We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 324: English reviews
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Four of us had a very good meal at the historic Crown hotel.The restaurant had been refurbished and it was such a contrast to the old building.The waitresses were friendly and helpful but was not to sure about the head waiter who didn't have much personality. The food was very good and we all enjoyed our meals. I had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dennis and many thanks for your kind words. I'm pleased that your group were able to enjoy your dining with us. Both of the dishes you mention are firm favourites since the relaunch. i hope you can return to try more! Michael

Stoke on Trent
Reviewed 27 August 2016

I was originally going to score this a 3, but in retrospect a 2 is more fitting. Service was initially good, but we waited 45 mins + for our meals which only came after we chased them up. We were not told there would be any delays. By then we had long since finished our drinks, no one came to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christopher and thank you for your comments. It would appear that you visited during an extremely busy period and I am sorry that you were underwhelmed with the food that you received. I have spoken to the chef regarding the sauce issue and he has ensured that each pie will be served with extra from now on. Although being...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Last minute booking for work, required 2 rooms and asked reception for honest room condition before arrival. Restaurant was fine, serving nice food with excellent service... (If you don't mind yapping dogs) The rooms however were nothing short of horrendous. How they can charge £75.00 for filthy ripped carpets and unfinished bathrooms is beyond me... Telly from the 60s being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1robbo1874
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 1robbo and thanks for your review. I can see from your individual points that you were disappointed with your stay and I apologise for this. We aim to exceed expectation with each guest and we have faile don this occasion. In mitigation to some of your points, we are a dog friendly bar and as such a lot of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The worst experience for a long time.Singlr room tiny shower so small unable to fit in properly music until 1 in the room next door,loud drinking music shouting in the adjacent square til 4.Night of hell ruined the weekend.Staff disinterested no charisma whatsoever.Never again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 123jmob
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 123jmob and thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy yourself during your visit to us. The room in question has been scheduled for a bathroom refit and as such the shower will be extended so that there will be plenty of room. The noise issues we sadly have no control over. Weekends can be particularly noisy...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed with my work colleagues and it's definitely quirky! Rooms were adequate and clean and the breakfast was great!nice staff and a well stocked bar! Higgledy piggledy floors and staircases make this hotel!well worth a visit! Some street noise late night but that's normal for a town centre!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 259janel
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 259 and thanks for your comments! I'm pleased that you had a great time with us and appreciated everything that we had to offer. You were a pleasure to look after and we hope to see you again soon! Michael

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissMagpie79
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

UK
Reviewed 8 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANDYuk07
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stokee2016
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Liverpool
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j4dhols
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madmother21
Crown_Hotel_CW55AS, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.1 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,077 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crewe Arms Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely ask for a back room”
setterboy, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“rooms on top floor have more character”
hamburg09, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Old rooms are at the front are older, very quaint but quirky! If you prefer more modern comforts request a room at the back of the hotel.”
cgleef1515, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can't help with this as getting to them all is not easy”
JeanMcGlynn, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“At busy times -such as end November/December,when the hotel is catering for parties -choose a quieter room -ours, No7 was excellent..”
798angusg, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5