We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

YHA Castleton Losehill Hall

Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WB England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (159)
Dining (9)
View from Room (14)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hostel in Castleton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Newly refurbished Victorian Gothic Mansion and Cobbled Mews set in formal gardens and 27 acres of parkland in the heart of the Peak District National Park. Beautiful gardens, woods, streams to explore. Close to the spectacular Winnats Pass and Mam Tor, YHA Castleton Losehill Hall is ideally located for activity breaks. It's a great base for cheap family weekend breaks, with four caverns to explore on the doorstep. Surrounded by beautiful Peak District countryside, YHA Castleton Losehill Hall is perfect for walking holidays. Why not look at our other recently refurbished Youth Hostels? YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Laundry service
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German
495Reviews4Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 332
  • 116
  • 20
  • 16
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nixonton wrote a review Feb 2024
Anglesey, United Kingdom26 contributions20 helpful votes
Stayed one night. Impressive building. Good parking. Clean and warm with beautiful lounge and big kitchen. Staff very helpful especially the hard working cleaning lady. En suite private bedroom very functional bit could do with a lick of paint. Strongly recommend. Good walking suggestions on website
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Expect it to be popular with school trips
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 15 Feb 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We're pleased you enjoyed the facilities, and had a nice stay with us overall (including taking in some of the lovely local walks, many of which can be done directly from the hostel car park). We will pass your kind words onto the cleaning team - our staff work hard every day to make sure things are in as good a standard as possible for our guests! We aim to give our bedrooms some renovation when it is possible to do so - we'll be sure to redecorate the room you stayed in when we are next able. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you would consider staying at YHA Castleton again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
K Prashad wrote a review Dec 2023
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom15 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautiful property in an amazing location walking distance to Castleton, Peak Cavern and Winnat’s Pass. Basic but clean accommodation with excellent facilities for cooking, dining and relaxing. Could have used more storage in the rooms and the en suite bathroom was a little tired but overall great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not a lot of storage so prepare to live out of your bag.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 30 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the hostel. We are in the process of upgrading our showers around the hostel; the storage options will vary from room to room, based on floor space etc. We hope to welcome you back to the hostel for another stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gorwydd wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom643 contributions111 helpful votes
Over the years we have stayed at many YHA's up and down the UK A few things are pretty much consistent A clean room, affordable lodgings and a friendly welcome This YHA fulfilled all of the above, we plan to return and explore the area more.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 15 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel! We're pleased to hear that you have had a good experience at our hostel. Excellent news that the great experience you had with us is consistent with your experience at other YHAs in the past; we look forward to welcoming you back to YHA Castleton (and at other YHA properties) in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kendall47 wrote a review Aug 2023
Stockport, United Kingdom12 contributions4 helpful votes
Such great value for money. A huge camping field with plenty of space. Great self-catering facilities, which made the trip affordable and fun. Brilliant all you can eat breakfast, and other food options looked good too. Excellent location, great walks and the village has some nice shops and cafes.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Thank you for reviewing the hostel. We're very pleased you enjoyed your camping trip to us. The camping is pretty affordably priced; it is helpful to have access to all the shared facilities, self catering kitchen / option to buy meals and drinks at the hostel as well. We are well located for access to pubs, cafes and restaurants in the local area, along with sightseeing and other attractions. Overall, the flexibility for camping guests is decent, and we're happy to see it's proving popular this year! We hope to welcome you back for some more adventures in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Margaret T wrote a review Aug 2023
Stourbridge, United Kingdom60 contributions23 helpful votes
Beautiful setting. Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room with en-suite. Generous portions for breakfasts and the evening meals were wholesome with a good variety of choices full of flavour. We visited Peveril Castle and Blue John Caves during our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 5 Sept 2023
Thank you for reviewing our hostel. Great news that you had a lovely break with us, and enjoyed the cleanliness, service and meals you had at the hostel. There are plenty of great caves and other attractions in the nearby area. Hopefully we will see you again, for a future stay at YHA Castleton.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cld147 wrote a review Aug 2023
Newcastle3 contributions
+1
Stayed in the mews. Great location, a beautiful building and great kitchen facilities but the bedroom I stayed in wasn't clean and rough around the edges. It's also a room adapted for people with disabilities and had a large 'safety'light which glowed green all night and was positioned right above my top bunk which was not conducive to a good night's sleep. It wouldn't take much to improve it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 7 Aug 2023
Thank you for reviewing the hostel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and we will use it to improve for future guests. We aim to renovate our rooms when it is possible to do so, and we will do our best to give the room you have mentioned some TLC to make it even better for our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the hostel for a stay in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geekgirl70 wrote a review Jul 2023
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom19 contributions9 helpful votes
Great campsite. Lovely hot showers and the washing up facilities were good. Immaculately clean. Thanks for the lovely brass band entertainment. Ideally located under Lose Hill. Will definitely be back to explore more of the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Thank you for giving us a review. We're very pleased to hear that you had a lovely time camping with us over the weekend! The toilets, showers and washing up area for our camping guests are relatively new; we're happy that you liked the cleanliness and the location as well. There's a lot of lovely walking, running and cycling possible in the local area (we have a variety of recommended routes for guests to enjoy, that start and end at the hostel). We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay with us in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C T wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions
We stayed there for 1 night with the tent. The place for camping is basically a massive sheep toilet. I believe it wouldn't be hard to create a fenced area solely for campers without the sheep poo everywhere. We did forgot our tea at home and asked the gentleman at the reception if they could spare us a bag of tea but they said they cant give us just like that but we can buy a tea for a lovely price of 2.50£. So much for service and helpfulness of the staff. I guess the whole organization would get bankrupt over a bag of tea. On top of that we got 2 parking charges (60£) for parking in the car park. Nice. Not recommending
Read more
Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 31 Jul 2023
Thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry that you didn't have a great experience when you stayed with us recently. The hostel has an agreement with local farmers, where their sheep can roam and graze anywhere on our fields. We're sorry to hear that there was a lot of sheep poo in the field whilst you were camping. The car parking is administered by a separate company from the YHA, but our staff can ensure that the parking charges are dropped for you. Parking is free for our guests; our apologies that fines have been issued for your vehicle(s). If you have not yet paid the fines, please get in touch with the hostel as soon as you are able (email: castleton@yha.org.uk) - let us know the vehicle registration plate, and we will make sure that the fines are cancelled. We hope that you would consider staying with us, or at another YHA property, in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
steve b wrote a review Jul 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom43 contributions34 helpful votes
We camp on the field which was absolutely covered in sheep crap, and I mean covered, we did manage to find some grass, after a bit of a flick with a stick. This needs to be highlighted on the website. It was very disappointing, but apart from that otherwise ok.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: take a groundsheet for your groundsheet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 10 Jul 2023
Thank you for leaving us a review. The field where our camping guests can set up their tents is one where sheep roam freely. The hostel has an arrangement with local farmers where their sheep can roam around freely and graze on our lawns. We're sorry to hear that there were a lot of sheep droppings at the point when you were camping with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and we hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BBBee wrote a review Jun 2023
London, United Kingdom34 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a lovely stay in one of the three Landpods. We weren’t entirely sure what to expect but found the pod very comfortable and practical - solar lighting and phone charging (via a USB port) was very convenient. We wondered why we were provided with chess pieces but no board until we discovered the hidden table! Plenty of storage space. Loved that wood for the fire pit was included. Beds were very comfortable with thick duvets provided. The landpods were situated a couple of minutes walk from the hostel in a beautiful peaceful meadow (though the surrounding long grass was a bit challenging for us hayfever sufferers!). I’m not sure if the facilities have changed recently (based on previous reviews which mention separate showers for each pod - maybe a covid measure?) . We had access to 1x toilet and 1x shower shared with the 3 pods (these were kept clean and shower was hot). We also had access to a small but very serviceable kitchen in the stone barn on same field a few metres from the landpods - including crockery, oven, microwave, kettle etc. This building is set up for use as a camping barn so I don’t know if it is always available to Landpod guests, however it was very convenient and saved us a trip to the main building to use the (large) kitchen there. Because we were pretty self-sufficient using the facilities in the camping barn we didn’t make much use of the main hostel building but it was good to know it was there had we wanted more indoor space.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Priddle, General Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Responded 17 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We're pleased to hear that you had a great time in the landpod recently! The pods have recently ish been extended, to provide more space and improved facilities within them. At the moment, the camping barn (in the same field as the pods) provides the shower, toilet and kitchen / lounge area for the pods; we do not have the pods and the barn on sale at the same time. Guests can use the facilities in the ground floor of the main building whilst camping or using the pods, although this does represent quite a long walk from the pod field! Previously, when the pods were in use a couple of years ago, we had separate portable shower facilities, and some portable toilets, for the pod users (this was a Covid measure). In the future, we intend to convert the barn completely into toilets and showers for the pod field, as well as add some bell tents to the field. This is likely to not happen before 2024, however. We hope to welcome you back for another stay at the hostel (in a pod, or camping, or inside accommodation!) at some point in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Castleton area.
PRICE RANGE
£25 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkHope ValleyCastleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

YHA CASTLETON LOSEHILL HALL - Updated 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Which popular attractions are close to YHA Castleton Losehill Hall?
Nearby attractions include Castleton Visitor Centre (0.7 miles), Castleton Walk (0.4 miles), and Twin Peaks Outdoor Activities (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to YHA Castleton Losehill Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include Peveril Tea Rooms, The George, and 1530 The Restaurant.
Is YHA Castleton Losehill Hall located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Castleton.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to YHA Castleton Losehill Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (6.1 miles), Eyam Museum (5.9 miles), and Eyam Hall & Courtyard (5.9 miles).
Is YHA Castleton Losehill Hall accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.