Priory Hotel Cartmel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Priory Hotel Cartmel

The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB England
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (26)
The Sticky Toffee Pudding Shop
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Breakfast included
£132
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 small hotel in Cartmel
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Cartmel? Then look no further than Priory Hotel Cartmel, a family-friendly small hotel that brings the best of Cartmel to your doorstep.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the small hotel.

The property also boasts a lounge, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving to Priory Hotel Cartmel, free parking is available.

While in Cartmel, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Priory Hotel Cartmel, including L'Enclume (0.1 mi), Cavendish Arms Restaurant (0.0 mi), and Cartmel Village Shop (0.0 mi).

If you are looking for something to do in the area, Cartmel Priory (0.1 mi) is a popular attraction that is within walking distance of Priory Hotel Cartmel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Priory Hotel Cartmel as you experience everything Cartmel has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

The Square, Cartmel, Grange-over-Sands LA11 6QB England
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Newcastle Airport
278Reviews4Q+A47Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 160
  • 73
  • 26
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Journey176211 wrote a review Aug 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom98 contributions77 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After a busy day in Windermere we stopped here for a late lunch. We were greeted by very friendly staff and settled into a table with comfortable chairs. We ordered sandwiches for our 5 and 6 year old, the soup and sandwich deal for my husband and I had the chilli jacket potato and a bowl of chips to share. I asked for the staff not to mention that the sandwich was ham to my 5 year old (she's going through a phase where she only eats chicken so we have to fib that its special chicken haha). The lady serving us was lovely and careful not to mention mention ham. The sandwiches were all lovely and fresh. My chilli jacket potato was delicious, the chilli was perfect. It also came with a lovely salad that had a very nice dressing. The chips were fab, I was full but just couldn't see any left behind. The only room for improvement was the mushroom soup which was bland. A very pleasant visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewer6 wrote a review Oct 2020
England16 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Couldn't speak highly enough of the hotel. We had room 6 on the top floor, which was quiet, had a king size bed and a sofa bed and a huge, very nice bathroom. There are a couple of flights of stairs to go up, but this shouldn't be an issue for most people. Breakfast was very good, with a large choice and good service. The village is very pretty and the hotel is right in the heart of it.

Parking is slightly limited, with free spaces outside the hotel/ further up the road, but a lot of demand in a fairly busy village. There is also a paid card park close by at the race course, but be aware that there are cameras monitoring the time you've been there.

The icing on the cake was the fact that the hotel posted my jumper back to me free of charge after I'd (stupidly!) left it. I will be getting in touch to pay for the postage but this was a lovely gesture and a real mark of the management. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Room 6 is big/ quiet and has a lovely bathroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lampers wrote a review Jan 2020
leeds597 contributions145 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was in cartmel over new years and came in for drinks afew times during our stay. Was met with lovely warm welcoming service each visit. Managed to watch the Leeds game as it also has sky sports - fab.
Particularly enjoyed the effort they went to with xmas decorations in the hallway and the music speaker out of the window at midnight. People dancing in the street - fantastic.
Didnt eat here but food looked and smelt good. Loweswater gold on tap a particular fave of mine!
Thanks for your hospitality see you again soon
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gary Broadhurst, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time leave feedback on your experience. We greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps ensure all of our guests receive a positive experience. Hope you had a lovely new year whilst in the village. We were full with diners and they all had a positive experience. We are happy to hear that the welcome you received was a warm and welcoming one. We also are happy to show any football match that is on sky sports, we have several TVs so sometimes we have a few different matches on at the same time. Thanks for your lovely comments about the Xmas decorations in the hallway, we always go above and beyond with them as Xmas is definitely one of out most favorite times of the year, in fact we are already thinking about this years theme out there as we always have a different one. keep your eyes peeled on Facebook for this years. and finally Loweswater gold is always on tap here it is one of our most popular sellers glad to hear that you like it, it is definitely a favorite with locals and visitors. Thank you for visiting again and we would look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel next time you are in Cartmel. Kind Regards Lyndsey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barts27 wrote a review Oct 2020
Burnley14 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited on a beautiful sunny October day. Was queuing to go in and a lady told us there were no tables available unless we had booked. Which is fair enough. Went around the corner and there were loads of tables in their beer garden??? I don't know why she didn't just direct me there. On making ourselves comfortable I went inside and asked about an afternoon tea but was told by the grumpiest barmaid ever that they don't serve food in the beer garden. Ordered a pint of lager and a bailey's hot chocolate but for some reason the lady serving me heard lager and lime (???) and didn't seem very pleased when I corrected her. Cost over £11 for a bailey's hot chocolate (made in a dolce gusto machine) and a pint of lager which is fine but a side order of politeness and an odd smile wouldn't go amiss bearing in mind we're paying their wages and pleasantries cost nothing. I'm assuming they work on the principal that people are day trippers and they don't have to be nice to them as it will be a while before they come back and/or customers don't have much choice on a busy Sunday in Cartmel if they are in need of refreshments... I must say the younger barmaid was far grumpier than the older one but both could do with a lesson in hospitality instead of making guests feel like an inconvenience.

