We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waverley Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waverley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waverley Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2015 via mobile

What many hotel managements don't get these days is that along with the choice of 17 different types of eggs you can choose for your breakfast, what the travelling business person or giraffe needs from a hotel is a functioning, reliable, uncontested and free wifi as part of the package. It's not longer good enough to pretend to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
Dundonald, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend. Such friendly and helpful staff. Couldn't do enough for you. Food was excellent in the restaurant and breakfast was superb. Only fault I have is no lift and we were on the 3rd floor which I didnt check before booking...my own fault. Bathroom appears to have been recently renovated and the size of the delux...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Samantha Thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our food to be excellent. We have informed all the staff of your kind comments and they are thrilled you would stay with us again:) We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Lynn Pears

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 23 June 2015

Basic hotel , but quite nice and clean Staff friendly (except reception- rough) Restaurant really bad (poor quality of the food) Unfortunately breakfast is also very poor (lack of quality ) Main issue, restaurant accepts party ...we were on a Saturday and had music playing in our room until .....5 AM....impossible to sleep!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank regine a
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Regine We regret we did not meet your expectations, we have a good reputation for our food and are disappointed you did not feel the same. We do hold family events at the hotel but all music ceases at midnight any disturbance could have been reported to the night porter who is on duty all night, we have noted...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

Stopped here for cycle coast to coast the staff are very nice and friendly the room was dated but OK for what I was doing just most things creaked and squeaked but next morning the breakfast was very nice

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daveDerbyUk
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave Thank you for taking the time to review the Waverley Hotel, we are pleased you found your stay satisfactory and enjoyed your breakfast we look forward to seeing again . Regards Lynn Pears

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2015

Stayed Saturday 23rd May. I have never stayed in a hotel where the staff have been as friendly, they were just excellent. The superior twin room (on the first floor) was large and comfortable. The problem with the hotel has been mentioned before, there is no lift. I stupidly did not read Trip Adviser before I booked or I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ken We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality at the Waverley Hotel the food and our bar area, unfortunately we do not have the facility for a lift but would have helped wherever we could with your luggage etc :( Regards Lynn Pears

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the end of a lakes district visit. The hotel itself has a lovely charm. However the room was tiny, our door into the room didn't fully open due to catching on the carpet, the bathroom was functional but I found the shower to be incredibly slippery. The walls must've been paper thin as you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisha S
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elisha Thank you for taking the time to give us a review we are delighted our staff looked after you during your stay but regret the room was not to your satisfaction. We have noted your comments and are looking into this. Regards Lynn Pears

Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

I was put up here by work for 4 nights, it was lovely. The room and bathroom were a decent size (with a bath and not just a shower) it was absolutely spotless and cleaned to a high standard every single day. The food, oh the food! Even if you are in Workington and staying somewhere else I definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jemma T
Lynn P, Manager at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jemma We are pleased we made your stay so enjoyable with a home from home feeling which is our aim for guests working away, we are delighted you enjoyed our food also and have passed your great remarks on to all our staff especially Eileen "breakfast". We hope to see you again soon.

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Staff were very helpful and very friendly . Room was nice, but dated. Breakfast was very good. They gave Us somewhere safe to store our bikes. Free wifi that even reached the attic rooms we had. Good for the one night we needed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidLeeHall50
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are plesed you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff are all delighted with your feedback regading our Full English Breakfast and their service. We hope you completed your Coast to Coast Ride and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Myself and my Partner come to workington to visit The Lakes we stayed at The waverley hotel which we found very friendly staff ,,clean fresh room ,,lovely food and great valve for money ..I would certainly stay there again if we were in the area ..MS jubb

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachel j
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and food, we aim to make your stay as pleasant as possible and appreciate your comments regarding our services and staff. we are delighted you had great time visiting our beautiful Lake District. Regards Lynn Pears

Reviewed 22 March 2015

Excellent hotel very friendly staff they made our stay a very enjoyable stay and the owner bought us 2 drinks to show his appreciation for our custom. We will be staying there again and will recommend to anyone who wants to stay in Workington to stay at the waverley hotel. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eddie1670
Lynn P, Owner at Waverley Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are delighted you had a great day and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
0.5 mi away
Hall Park Hotel
Hall Park Hotel
#3 of 9 in Workington
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Waverley Hotel

Address: 1 Gordon Street, Workington CA14 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Price Range: £65 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Workington, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waverley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go for upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles 987nahima, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 870anthonyl, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“You get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles davev218, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are not young or super fit and active ask for a 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles Silvertraveler55, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Phone them direct”
 of 5 bubbles 720edr, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5