We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges

Crossgate Hartsop, Patterdale CA11 0NZ England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (106)
Room & Suite (41)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Patterdale
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
14 Luxury self-catering holiday lodges set in one of the most beautiful and peaceful corners of the English Lake District. We are a remote haven perfect for those who want to explore the fells or just get away from it all. We have a range of lodge types and some of our lodges have hot tubs (Hartsop Lodge Deluxe and Brotherswater Premier). We are a pet friendly site, but we do keep some lodges pet free.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hiking
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Clothes dryer
Parking
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Family
106Reviews11Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 21
  • 5
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mamou wrote a review Feb 2024
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom17 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at Hartsop lodge after a friend’s recommendation. The lodge was immaculate and had everything we could need. The fully equipped kitchen was much better than I expected and the lodge was beautifully warm. The towels and linen were lovely quality and the hot tub made our stay. I couldn’t have asked for more. And it was close to many walks. One downside the phone signal was terrible but it made the family sit together and play board games. A great week away!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are so pleased you had a wonderful family holiday. The beautiful surrounding fells do make phone signal very intermittent - but we think it's worth it for being in such a special place! We hope we will see you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MixECumbria wrote a review Jan 2024
Cumbria47 contributions65 helpful votes
We have just recently got back from a lovely 3 night stay at Hartsop Fold and have booked to go again later this year! The lodge was perfect, all facilities you need and then some. Lovely and spacious and the hot tub was perfect after a day in the lakes. Location is ideal with Windermere and Keswick both less than an hour away. Can’t wait to come back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 17 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to seeing you later this year!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Maxine P wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
We had a fantastic relaxing break . We had 2 children with us aged 3 and 10 . We stayed in the brothers lodge , it was clean and tidy on arrival . The hot tub was hot and clean and ready to jump in straight away , it was cleaned and filled daily . This is the second year we have been and loved it so much , the scenery is breath taking and the staff we encountered were friendly
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Could only use WiFi on the decking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Hello, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time and we hope to see you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Conavar1903 wrote a review Dec 2023
Scarborough, United Kingdom263 contributions73 helpful votes
The site is lovely and in a great location. There are some great walks from the site and it’s very dog friendly. The lodges are nice, super warm and apart from my notes below, well equipped. There are however issues. The lodge we were in needs updating. The TV is tiny and there isn’t an excuse for not having a smart TV. There’s a dvd player, but it’s a very old one and the remote control doesn’t work, the supplied one is a ‘one 4 all’ remote but no way should we have to go through the rigmarole of programming it. The lodge has a hot tub, and it was lovely and clean, the temp spot on. However it’s been installed the wrong way round, this means that as you enter it’s a deep step into the hot tub. The hot tub has a built in step to make this easier, but it’s been installed with this at the opposite side. We probably would return but would hope some updates have been implemented.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you very much for your feedback. Please could you email info@hartsop-fold.co.uk with the lodge you were staying in so that we can get a new remote for the DVD player. Our Brothers Water and Hart Crag lodges are our updated and modern lodges - they all have Smart TVs and we are in the process of upgrading some of our older lodges (you may have noticed the work underway on one of them). They will eventually get Smart TVs when the works are complete. We apologise if you had issues getting in and out of the hot tub, but we can assure you that they are installed correctly. There are steps provided which can be moved to suit individual needs for getting in. We would love to see you back again and can recommend you book the Hart Crag Retreat so you are guaranteed a Smart TV
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michelle wrote a review Nov 2023
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom18 contributions10 helpful votes
Our 2nd visit here. The 1st time we stayed in Helvellyn Lodge & no issues. The 2nd visit we decided to upgrade to The Brock Crag Lodge (One of the Brotherswater lodges) as it had a hot tub. Pros - The site is gorgeous & hardly any lodges on it. Very peaceful. The lodge was nice overall. Shower was nice & hot. A free washer dryer in the on site laundrette. The drying room attached to the lodges is a marvellous addition. Cons - We had no wi-fi or phone signal from our second day. It worked fine when we arrived but at day two it completely stopped working inside our lodge. To get any signal or wi-fi we had to go outside on the decking! We told the site three times it wasn’t working and they told us it had been fixed but we still couldn’t get on. Upon leaving the site and heading home I have read many reviews from various dates throughout the year saying exactly the same thing! While I understand this is a remote location it is disappointing that the wi-fi boosters on-site were not sufficient to stretch to our lodge. Especially as there was a smart TV in the lodge which was deemed useless without wi-fi. The hot tub was Ok … ish. The jets were so weak that they hardly made any bubbles whatsoever. The fridge had been turned off when we arrived and with bags of shopping to put away in there it was a pain as it took ages to be cold. I was so torn with what to write on my review as this is such a beautiful place but some facilities let it down. Patterdale now has hardly anything in it (No reflection whatsoever to owners of this site) but there’s now no shop and no pub! Unfortunately we wouldn’t return for a third visit due to the cons I listed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very disappointed about the WiFi as we had 3 members of staff visit the park to attempt to resolve the issue with no success. Unfortunately we are very much at the mercy of the weather and Storm Debi hit us very hard which had a huge impact on our WiFi system and it is something we could not improve until the weather abated. We have consulted many network engineers who cannot improve the system due to the location and surroundings of the high hilltops. That being said there was still a good and strong connection at Reception which is free to use for all guests. Being surrounded by the beautiful fells does mean we do have limited phone signal - but again we do have a landline at Reception that makes free calls to our office. We do apologise about the fridge - that was a small oversight by the housekeeping team. We were not aware about the weak jets on the hot tub, we will have one of our technicians look at it for you. We are sorry that you feel that you do not wish to return due to the WiFi, it's something we are trying to improve but we do not have any solutions at this time. The weather does really impact it, but luckily many of our guests enjoy being able to get away from it all and enjoy the peace and beautiful surroundings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tina G wrote a review Oct 2023
Grantham, United Kingdom27 contributions37 helpful votes
From the idyllic setting to the the lodge we stayed in (Helvellyn) just wonderful. Very well equipped and spotlessly clean on arrival. However my main reason for this review are the wonderful staff/cleaners. In this age of poor customer service, these wonderful ladies excelled and I hope the Company recognise the hard work of these ladies. Will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 19 Oct 2023
Hi Tina, Thank you so much for your absolutely wonderful review. The team will be so thrilled to hear your lovely comments when I pass them along. They are such a special and hardworking team! We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Katherine K wrote a review Aug 2023
3 contributions7 helpful votes
We had a brilliant time in the Lake District staying at the Hartsop lodge. We stayed in no.6. There are many positives:- Location - great scenery and access to walks, Brother’s Water is a 15 minute walk away and we spent a few hours here with our kayak. The dog loved it too! We also completed the hike to Place Fell. Large lounge and a good sized deck with a Bluetooth speaker and TV. You could see the Milky Way at night! Comfy beds. There was a heated cupboard outside which we used to dry our swimwear and towels. Good heating and a powerful shower. Hot tub was great and staff came to check on it both mornings. Negatives (not many!):- the shelves in the fridge door were a little flimsy. There could be more frying pans and a better spatula. The one we had had been melted and when we tried to wash it, the sponge would get stuck in it. The double bed was too small, so one person slept on the settee. Not the park’s fault, but other dog owners didn’t always clean up after their dogs. Maybe signs could be put up for owners to be extra vigilant. On the whole it was great and we would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday in our wonderful surroundings. I will feedback your comments about the frying pans and spatula and they will get that sorted. We are sorry that you felt the bed was not big enough - our lodges are all traditionally built and we cannot make any adjustments to the size of the bedrooms. A double bed is the perfect size for the room and allows for space and movement around it. Thank you again for your valuable feedback
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
darger2017 wrote a review Aug 2023
Ramsgate, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. The lodge may be a bit dated but everything was clean and comfortable. It’s a perfect base for so many walks and trails in the area. We did the hike up to Angle Tarn and the less tiring walk around Brotherswater. It’s also ideal for all the activities available at Ullswater, a short drive or slightly longer walk. If you don’t have a car there’s a bus stop very close. If I manage to get fit enough to tackle Helvellyn I would have no hesitation in staying here as it’s ideally located.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 4 Sept 2023
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you discovered all the wonders of our special location. We do hope we will be seeing you again in the future - perhaps to conquer Helvellyn!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chadi288 wrote a review Aug 2023
Willerby, United Kingdom128 contributions84 helpful votes