On a positive note the lager and hot chocolate were lovely and it was very pleasant spending a nice hour in the beer garden.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Donald K wrote a review Aug 2020
Whitehaven, United Kingdom310 contributions73 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying in Cartmel for the night and called in here for a drink and bite to eat, ordered a 'Tuna crunch ciabatta and fries' from the specials menu. Food brought out promptly and was disappointed that the plate literally had the ciabatta and fries on it! No salad garnish as on other plates that were brought out ! On lifting up my ciabatta, the bottom of it was soaked in grease from the fries which had clearly just been plonked on the plate, the owner was walking past as I was doing this and asked if everything was ok, when I explained my discovery she said it would just be the fat from the chips, as if this would make it acceptable! She could clearly see I was not happy with this and all credit to her offered me a replacement, however snatched the plate from me clearly not happy at doing so. The replacement arrived with my remaining fries on, I didn't expect a new portion but a quick reheat in the frier would not have gone amiss. Box ticked for lunch but will sadly not return for food.
I wholeheartedly appreciate we are in difficult times, however, food served still needs to be up to standard! A couple of other pubs in the square remain closed after lockdown so The Priory and another establishment close by are benefitting from the extra custom at present. I can see from previous feed back that most feedback is positive, however, I can only report on my findings.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gary Broadhurst, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time leave feedback on your experience. We greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps ensure all of our guests receive a positive experience. We are sorry to hear that on this occasion the food and service was not to your satisfaction. The tuna crunch ciabatta that is on the specials board states that it comes with fries and doesn't mention that it comes with a garnish. Apologies that your plate had some grease from the fries on it i will pass your feedback onto the kitchen as the fries are generally decanted into a separate bowl from the fryer before going into the plate, they would never just be 'dumped' on the plate. Thank you for visiting and as you have stated most of the feedback we get about the staff and hotel and food is positive, my apologies if this was not the case for you. Kind Regards Lyndsey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Catherine D wrote a review Nov 2020
Harrogate, United Kingdom32 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The welcome was lukewarm but ok. The room was really badly lit. The tv only worked intermittently. The bathroom was actually dirty. The bread and croissant for breakfast were hard as rock-stale. It’s a long list. When I told the staff member who was checking us out she said thank you and smiled but did nothing. When I emailed the manager/owner she blamed me and then said the room hadn’t been refurbished yet-which is fine but don’t charge over £100 a night for it then! I’d expect an actual apology, which I didn’t get. I hardly ever write bad reviews. I think it’s only fair to let the owner/manager know how you feel first and if they seem sorry then that’s basically enough. But she just didn’t care at all that I’d had a bad experience. She said I should have told someone. I asked her for more milk for a cup of tea and that didn’t materialise so I didn’t hold out much hope for anything else.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gary Broadhurst, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel
Responded 27 Dec 2020
Good Morning Catherine, We do welcome all feedback however I feel from your review that you were not offered an apology, as you can see below the email we replied to you in which i sent my apologies twice, so we did indeed apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. As stated in the email sent had we been aware of your upset during your stay then we could have made steps to rectify this. We stated that room 5 was on the list to be refurbed and this has now been completed, We also offered you money off a future stay, which you declined on your reply. Email sent on 30/10/20 Apologies that you were not happy with your stay with us, However had you brought it to our attention at the time of check in or even the following morning then we could have looked into swapping your room for you. The lady that checked you out explained that she would pass on your issues onto the management which she did straight away. All of our rooms are currently undergoing a freshen up but as you can understand everyone is currently going through a difficult time at the moment especially the hospitality sector due the covid19. More people are taking trips in the UK instead of going abroad, which is slowing down the process slightly. Room 5 is next on the list to to be done but like i said had we been aware of your upset before you checking out then we could have looked at moving you. There should have been a complimentary little bag in your room which contained a bar of soap, a small bath and shower gel and a small shampoo if this wasn't the case then i will speak to the housekeeping team and I can only apologise, if you had mentioned this then we could have had some sent up for you. I'm also sorry to hear that your breakfast wasn't enjoyable either this is most unusual as we have people that return time and time again just for breakfast. I will speak to the chef on duty and ask them about the points you have raised over the muffin, Croissants and black pudding. Apologies again that you have not enjoyed your stay with us however if you are ever in cartmel again and you wish to stay with us then we are more than happy to give you 15% discount on your next stay, you will just need to contact the hotel directly as this offer will not apply to any third party bookings such as Booking.com Thank you Lyndsey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarolynN39 wrote a review Oct 2021
Chorley, United Kingdom27 contributions25 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall the 2 night stay was a disappointment especially for what we paid.
The family room had been refurbished but the bed sofa was of a poor quality so extremely uncomfortable for sleeping on and the sheet on it was ripped. We were only given one pillow each until I requested more and these were old and very smelly!
Considering there were three of us sharing the room it was disappointing to only be given two small packets of biscuits between us and only one tiny shower gel and shampoo between us. We weren't given extra toilet roll on the second night so had to request a roll at breakfast!
The cooked breakfast was fine but the fruit on offer was very disappointing, over ripe bananas on both mornings and I've never been given one slice of toast on my breakfast plate and not a rack on the table.
Such a shame, it could have been much better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maps825451 wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions11 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is essentially a pub with rooms. Unfortunately the pub was heaving with afternoon drinkers with no social distancing whatsoever. Our room was above the bar and next to the pub toilets so the noise was horrendous. I spoke to a member of staff and asked if we could move to a quieter room but I was told this was impossible. No apology, no concern and no subsequent follow up. The room itself was nice and breakfast was good but, for the price we paid, I was left very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gary Broadhurst, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel
Responded 20 Aug 2020
We are sorry that you were left feeling disappointed with your stay. We are a small hotel in the middle of Cartmel square that can get busy with drinkers, but all noise is kept to a minimum from 10pm for consideration of our guests, however when you came down mid afternoon Cartmel races was being shown live on the television which does draw in more customers, who tend to get over excited cheering on the horses. The room you had booked was situated on the first floor another flight of stairs above the toilets, and we were unable to move you to a quieter room as the hotel was fully booked. Once again i apologize you were unhappy with your stay Thank you Priory Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pathendo wrote a review Aug 2020
Cumbria, United Kingdom97 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had the pleasure of staying one night at this beautiful hotel. The hotels location is fabulous with plenty of pubs and eateries within a minutes walk. Stayed in room 1 which is very spacious and well decorated with a comfy king size bed, with good quality bed linen. The bathroom was large with a walk in shower and separate bath, lovely toiletries. Breakfast was good and cooked to order, we did not eat any other meal in the hotel. The best thing about going to a family run hotel is the attention they give their guests, which was evident.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gary Broadhurst, Owner at Priory Hotel Cartmel
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Good Evening, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Priory Hotel and for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience. We greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps ensure all of our guests receive a positive experience. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, Cartmel is a beautiful place with lovely surroundings happy to hear you had a lovely time. We do take pride in our rooms and it is lovely to hear when people have appreciated them. Room 1 is such a lovely room with a lovely big bathroom. We also feel we have a lovely selection on our breakfast menu and as you have said it is all cooked fresh to order, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your lovely comments on our family run business. We would look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel, if you stay in Cartmel again. Thank you Lyndsey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DIANE A wrote a review Oct 2020
Bolton, United Kingdom92 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Looking for somewhere not too expensive to eat lunch in Cartmel popped into The Priory. Customers are asked to fill in a trace form with details and take to the bar when ordering. Pleasant waitress, fully masked , showed where it was safe to sit. Small menu, with lots of choice, ordered a sandwich and chips. Good table service with drinks and food, good Latte, really fresh sandwich and the best chips we have eaten for a long time, nothing frozen here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Priory H
Cartmel, United Kingdom5 contributions
Hi, The car park is situated by the side of the hotel, and we provide permits for the race course so you don't have to pay & display. Early check in would depend on wether the room was occupied the night before. If you require any further information please call the hotel on 015395 34070 Thanks Gary
Answer from Priory H
Cartmel, United Kingdom5 contributions
Hi Robert, The Hotel would provide a permit for the duration of your stay. Regards Gary Broadhurst
Amanda D asked a question Mar 2015
Cheshire, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
Price for an ensuite double room for last weekend in June Sat 27th Sun 28th .
Answer from Priory H
Cartmel, United Kingdom5 contributions
Sorry we are fully booked for the dates you are asking for Thanks Julie
Answer from Priory H
Cartmel, United Kingdom5 contributions
Hi Caroline, I'm afraid we only allow dogs in the bar area, not the bedrooms, sorry!
Robin B wrote a tip Oct 2023
Blackburn, United Kingdom5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the Kings arms…..,awful service!"
Read full review
Sandra M wrote a tip Jun 2023
Paisley, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well worth a visit."
Read full review
KeithAlison wrote a tip Nov 2022
Rochdale, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It makes you smile."
Read full review
Jane_R8 wrote a tip Oct 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is in the racecourse carpark and is reasonably priced at £10 for 24 hours"
Read full review
Reviewer6 wrote a tip Oct 2020
England16 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 6 is big/ quiet and has a lovely bathroom"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cartmel area.
PRICE RANGE
£129 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictGrange-over-SandsCartmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PRIORY HOTEL CARTMEL - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Priory Hotel Cartmel
Which popular attractions are close to Priory Hotel Cartmel?
Nearby attractions include Cartmel Priory (0.1 miles), Cartmel Cheeses (0.06 miles), and Cartmel Racecourse (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Priory Hotel Cartmel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Priory Hotel Cartmel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Priory Hotel Cartmel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Priory Hotel Cartmel?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'Enclume, Rogan & Co, and Cartmel Village Shop.
Is Priory Hotel Cartmel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Cartmel.
Are there any historical sites close to Priory Hotel Cartmel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Manjushri Kadampa Meditation Centre (5.0 miles), Holker Hall and Gardens (1.5 miles), and Hampsfell Hospice (1.3 miles).
All Cartmel HotelsCartmel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CartmelHotels near Priory Hotel Cartmel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire