The White Lion Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The White Lion Inn

Traveller (125)
Dining (27)
View from end of pub in the evening
Room & Suite (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5

Finding an ideal quaint inn in Patterdale does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The White Lion Inn, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the inn.

The property also features free breakfast to make your visit even more pleasant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you like pubs, The White Lion Hotel is conveniently located near Brotherswater Inn- Lake District pub.

The White Lion Inn puts the best of Patterdale at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
426Reviews8Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 295
  • 57
  • 25
  • 17
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
janerT5076SN wrote a review Jun 2021
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom60 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just returned from a couple of nights here. We had a brilliant time. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the hot water in the shower was plentiful plus we had a view of the mountains. The pub is dog-friendly, which is essential for us. The breakfasts were huge and certainly set my husband up for his day's walking. Luckily, the promised rain did not occur so we were able to walk a circular route on the quieter side of Ullswater. This is very accessible from the pub.

The dog got his own breakfast sausage to eat, which was much appreciated by him. The bar meals were filling. It was certainly good that we could could order food on a Sunday evening. As residents, we were able to reserve a table of our choice. The beer was good. The company was friendly. .

The pub is COVID aware. The tables are spaced, there is a bottle of handgel on each table and check in details are required. I noticed that there was a board outside Saturday evening to say that the pub was at its capacity. There is a beer garden on the other side of the road. Drinks are dispensed in plastic glasses if you sit here. There is a recycling bin for the plastic glasses.

We very much hope to return here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cracko_Karen wrote a review Jul 2020
Cumbria, United Kingdom93 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have to commend the White Lion for taking its COVID19 Safety measures so seriously. We were a little anxious about revisiting pubs and dining out, but the White Lion put our fear to rest. Correct Track & Trace processes fully adopted, and when our food was brought out, all condiments, serviettes, etc were in a sanitised plastic bag.

And the food was good too, even though this had to be served in a cardboard take out box.