So we enjoyed a week here as a family of 4. Some good points and a few negatives. First if you have an electric car make sure you plan here well. Even if you have an adapter for a 3 pin plug the maintenance say you can’t charge, no where in the t&c does it say you can’t. We stayed in the Lowther, a 4 person lodge that allows pets. Decent layout, comfortable beds and seating, hot tub was great, they came alternating days to check the water ph. Location was immense. I’ve never stayed in such a creaky lodge, the floor was horrendous, so noisy, you heard every movement, I could even hear my dog at night. Parts of the lodge looked tired, it needs maintenance to come in at the end of each occupancy and tidy it up, a bit like they do at centreparcs. Plenty of cooking utensils and plates, glasses etc Fridge is too small, there’s a gap for a 600mm fridge with small freezer compartment yet probably a 450mm fridge was there. Problem if you have a delivery like we did for the week. Btw we used Morrisons and even though they got some of the order wrong I’m glad we did. Enough of the negatives. I would still come back here. Location is superb, 5 minutes and you have open fields and a beautiful waterfall. Great walks all around, hot tub was great and I truly came away relaxed. Approx 2 miles walk to Patterdale, no pubs just around the corner which suited us.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 22 Aug 2023
Thank you very much for leaving your valuable feedback. I'm afraid we do not have any EV charging facilities and for health and safety reasons we do not permit charging from the lodges. There are charging points in Glenridding, Penrith, and Ambleside which are handy. We do have a dedicated maintenance team that attend on each changeover - if you could email us (info@hartsop-fold.co.uk) with details of what you believe they need to look at that would be very helpful and I can pass it on to them. We are glad to hear you had a relaxing stay and we would love to see you back again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laura L wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
Me and my Husband stayed for a week at one of the luxury brothers water lodges Angle Tarn. Pros: Beautiful scenery surrounding the lodge Location was brilliant for walking to numerous places- we walked to Angle Tarn, Hayeswater, Brothers water, Patterdale and Hartsop. - no need to drive out as these are accessible walks from the lodge. Good cleanliness in the lodge Friendly staff Hot tub was cleaned and managed by staff, saw staff on daily basis treating and testing the hot tubs Private balcony and private hot tub Sunshine was lovely on the balcony- it was a sun trap through most of the day! The lockable cupboard in the porch was brilliant for drying wet swimming costumes and towels quickly. The interior of the lodge was modern, clean and well looked after. Cons: No wifi unless you stood from the patio doors but even then very limited. All 3 wifi spots not available within lodge. To get a usable wifi signal you had to stand on the balcony outside. I expected wifi coverage to be better within the lodge given the poor reception in the area. There was a pay phone at reception if required. No phone reception unless stood outside main reception. Limited kitchen and bathroom essentials - so pack extra (luckily we packed extra toilet roll as we’re only supplied with a few) The boiler made intermittent whistling noise that could be heard loudly throughout the lodge. The decking could use some TLC such as repainting as it looked a-bit weather beaten Overall for us the pros outweighed the cons and the location was perfect for the week we had planned. We would recommend this spot due to the perfect location, friendly staff and clean, modern interior.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring extra toilet roll and kitchen/ bathroom essentials. Drying cupboard in porch great for...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lyon Leisure, General Manager at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Responded 30 May 2023
Hi Laura, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff take great pride in keeping the lodges clean and tidy and we love the cosy peaceful feel. They will be pleased to hear your feedback. I am sorry the WiFi was not working for you - we have had no issues connecting in Angle Tarn ourselves during the changeover and have not had the subsequent guests report the issue. The three WiFi points are all working. Did you report this to anyone during your stay? Unfortunately due to our very rural location, the surrounding fells and weather can affect technology sometimes. Unfortunately we cannot do anything about phone signal - we are in a very rural location that is generally poor for phone signal, but we are hoping there will be a new mast erected in the area soon which will provide more coverage. As self-catering accommodation we only supply a couple of loo rolls, dishwasher tablets etc as part of the welcome package - all the information is available on our website. Thank you for letting us know about the noise in the lodge, we will investigate it further. We have looked at the decking and is just natural weathering of the wood that turns it silvery it is in great condition. We hope to see you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Patterdale area.
PRICE RANGE
£109 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hartsop fold hotel sedbergh
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictPatterdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HARTSOP FOLD HOLIDAY LODGES - Updated 2024 (Patterdale)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges
Which popular attractions are close to Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Nearby attractions include Hallin Fell (4.1 miles), Helvellyn (4.0 miles), and Aira Force Waterfall (3.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Conveniently located restaurants include Helvellyn Country Kitchen, Fellbites Cafe and Restaurant, and The White Lion Inn.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Hartsop Fold Holiday Lodges?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (7.1 miles), Castlerigg Stone Circle (9.4 miles), and Rydal Mount & Gardens (5.5 miles).