We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Hotel

Booking.comUS$78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 329: English reviews
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Had the displeasure of choosing to eat in the Bar & Grill and to be honest we would have been better with a sandwich from the bakery down the road. The food was of poor quality, I choose the mussels as a main course which arrived the size of a starter in most other restaurants. Then half the mussel shells...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leehackney8
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leehackney8 and thanks for your review. We must have really got things wrong to cause you to create a TripAdvisor account just to leave a review for us. I would have hoped that you could have spoken to a senior member of staff if you felt that you didn't receive good service or food. Nantwich is a veritable hotspot...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

I know that this hotel is old and has some charms, but the rooms are dated, beds are uncomfortable and the shower was a weak dribble. The breakfast was terrible for the price £9.00 and it came with 1 sausage 1 bacon an over cooked egg, half a tiny tomato, soggy mushroom and black pudding. No beans, who doesn't do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave1M
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dave1M and thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our bedrooms are all individually appointed and some were refurbished at the end of last year, although it would appear that yours was not one of those. We are planning to upgrade the remaining rooms at some point this year so hopefully if...

Reviewed 9 March 2016

Visited with friends to the bar and grill won't make the same mistake again expensive and poor food and poor service the staff had no interest in our problem with the food .Plenty' of good value places to eat in nantwich

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John C and thanks for visiting us. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your dining experience and would welcome some more detailed feedback to follow on from your brief description above. As you will no doubt be aware, the Grill was extensively refurbished earlier this year and a new menu created for this purpose. We use only the finest...

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We stayed recently on a Saturday evening We were quickly checked in and shown to our room which was of a decent size and seemed adequate for our needs It was only sometime later we noticed that there was no shower in the bathroom, this is the first time I have ever stayed in a hotel room that did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markledo
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Markledo and thanks for your review. It is a constant source of frustration regarding the noise from party-goers but rest assured the Hotel does it's utmost to minimise this. The alley to which you refer has gates at either end to stop these screaming banshees from running up and down however when these gates need to be opened to...

STAFFORD
Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very quaint. Good restaurant and service. Bedroom spotlessly clean BUT it was like being in a wild west town at night. Late night music and revellers in the street outside until 3.30am. Then shop alarm going off caused by drunkards. Take good ear plugs if you stay here. I won't be rushing back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anita153
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Anita153 and thanks for leaving your comments for us. I'm glad that you liked our Hotel and restaurant even if it was marred somewhat by the actions of others. Weekends can be noisy in Nantwich and it can be a constant source of frustration for us especially as during the week it is as quiet as a mouse out...

Wales
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Easy to spot from the street view as Black and White and an irregular buildi g. Private parking at the back of hotel very useful. Extremely old building inside which i agree with another reviewer in that it is querky. Floor in the bar area and along corridors upstairs and breakfast room are irregular which obviously dates the building. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Angela R and many thanks for your visit to us. Your kind comments have been well received by all staff and I'm glad that you had an enjoyable time with us here at The Crown. I hope that your review will help others in their choices of where to stay in South Cheshire. Thanks again Michael

Tywyn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Interesting style hotel; walls and floor slightly wobbly but seem straight after a few drinks in the bar :) Had an evening meal in the bar which was presented well. Slightly let down on flavour. Morning breakfast would have enjoyed a larger variety of cereals. Over all a nice location with very friendly and chatty staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harad R
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Harad R and thanks for your kind words. You're not the first to think the stairs get straighter as the night goes on and I doubt you'll be the last! Thanks once again for your visit and I hope to see you again soon. Michael

Llandudno Junction
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This is a beautiful old hotel hence its a bit querky. We had a fabulous room at the front.as its an old hotel the rooms are not massive but all the essentials are there. Being dog friendly was a bonus. Food in the bar was restaurant quality and reasonably priced. Only down side was noise from weekend revelers. I'm guessing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nicola R and thanks so much for your comments. We pride ourselves on being pet friendly! I'm pleased you enjoyed our food. Our grill restaurant menu is available in the bar for those with furry friends so there's no need to miss out on our quality food. You are most welcome back any time of the week! Michael

Rochester, Michigan
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

I was unfortunate to spend a night at the crown hotel. I found the rooms very uncomfortable, and noisy. The room next to me had the TV on all night!! Could not sleep. Restaurant food was mediocre, beer was not good. Would not recommend staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mee33istatyahoo
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi mee33istatyahoo and thank you for your review. I'm sorry that we couldn't make your stay with us any better. Did you speak to anyone about your feelings during your stay? If so we would have happily moved your to a different room, changed your meal, or suggested an alternative drink. We understand that everybody has different tastes and that...

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Attended a group lunch at the Crown on Tuesday 02 Feb and went to pay the bill only to find that the advertised 20% discount had not been applied. There was a promotion board outside the Hotel stating that a discount of 20% would apply to all food during February with no terms and conditions visible. When the owner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 862Jeff
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 862Jeff and thank you for your comments. Firstly let me apologise unreservedly for making your meal such a negative experience. From the comments we have received from other members of your group, at least we can take solace in the fact that everybody really enjoyed their food! It would appear that we really dropped the ball in the first...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,101 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown Hotel is a grade II listed building in the beautiful historic market town of Nantwich. The hotel has been a central feature of Nantwich for more than 400 years.The 3 storied building was burnt down in the fire of Nantwich in 1583, The hotel was quickly rebuilt by Queen Elizabeth 1st, with timbers from the nearby Delamere forest. The Crown Hotel now boast all the features the modern day traveller expects yet, retains many original features including an abundance of Oak beams, wattle & daub plaster walls and roaring open fires.All our 18 guest rooms are well appointed with en suite bathrooms and Individual designed features. Diners in our Bar & Grill, which has been recently renovated, can expect cuisine of the highest quality using fresh local products and wines from around the world in a relaxed and unique setting. The Bar offers an excellent choice of ever changing real ales. We are a CAMRA real ale venue. FREE car parking and Internet connection are offered to all guests.The hotel is central for the Nantwich Jazz festival, Food & drink festival and many other local and Cheshire events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 24 High Street, Nantwich CW5 5AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Price Range: £59 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel And Casa Brasserie
Nantwich Best Western
Best Western Nantwich
The Crown Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the shower/bath set up”
marycK935GV, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Definitely ask for a back room”
setterboy, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms on top floor have more character”
hamburg09, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Old rooms are at the front are older, very quaint but quirky! If you prefer more modern comforts request a room at the back of the hotel.”
cgleef1515, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can't help with this as getting to them all is not easy”
JeanMcGlynn, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$78
Hotels.comUS$78
PricelineUS$78
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates