We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (259)
Dining (35)
Room & Suite (33)
Overview
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
315
173
47
41
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
315
173
47
41
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scafell pike the pub residents bar self catering lake district ritson's bar garden room steak and ale pie the main hotel remote location drying room large portions cumberland sausage the barn packed lunch bar area warm welcome
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely comfortable room, very welcoming staff, great cooked breakfast, and tasty pub meals in the bar. Also enjoyed some time in the quiet lounge, prefect for teenage revison. Would definitely recommned, as well as great walls nearby. Great to be able to have the dog...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Sue B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made our way to the inn in the car in the dark wondering if we were on the right track. The inn was lit up and looked very welcoming! We had very large portions of food and dog friendly too A welcome reprieve from...More

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank Scenic15218828527
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Took myself and my wife plus a Canadian friend here for a night. They thought we were staying in a hotel in a local town or village but we drove off the main road and down increasingly narrow roads until we were more or less...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank fredBloggs1
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

We visited here for lunch after visiting the nearby wast water lake The staff were very helpful and friendly and our meals were really delicious and at very reasonable prices There is Claire a hotel on site along with a gift shop I would recommend...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Jeff61uk
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Like to visit Wasdale every 3 or 4 years for my "walking amongst grandeur in Cumbria" fix. Always try to stay at Wasdale Head Inn. This is not only as the Inn is a perfect starting point for numerous classic walks, but because the bar...More

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank IanHa
View more reviews
About
Description
The world-famous Wasdale Head Inn, known as the birthplace of climbing, is dramatically surrounded by England's tallest mountains, making it the finest base for walking and climbing. The Inn is situated at the More head of remote and unspoiled Wasdale, and if you are seeking the superlative this is where you will find it. England's highest mountain, the deepest lake, the smallest Church, and the original world's biggest liar can all be found in this tranquil corner of the Lake District. The Inn is managed by Georgina Wrathall on behalf of the owners, Nigel and Lesley Burton. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Also Known As
Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
,
Wasdale Head Inn Cumbria
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
20
Also Known As
Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
,
Wasdale Head Inn Cumbria
Location
United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Photos
Traveller (259)
Dining (35)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Burnthwaite Farm
153 reviews
.46 miles away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
377 reviews
4.83 miles away
Bridge Hotel
508 reviews
5.18 miles away
Scafell Hotel
967 reviews
5.88 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn
298 reviews
.01 miles away
The Strands Inn
359 reviews
4.86 miles away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
360 reviews
4.95 miles away
The Riverside Bar
198 reviews
4.39 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
Scafell Pike Mountain
421 reviews
1.69 miles away
Wastwater Lake
364 reviews
3.15 miles away
West Lakes Adventure
94 reviews
4.82 miles away
Church of St Olaf
69 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lucy C
21 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
Please call us on 019467 26229 to cancel or rearrange. Our deposits are non-refundable, however if we are able to move your booking and re-let your room we should be able to transfer your deposit to the revised booking
0
Votes
foxale
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
We always have a range of real ales, with typically 6-8 different draught ales depending on the time of year. The actual ones vary from week to week depending on availability but we usually have beers from Carlisle Brewing... More
0
Votes
Joseph_Mantle
16 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Will_Ritson | Property representative |
Our rates start from £59 per person per night with full English breakfast, with a 10% reduction for stays of 3 or more nights. This is for a standard room. The superior rooms and self catering apartments are slightly more... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rowfoot is wonderful"
gillw0806
15 Oct 2018
Read review
"any all have fab views"
woolerton
4 Sep 2018
Read review
"The rooms with windows over the parking lot have no privacy unless the curtains are fully drawn."
Cheryl_from_
16 Aug 2018
Read review
"Yewbarrow and the garden room the best .they are away from the busy part of the hotel"
amorris63
6 Aug 2018
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing