We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast

Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A warm welcome awaits at Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast, a traditional country bed and breakfast, on the coast to coast route. Guests enjoy their own private dining room, and comfortable en-suite bedrooms. FREE Parking, FREE Wifi and a laundry service available.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
123Reviews
36Photos
1Q+A
11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 23
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were your very first guest doing the coast to coast April 2015 rooms were fantastic warm and bright. Plenty of news paper to dry out our boots We were very well looked after fed and watered also sent of with a lovely flap jack still thinking of you both David & John
Read more
Response from Rosaleen S, Owner at Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Responded 2 Dec 2018
Hi me and Billy remember you well. Our very first guests. It so nice to hear from you after all this time. So pleased you enjoyed Thorntrees, and hope to see you again. Thanks Roz and Billy
Read more
+2
I stayed at this B&B while I walked Wainwright's Coast to Coast. The day I walked to Ennerdale Bridge, it rained consistently. It wasn't a long walk from St Bees so I got to this B&B at around 1pm. Unfortunately, there is a sign saying that they don't open to receive guests
Read more
Response from Rosaleen S, Owner at Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Responded 22 Sep 2018
Dear George, I was sorry to hear of your discomfort in regards to arriving early in wet clothes. The walk from st bees to our B & B is 14 miles, usually, our guests arrive between 3.30 pm and & 7 pm our policy is a 4 pm check-in unless otherwise arranged. We are a small family run business so afternoons are taken up with shopping, laundry etc. The afternoons that I am at home I allow guests in earlier especially if they are wet due to bad weather, the website states clearly the check-in times which is from 4 pm, also, all guests who book through companies (your company being sherpa ) receive all relevant information including check-in times. I appreciate your comments on the B&B, but this is the first time I have been rated as a three-star, I think you can understand that I can not be held responsible for guests arriving early in bad weather. KInd Regards Rosaleen Smith
Read more
We really enjoyed our stay at Thorntrees. Well located, quiet, spacious rooms, spotlessly clean, lovely food. They have put a lot of effort in to making this a top quality place to stay and in our opinion it has definitely worked.
Read more
We straggled into Thorntrees the evening of our first day hiking the Coast to Coast trail. The hosts were kind and immediately helped us dry our clothes and find dinner. Our room was lovely and breakfast was delicious. We went on our way greatly recovered!
Read more
Lovely B&B and a great location for the C2C. Local pubs only 2 minutes walk. Nothing wrong with the place, but not the best value as one of the most expensive places we stayed in 15 nights (packed lunches were also quite pricey too). Also, tiny gripe, we were requested to book a
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Excuse the mess!
Excuse the mess!
Excuse the mess!
PreviousNext
123
Yes they do.
0 votes
"All rooms are quiet"
"We had the only room (I think) with a separate bathroom, but it was still a private bathroom, and we didn't mind at all!"
"All rooms would be okay"
"Get a room with an ensuite. We had to use the one across the hall."
"Our room was at the back and looked over fields, charming."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCleatorEnnerdale Bridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing