We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Save
Share
Wrexham Road, Pulford, Chester CH4 9DG England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1136)
Room & Suite (349)
Dining (234)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 07/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Updated 07/03/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 in Pulford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated within its own beautifully landscaped grounds the hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester’s historic city centre, yet a stone’s throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 75 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. Palm Court Restaurant, Bar & Piano Lounge is a unique and captivating dining venue offering exquisite British and European cuisine, along with Afternoon Tea and Brunch, while Nelson’s Bar, the hotel’s gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Spa by Kasia is a luxury retreat which offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple’s VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa is of course family friendly and also a dog friendly hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian, Polish and 1 more
2484Reviews52Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,474
  • 582
  • 226
  • 117
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
oj2002 wrote a review Yesterday
Chertsey, United Kingdom17 contributions13 helpful votes
If only we lived in Cheshire, this would be on our regular visits list. We were staying with friends and they treated us to the Sunday carvery here. It was amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Fabulous friendly and attentive staff. Knew exactly the right level of touch needed. Atmosphere was lovely. Not too loud but a great buzz. You could just tell everyone was having a good time. Food was perfect and so much of it. Every meat and vegetables that you could wish for. Now looking for a reason to go to Chester - maybe the races and shopping because the hotel and Sunday lunch will be booked as well! Looking forward to the next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
PHE931 wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions
My personal experience of the standards delivered at The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel having attended in a large party of 30+ helping relatives celebrate a wedding over 2 days. Whilst the actual marriage ceremony was not undertaken at the hotel, all other aspects of hospitality were. One word can sum up the performance - “EXCEPTIONAL”, across the board. Front of house were smart, courteous, friendly and attentive but not overbearing. The kitchen team also did an amazing job, the food was faultless, simply outstanding. It is very easy for a team to get things wrong when dealing with such a large party of guests over an extended period of time particularly as other events were taking place in different parts of the venue. The Grosvenor Pulford Hotel team helped to make a special day perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
jka1967 wrote a review 19 Jun
Barbados59 contributions70 helpful votes
Amazing hotel. We drank in the bar ate in the restuarant, had massage in the spa. Loved the room 77. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful garden area in the spa, very serene. Breakfast was fantastic. Just a fantastic hotel. £15 cab ride to chester so great location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Ask for room 77. Check our the garden even if you dont use the spa.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Rach T wrote a review 18 Jun
3 contributions
First time going to the grosvenor and I was not impressed. The waitress was really good and welcoming. However the food are overpriced and not good. My partner ordered the seafood salad which was very salty. I've ordered the spice meatballs and it was overcooked hard and very chewy. Our main was the same. My main was gammon. Over cooked hard. Only nice thing was one mushroom 🍄. My partner had the chicken and chorizo linguine. No taste very blant. We didn't finished it. The price came to 77.00 including added on tip of a bit over £5. I don't think we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kay M wrote a review 14 Jun
Bebington, United Kingdom74 contributions26 helpful votes
Outstanding service throughout the hotel. Beautiful surroundings and delicious food. I came as a surprise for my hen do and had two lovely treatments in the spa. Only critique is that the whole of the hotel was supposed warm! Most of the girls didn't get a great night sleep due to the heat but, I wouldn't 100% stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Vicgoddard wrote a review 8 Jun
Ware, United Kingdom33 contributions18 helpful votes
Hotel is quite a long way outside Chester with nothing around it. The hotel needs to move into the 21st century. No normal plug sockets anywhere near the bed. Wifi is steam driven and although it says you can pay £5 for ‘high speed’ internet it wasn’t available when I stayed. The rooms are big but the bathrooms have the same need of renovation to the showers particularly. The restaurants are sizeable the food is on the expensive side and, although a tip is automatically added to your bill, when I tried to pay I was told they had no change at all in the hotel because it is ‘cashless’ so paid even more than I should. This is a little bizarre for a hotel that isn’t exactly embracing modern technology to decide to be cashless. Visited the spa and it was ok. Pool is sizeable but cold. An average stay at an average hotel. You can get a more convenient and cheaper stay much closer to Chester without trying too hard
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Eat and check emails before you get here
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Murray, Marketing at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Vicgoddard, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, though it is most disappointing to see that your recent visit did not meet with your expectations. I would like to personally make contact to acknowledge your feedback and reach some resolution. Please could you email me your contact number and advise on the best time to reach out to discuss your experience? I would be delighted to have the opportunity to acknowledge your feedback and improve upon your impression of our hotel. Kind regards, Liam Operations Manager opsmanager@grosvenorpulfordhotel.co.uk
Read more
DrHayley wrote a review 5 Jun
10 contributions
I had a really lovely stay at the Grosvenor Hotel in Pulford last month. I had a really comfy bed, a modern bathroom with a large bath and a wonderful breakfast. The reception staff were also very welcoming. Will definitely be coming back to stay soon. Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Murray, Marketing at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear DrHayley, Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon. Kind regards, Liam Operations Manager
Read more
Jackie wrote a review 4 Jun
5 contributions
A really pretty hotel with lovely grounds. Great staff. Food slightly too pricey but main issue is the noise from the wedding. If we had children with us or needed to be up early we would have been really unhappy. The music was so loud it was almost like we were in the same room as the party below us. Still awake at midnight listening to it. Lovely spa but only four loungers which were all taken so we couldn’t stay and relax. Robes are a non refundable £15 charge unless you have booked an exec room which is unfair and the towels given at the spa reception are too small.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Murray, Marketing at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jackie0382, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, though it is most disappointing to see that your recent visit did not meet with your expectations. Your feedback is welcomed and we will work on improving on the points that you have made. Kind regards, Liam Operations Manager opsmanager@grosvenorpulfordhotel.co.uk
Read more
Nickynoodle1278 wrote a review 4 Jun
Mold, United Kingdom694 contributions278 helpful votes
Stayed three nights on business. Room was quite small, almost impossible to get out of bed without hitting the wall. No phone signal and free public Wi-Fi was very slow. Breakfast was nice with some options made to order, I would recommend the avocado on poached eggs.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Murray, Marketing at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jackie0382, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, though it is most disappointing to see that your recent visit did not meet with your expectations. Your feedback is welcomed and we will work on improving on the points that you have made. Kind regards, Liam Operations Manager opsmanager@grosvenorpulfordhotel.co.uk
Read more
MelnNige wrote a review 3 Jun
Wirral, United Kingdom281 contributions62 helpful votes
We booked a Sparkling Afternoon Tea for a special treat. Booking over the phone was pleasant. We arrived on time and were asked to wait, as the table wasn’t ready. After sitting in the waiting area, I enquired (20 min after the booked time) to be told our table was now ready. We were seated and discovered that some things were missing, e.g tea spoons, sugars and jams. Our order was taken and the drinks arrived quickly. However, it took a long time for the afternoon tea to arrive. This meant that we ran out of drinks before the food arrived. We started eating one hour after we were booked in. The afternoon tea food was fresh and tasty. However, the photos of the afternoon tea (and the professional photos here on Tripadvisor) are misleading. Whilst the restaurant is beautifully set out, the way the food was presented was a bit disappointing. In addition, although each member of staff was friendly, there did not seem to be a structure to who was responsible for what, which made the running of the place seem somewhat disorganised. We had used a voucher and at the end where presented with a £14 bill. When we queried this, the mistake was acknowledged and we did not need to pay extra. We did enjoy the food and our afternoon, but somehow the whole experience wasn’t quite what we had expected.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clara Murray, Marketing at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jackie0382, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, though it is most disappointing to see that your recent visit did not meet with your expectations. Your feedback is welcomed and we will work on improving on the points that you have made. Kind regards, Liam Operations Manager opsmanager@grosvenorpulfordhotel.co.uk
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grosvenor pulford hotel chester, grosvenor pulford hotel and spa, grosvenor pulford chester, hotel grosvenor pulford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireChesterPulford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Outpost Paintball (2.7 miles), Sick to Death (5.0 miles), and Cheshire Military Museum (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Meltdown Chester, The Hideout Bistro & Bar, and Cleopatra's Coffee Shop & Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Pulford.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.