We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 Castle Street, Buckingham MK18 1BS England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro
Travelocity
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (195)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (17)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 5 in Buckingham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Villiers Hotel has a 4 Star AA classification. The hotel has a 450 year history from being an important main coaching inn in the 16th century to a delightfully refurbished hotel today. Designed around a cobbled courtyard, the hotel has 49 bedrooms individually designed and including suites, and executive rooms. The restaurant has been awarded 2 rosettes by the AA for innovative fresh food dining, and offers an eclectic a la carte menu as well as the fixed price 3 course Market Menu. The real ale bar is popular with guests and locals alike who appreciate its real log fire and delicious bar menu. The hotel also encapsulates Buckingham's Old Town Hall also full refurbished for conferencing and weddings. Car Parking is extensive and freely available for customers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Bottled water
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Polish, Romanian
729Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 319
  • 231
  • 104
  • 50
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sharron Stanley wrote a review 19 May
Macclesfield, United Kingdom28 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
I booked this hotel as part of a package which included afternoon tea and tickets to Bletchley Park. This was meant to be a special treat for my husband's 60th birthday. I was impressed by the photo of the Deluxe Double room on their website. A couple of days before we went I gave my husband all the info, including the photo of the room which I was expecting. We set off on our almost 3 hour journey, excited for a luxury break. We arrived a little early for check in so decided to have our afternoon tea whilst waiting. The tea was lovely, very filling and the Laura Ashley tearoom was as beautiful as the pictures on their website. We checked in at the beautiful reception area, walked through the lounge area, saw the bar and restaurant on our way to our room, again beautifully presented, everything we expected from a luxury 4 star hotel. Sadly, that's where it stopped. We were first shown to room 104, our deluxe double. It was disgusting. Filthy carpet, thick black dust in front of the furniture, what appeared to be a large orange/yellow vomit stain on the carpet, stained and ripped soft furnishings. The bathroom was no better, broken toilet flush, rusty shower fittings, rusty light fitting, split and peeling woodwork and paint peeling off the walls. The deluxe double room was not what was shown on the website. We immediately asked to be moved. We were moved to the room next door. Again, this room was as filthy as the other, again cracked woodwork, peeling paint round the sink, a used cottonbud on the floor by the bin, the two 'leather' chairs that had fabric that was cracked and missng on the seats and arms and was only fit for the tip. The window seat waa stained and ripped and surfaces and carpet again thick with dust, and still didnt look like the room I booked. At this point I rang the agent we booked through. They spoke to someone at the hotel as the General Manager - Andrew - wasnt in. The staff member then came and said they were moving us again, to a "Premier deluxe room" a free upgrade apparently and also offered us a free drink in the bar, which we declined. Hallelujah!! Spoke too soon. The premier bit presumably applied to the nespresso machine, the trouser press, and the canopy thing over the bed which wasnt present in the other rooms. However, on first look it did appear to be more acceptable and the bathroom was at least clean. The bed area was not great, the curtain/canopy thing over the bed was thick with dust, the hospitality tray was also thick with dust, the nesspresso machine was unusable due to its covering of thick dust. It was, sadly, tired and dirty and baring no resemblance to what we booked. The room wasnt serviced at all during our 2 night stay. By this time it was 6pm, we'd had a long journey and there was no other choice but to accept the room. The following day we spent at Bletchley Park which was amazing. We left as early as possible the following morning. Now here's the interesting bit - on checkout I asked, whether the hotel actually had any of the deluxe double rooms that they show on their website - apparently they have 1, aswell as a suite and a twin. So basically 3 out of 49 rooms. Its now been a week since we were there, the agent we used has made several attempts to speak to the General Manager and they have shared the photos I took for them, but have not had any response. I know "Andrew" has been responding to posts on here during the last few days, so hopefully this will remind him to respond to my complaint via GLB!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Conway, General Manager at Villiers Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Duchessofwawick, Thank you for contacting me through Trip Advisor, I must apologise as I have received no communication from GLB. I will of course reach out to them to review your stay with us Duchessofwawick. I will of course be following your experience up with my Operational team to address the issues that you have highlighted. once again my apologies that I have not been in touch sooner, however as I have highlighted, I have received no communication from Great Little Breaks. kind regards, Andrew
Read more
Pamela W wrote a review 14 May
1 contribution
