We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (870)
Room & Suite (228)
Dining (81)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Newby Bridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
4 Star Property With A One Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant And The Dolly Blue Bar And Grill Restaurant. Sitting On The Bank Of The River Leven, This Property Offers Stunning Views And The Perfect Base To Explore The Area. Close By Are The Lakes Aquarium, Haverthwaite Steam Railway, Lakeland Cruises, Beatrix Potter And The Lakeland Motor Museum Featuring The Donald Campbell Bluebird Museum. The Perfect Lakeland Venue!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1,474Review15Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 762
  • 398
  • 184
  • 69
  • 60
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Michelle S wrote a review 9 Apr
3 contributions
+1
This was booked as a Christmas present from our daughters. The hotel is beautiful and set in stunning surroundings, with the back overlooking the river. The food was lovely and the room well equipped and comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee available. The staff are lovely and very helpful. The Spa is a great bonus with a big pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. There are lots of things to do in the local area - walks, bike rides, near to Windermere and not far from Grasmere. A very nice, relaxing weekend - perfect for some R&R. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mary G wrote a review Mar 2024
8 contributions
We decided to visit the Dolly Blue Bar at Whitewater, as we hadn't been since its renovation. The setting is lovely, overlooking the river. It was Easter Sunday, so were pleased to see a vacant table. We ordered the Roast beef, from the bar, and a couple of drinks. Although they could have done with some extra staff,the barman coped so well. He was kept busy serving the bar, serving meals, up and down stairs with food, clearing tables, all with a smile on his face, and a friendly voice. When we were told the Roast beef had run out, we were quickly offered an alternative. The meal was very tasty, with the best selection of veg I have seen. 7 to be exact!! Although the food took a while, it was Easter Sunday, and with one man running the bar, I think he did amazingly. We didn't get his name, but he really did save the day, and he is an asset to the Hotel. Thank you for excellent customer service under extreme pressure. We will return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try and get a table by the river. Buy the barman a drink!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
su p wrote a review Mar 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom10 contributions5 helpful votes
Loved it! Yes the bedrooms are a little dated but extremely clean and comfortable. Loved the bed (so comfortable) and the jacuzzi bath. The view from our room was great. The staff? What can I say, so friendly, welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble from Jen on the reception, Kyle on the bar and sweet Gabrielle who (apart from being very funny)our dog absolutely fell in love with. The cleaning staff do an amazing job they must spend all day cleaning it’s so spotless. Food was fantastic hats off to the chef. Good choice of beautifully presented food and good wine list. White table cloth tables very well set up and breakfast had a small, but good choice. Though would’ve liked a choice of eggs. The spa was super clean, large swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam rooms. Again reception staff there very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Walking distance to the Lake motor museum which is worth a visit and has the Donald Campbell...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tracy H wrote a review Mar 2024
27 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Just got back after 2 nights at this hotel ...staff polite and friendly ..chefs go above and beyond for my gluten free dietry needs ..loved the fd and drink in dollys bar with gregg who was a lovly gentleman .breakfast was scrumptious ...spa was much needed after a day out walking and visiting places ...we had a really nice and relaxing time ...thank you all staff x
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Windermere gets very busy ...be prepaired for all different weathers ...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JPN wrote a review Mar 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom3 contributions12 helpful votes
Ideal location for seeing and doing lots that the Lake District has to offer. The building itself is beautiful, staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean, tidy, and nicely equipped. The on-site pool with jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room is a huge bonus, and there is a gym too although we didn't get round to using it on our weekend visit. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back in the future, in fact we can see ourselves coming back every year for the rest of our lives!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris A, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Whitewater It's wonderful to know that you found our building beautiful and that our staff were friendly and helpful during your visit. Maintaining cleanliness and providing well-equipped rooms is a priority for us, so we're delighted to hear that you found your accommodations clean, tidy, and nicely equipped. We're pleased that you were able to take advantage of our on-site pool with Jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room. It's indeed a fantastic bonus for our guests to relax and unwind after a day of exploring the Lake District. Although you didn't get the chance to use the gym this time, we hope you'll consider it for your future visits. Your kind words and high recommendation mean a lot to us. We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back every year for years to come! If there's anything we can do to make your future stays even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
colin W wrote a review Feb 2024
England, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
My review is from my own experience not influenced by anyone. Went solo in February 2024 when I booked went the whole hog exec suite breakfast & evening meal thought a little expensive but after my stay I believe I gleaned an absolute bargain 5 nights of absolute luxury every meal morning and night was astounding the chefs cooked everything to my perfection without instructions from me the taste was amazing (the lemon tart with raspberry sorbet was to die for) I could eat that for every course. My room was large and very light in the day but for my liking even with all the lights (5) it was a bit dark the tv only had a few basic stations from a normal Ariel no sky or freeview so staying in the room of an evening entertainment was limited. Carpet was thread bare in one large area and the couldn’t care less guests who drag their cases along the wall marking the paint work was the only fault I found. All of the staff I came in contact with were absolutely professional, polite, helpful, informative. There was nothing to much trouble for them. The hotel is an amazing building in an excellent location with stunning views from the front of the hotel probably not so from the side and rear I’d advise paying the little extra and get a river facing room. The cascades spa centre is worth every penny of the stay alone free swimming sauna steam room gym ( slightly dated equipment) but all good and in working condition. Paid extra for a massage which was my first and probably won’t be my last. All in all I will definitely been doing a 3.5 hour return trip for another stay and hope all the staff are still there because the service goes well beyond expectations. Well worth every penny of my outlay really looking forward to another stay. Out of my own 10 it’s no less than a ten.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don’t miss this gem of a hotel and spa stunning
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris A, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience during your stay with us in February 2024. It's wonderful to know that you found your executive suite and the included meals to be worth every penny. Our chefs take great pride in preparing delicious meals, and we're delighted to hear that every dish was cooked to perfection and exceeded your expectations. The lemon tart with raspberry sorbet sounds absolutely divine, and we're thrilled that it left such a lasting impression on you. We appreciate your feedback regarding the lighting in your room and the television channels available. We'll certainly take these points into consideration for future improvements. Additionally, we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the worn carpet and marks on the paintwork. Rest assured, we'll address these issues promptly to ensure a more comfortable and aesthetically pleasing experience for our guests. It's fantastic to hear that you found our staff to be professional, polite, and helpful throughout your stay. Providing exceptional service is our top priority, and we're delighted that our team exceeded your expectations. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the stunning views from the front of the hotel and found the location to be excellent. Your recommendation to opt for a river-facing room is duly noted, and we're glad that you found the Cascades Spa Centre to be a worthwhile addition to your stay. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to return for another stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back, and we'll do our utmost to ensure that your next visit is just as enjoyable as the last. If there's anything specific you'd like us to arrange for your next stay, please don't hesitate to let us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David T wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Scandalous family price for a swim.40 pounds per session is a rip off. Definitely wouldn't recommend. No discount for staying on site a few days. The pool isn't that big and the jacuzzi looks filthy water. The main temp of the pool was quite cold making the kids reluctant to get in once they got their feet wet
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris A, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Thank you for your comments , I am sorry you felt £40.00 for a family day pass is a rip off, but when it is open for all day with two adults and four children, we feel, its quite good value, for a day out, and you can use it all day from 7am until 9pm. The actual price is £10.00 per adult and £5.00 per child.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Becky R wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
One of the best hotels we’ve ever stayed In. The room was spotless, offered 2 pillows when usually only get one, huge room and the wifi was perfect!! Breakfast was included and great food. We will definitely be returning without a doubt!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris A, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Responded 11 Feb 2024
Thank you for this review, Just call us direct for the best rates , when you have a date in mind.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danielle H wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
My partner and I stayed at the Whitewater for a 1 night break to celebrate my 40th birthday........what can I say? The hotel has exceptional staff, especially Claire on reception who was professional, friendly and attentive. We had a trip to the pool, steam and sauna which was relaxing and refreshing. Followed by dinner in the restaurant where we had the most friendliest waitress Danielle who could not do enough to make our evening enjoyable. The food was fantastic, I ordered the king prawn pasta and my partner had sirloin medium which he commented was one of the best cuts he had ever tasted ..... hats off to the chef. I hope the management read and feed this review back to the staff as we have stayed in several hotels in the lakes but the Whitewater has been the best for service and a magnificent stay. We will DEFINITELY be booking again 😁
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris A, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Responded 11 Feb 2024
Thank you for this wonderful review , I will pass this on to Claire and Danielle, Hope to see you again soon. Call us directly for the best rate we can offer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ian c wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
.New Year at the White Water was an excellent experience made possible by the staff of the leisure club, bar, restaurant and reception. A extra special thanks to Danielle who went over and above to provide a fantastic service, See you next year from Apartment 18!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris A, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thank you I am please you had a great time, and I will pass on your comments to Danielle. Hope to see you return again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newby Bridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£91 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
whitewater hotel and leisure club, whitewater hotel leisure
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictNewby Bridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WHITEWATER HOTEL & LEISURE CLUB - Updated 2024 (Newby Bridge)

Frequently Asked Questions about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Which popular attractions are close to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Nearby attractions include Cliffhanger Rooms (0.08 miles), Predator Experience (2.5 miles), and Stott Park Bobbin Mill (2.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manor House, L'Enclume, and Anglers Arms.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stott Park Bobbin Mill (2.2 miles), Holker Hall and Gardens (4.7 miles), and Hampsfell Hospice (4.4 miles).
Does Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.