choose the room leading from either the common room or the dining room.”
  • Room C - perfect
  • Spacious with ample storage
 of 5 bubbles SengaMilne, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think any of the rooms would be OK. Our friends had the room off the common room but did not have any problems with it.”
 of 5 bubbles cruiser2003, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5