A comfortable stay situated in the town centre: handy for shops and restaurants. Kind and cheerful staff. Breakfast offered a variety of options Special thanks to Jacquie who provided exceptional service in the dining room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Conway, General Manager at Villiers Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear PamelawF9625YT, We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 4* review, we really appreciate it. We will defiantly be sharing your kind words with the team. Take care and we hope to welcome you back to Villiers Hotel Buckingham in the near future. Many Thanks
Read more
Abstract1203 wrote a review 11 May
Buckingham, United Kingdom46 contributions15 helpful votes
Absolutely excellent visit to the Laura Ashley tea rooms within the hotel. Jacky looked after us exceptionally well and made us very welcome. Dale (chef) gave us many delicious treats all made up fresh and tasty. If you are near Buckingham and want a special treat for you and your family, make a booking and go to the best high tea in the region!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Best to park in the upper car park as the hotel court yard parking can be exceedingly challenging...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Conway, General Manager at Villiers Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Abstract1203, We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5* review, we really appreciate it. We will defiantly be sharing your kind words with the team. Take care and we hope to welcome you back to Villiers Hotel Buckingham in the near future. Many Thanks
Read more
Roy M wrote a review 10 May
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I stayed at the Hotel with my wife on 23/04/22 in room 104. We had agreed at the time of booking to pay an extra £20 to upgrade the room. First impressions were favourable, the staff were nice and the room was very pleasant. About 5.30pm we turned on the TV to find only 2 BBC channels were functioning. All others had no signal. We reported to reception and the lady said she would come up and have a look when she could. Also there were two electric lights which were situated over the bathroom sink which were not working. This was also reported to reception but nothing could be done about it. Reception admitted two other rooms had reported malfunctioning tvs in the same part of the hotel. The TV was not fixed prior to us going down for a meal and drinks. When we came back into our room around 9.30pm it was noted we had gained a couple more channels but I think that was more coincidence than anything. The vast majority were still not working. To be fair, to say we had upgraded to a superior style of room we felt rather disappointed. When we checked out the next day we got the standard enquiry asking if everything had been alright. I again reiterated the problems with the room and was just told "Sorry about that Sir" Given that we had spent an additional £20 on a room upgrade and £80 in their restaurant i feel the least they should have done was cancel the charge for the room upgrade, but this was never offered. I leave this review for anyone else who finds themselves in room 104. Let's see if the faults were ever rectified.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Conway, General Manager at Villiers Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear J438MWroym, Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback your experience, we would like to apologise for the issues that you faced with the television this is something that we have of course looked into. Many thanks
Read more
Louise J wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
The staff Holly & Jackie were welcoming so helpful and made our experience excellent. They certainly went the extra mile. Breakfast delicious, room huge and comfortable bed all very clean and quiet. Overall good value for money and relaxing .I would recommend a stay here. Town is charming , lovely for an after diner walk.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Andrew Conway, General Manager at Villiers Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear E3397TJlouisej, We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5* review, we really appreciate it. We will defiantly be sharing your kind words with the team. Take care and we hope to welcome you back to Villiers Hotel Buckingham in the near future. Many Thanks
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
classic hotel buckingham, buckingham classic hotel, classic hotel villiers
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireAylesbury ValeBuckingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
49
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Villiers Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Villiers Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Old Gaol Museum (0.1 miles), Buckingham Chantry Chapel (0.05 miles), and New Inn (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Villiers Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Villiers Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Villiers Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Villiers Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dipalee lounge, Buckingham Tea Room, and Black Pepper.
Is Villiers Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Buckingham.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villiers Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Villiers Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Villiers Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Polish, and Romanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Villiers Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting National Trust Stowe (1.3 miles), Foscote Manor Resort (1.8 miles), and All Saints Church (3.3 miles).
Is Villiers Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.