You can feel safe at this establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BellaGlasgowScotland wrote a review Mar 2020
East Kilbride, United Kingdom127 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Four of us had drinks and lunch on a very wet Saturday after walking from Pooley Bridge. Very welcoming hotel with an open fire blazing away.
We were able to dry our jackets near the fire while we ate sharing platters of Pies Scotch Egg cheese and bread.
Service was very friendly and prices reasonable.
Waitress also helped us get a taxi which was much appreciated and needed!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Antony Dala wrote a review Jan 2020
Wirral, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an edited review having just had a call from Andy, I assume one of the owners of the Lion, unapologetic, calling my review ridiculous and "you're just another keyboard warrior" nice chap, just the way to speak to repeat guests.
The White Lion in Patterdale, our room this week: We have stayed here half a dozen times over the last 5 years. So sad it has been let go.
The general staff have always been lovely, same now can't be said about the owners who didn't show there faces once.
Heating dodgy, mid winter and the radiators never got past sightly warm throughout the building. Not fun after a very wet walk. Nowhere to dry wet clothes.
Kitchens closed at 6pm breakfast is 8.30am to 9.00 am RIGID. We were the only residents but owners refused us breakfast, despite staff being on duty, as we were a few minutes after 9 am from an early run.
I have marked "service" below as good as the general staff were super.
Horrendous black mould throughout the room and bathroom. A hole to outside due to window frames being so rotten.
Fawlty Lions?
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nilanastafford wrote a review Jan 2020
Stafford8 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been visiting this pub in December for the past 10 years. It has always been festively decorated, with warm open fires and friendly and inviting to a weary fell walker. When we visited in December this year, 2019, it was like a different place. I’m not going to go into detail, but none of the above applied.
Unfortunately, now, the food hygiene rating is only 3.
I do sincerely hope that the staff have access to different toileting facilities than the public, as no hand soap, hand towels or working dryers were available in either the ladies or the gents when we visited. We did mention this to the staff behind the bar, but no rectifications were made to this basic hygiene matter.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AshleyVaughanWatson, Manager at The White Lion Inn
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear nilianastafford, Thank you for taking the time and effort .... Firstly, because it’s one of your opening lines I’ll pick up on it first. How has the pub had warm open fires for the last 10 years ? We had them both opened up only 3 years ago when we took over the pub, one was bricked up and the other a gas fire that hadn’t been on for over 10 yrs. See how already your credibility starts ebbing away. As for the Christmas decorations, we prefer the pub to be a pub and not Santa’s grotto and because we are short staffed nobody would play Santa ! ( if your free next year ? ) Now as for not going into detail, maybe you should have and I’d have tried to answer your points in detail. Well done for checking out our food hygiene rating, you are quite correct it is currently a 3. We were marked down for a paperwork issue as apposed to actual hygiene because the chef was slack. Once we received that rating and I found out the reason I personally sacked him. Unlike other counties in the UK you cannot pay to be re-rated, so we unfortunately have to wait. Now to the toilets, and yes we do have others for staff. If the paper towels have run out or something isn’t working the staff will fix or do something about it at their very first convenience. There simply is no excuse for it. Now I note you normally don’t leave bad reviews and your last bunch of reviews was 6 yrs ago so I find that a little odd, perhaps you’ve been busy having a life or perhaps you’ve borrowed someone else’s TA account. Anyway because I find keyboard warriors an anonymous form of bullying I won’t lose any sleep. Finally I note you left this review on the accommodation side and we both know you never actually stopped here, maybe that was for dramatic effect and because TrolAdviser had just given us a Certificate of Excellence. Anyway, Very best wishes and safe travels, Ashley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jake Colley wrote a review Aug 2021
england4 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was on a trip to Gillside Farm near Ullswater with four friends and we stopped for some dinner. It was quite possibly one of the worst meals I've ever eaten out. All of the ingredients looked like the cheapest available options. I paid £18 for a meal and a pint of Birra Moretti. The chicken burger was similar to that of a Birds Eye battered chicken burger and the roll was covered in a thick layer of cheese - again tasted like the cheapest cheese available. The chips were 90% oil and 10% potato. All four people in our group were disappointed with our meals, with three out of our group of four leaving a substantial volume of food. All of our group agreed that it was one of the worst meals we'd eaten. The toilets were also covered in water and showed little indication of being cleaned throughout the day despite the pub being fairly quiet at the time of our arrival. Waiting staff did not check if our meal was okay - either halfway through the meal or when the plates were collected. The poor food and cleanliness of the toilets spoils what is a brilliant location and nice traditional pub. You expect much much more for the price. This was far below the standards of 'tradional pub grub'.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holly wrote a review Feb 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom18 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time we have stayed here (we came the same time last year) and yet again the White Lion did not disappoint. We stayed for 2 weeknights.
Despite a difficult journey due to storm Ciara we were greeted with a warm fire and a fantastic array of drinks to choose from and immediately felt like the holiday had begun.
We had our beagle with us and the staff/management could not have been more accommodating, explaining how to get in and out of the accommodation ‘after hours’ if the dog needed to go out. We really were made to feel so welcome.
The White Lion is the perfect nod to all things English/Northern, just the place to take a load off after a windy walk around the amazing fells that surround the place. Whilst we didn’t indulge in an evening meal, if the breakfast is anything to go by then it’s worth grabbing a table. A hearty portion to keep you going for most of the day!
The managers Ashley and Andy (I think those were your names I’m so sorry for my ignorance) we’re constantly about and made it clear how much the place and their customers mean to them. See you again next year 👍🏻
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karolina R wrote a review Aug 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom23 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great pup with great staff. Good prices.
Our 2 sometimes woofy sharpei were well welcomed. Deing and biscuits for dogs pricided free of charge as well as dog beds and towells.
Staff were great each time we went down! :-)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cal963 wrote a review Sept 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here on many occasions over the last 20 years. Seen many owners come and go. Our day started well, shown 2 rooms next to each other, seemed OK. The mattress in St Sunday was so hard I thought it was full of straw. The 2nd was great. The 2nd room the mattress's were OK. I noticed outside 1 room a shower head bracket.?The kids came into our room later because they had no running water in their shower, I went down to ask if someone could take a quick look, still waiting...They used our shower which you had to hold the shower head as no bracket and this alternated between scalding hot to freezing cold. The food was fabulous in the pub, very well organized with staff wearing masks and constantly cleaning, music also brilliant. The next morning was abysmal, A pot of hot coffee over my husband and daughter (told only 3 feet on cafetiere) Changed clothes and moved tables, That was all well and good but our breakfast must have been cooked before this as when it did arrive at the table it wasn't all that nice, Over cooked and luke warm. No one asked us how our stay had been as we passed over money for the rooms. Didn't seem very interested at all. We must have spent over £300 in total. Undecided whether we will go back, took the kids as they had never been, made an impression on them, not.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Great location for some excellent walks.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashley Watson, General Manager at The White Lion Inn
Responded 9 Jan 2021
Firstly please accept my apologies for the late response, I simply wasn’t going to bother. But then feel guilty to the genuine people whom are more positive in life and their reviews. You finish with undecided wether to come back, let me help you, don’t bother. After the year the world has so far endured you have to learn to put things into perspective and I have you. Stay safe & remember there are lots of nice places in the Lakes or even Australia you can book when life returns to normality, Best wishes Ashley
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JeffB_11 wrote a review Jul 2020
York, United Kingdom356 contributions218 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After spending a few hours walking in the rain with two dogs in the beautiful Lake District it was so lovely to see the sign outside saying that dogs were welcome and food served all day.

We sat down by one of the real fires and were given fresh towels to clean our dogs which was a lovely touch.

Great traditional pub food and very friendly service. Can’t wait to return later in the year
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sandyEccleston asked a question Oct 2023
eccleston11 contributions13 helpful votes
Looked on website which states The White Lion is permanently closed, is this the case?
Answer from mark e
Warrington, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
Wasn’t about a month ago it was open and looking good? Call them
Patree asked a question Sept 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom22 contributions24 helpful votes
Are the rooms ensuite?
Answer from mark e
Warrington, United Kingdom21 contributions7 helpful votes
The one we seen yes - but best give them a call
Matty2013 asked a question Mar 2021
York, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
When do you guys re open ? Missing the lakes and my fav pub.
Answer from Matty2013
York, United Kingdom2 contributions5 helpful votes
Brilliant. Thank you.
Answer from A B
Preston, United Kingdom7 contributions
I'm sorry I disagree I have been there many times and I will make myself known on my next visit. and this is my real name. I've just found your attitude and mannor intolerable regardless of your personal life / problems. I've eaten at your pub and the chips were terrible I didn't write a review. I just have never eaten there since. they were oven chips and cold at that. greasy in the middle. possibly refreid from an earlier serve. I didn't write it in a review. I delt with it in my way. my choice my meal. you wouldn't know that until now but I won't tell u time and date and fuel you quest to weed the genuine reviews from the fake ones. because it did happen they were Terrible. Lifes too short move on. after all you've 'been through' maybe you should adopt a love all attitude and leave all the negative. it makes people toxic and you sound toxic. as you said you won't be replying I wish you all the best and hope you change your ways for the good of all. some times bar staff hide from customers. sometimes customers are a pain. but it the business. smile and cater or face criticism. it's the world we live in.
Anthony W wrote a tip Apr 2024
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom240 contributions83 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"An improvement required in the food and drink or they will have no customers"
Read full review
Tracey wrote a tip Sept 2023
Osmotherley, United Kingdom9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking available, beer garden. Home cooked meals. Great hosts."
Read full review
OnAir02760186107 wrote a tip Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Andy and Ashley are very good friendly hosts."
Read full review
LYNN212 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be careful when leaving as exits onto a main road"
Read full review
Moll wrote a tip May 2023
London, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not park the wrong way round in the car park"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Patterdale area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictPatterdale
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WHITE LION INN - Updated 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The White Lion Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The White Lion Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hallin Fell (3.3 miles), Helvellyn (3.4 miles), and Ullswater Lake (3.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The White Lion Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The White Lion Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The White Lion Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The White Lion Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helvellyn Country Kitchen, Fellbites Cafe and Restaurant, and Ramblers Bar & Candleroom.
Is The White Lion Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.05 miles away from the centre of Patterdale.
Are pets allowed at The White Lion Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The White Lion Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (8.5 miles), Castlerigg Stone Circle (8.1 miles), and Rydal Mount & Gardens (6.4 miles).
Does The White Lion Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire