We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Cambs
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here on a B&B break for 1 night in a double en suite room. Arrived a couple of hours before official check in but because the room was ready, we were allowed to check in early, which was a nice touch. The staff are really friendly and appear eager to please. We stayed in room 2. Large room overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsHolidayJunkie
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton.

england
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited The Inkeepers Lodge for a Mother's Day lunch,6 adults and one child. The food was excellent,far too much for most adults to finish it.the childs portion was also enough for an adult. My wife said she wished she had ordered a child's portion as she had to leave some food. The beer was top class, and I sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magpiesengland
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information

Bollington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed in the ground floor Annexe, which was dated and a bit scruffy. The noise from upstairs was amusing at first but then got quite annoying. Lunch was actually very nice, we had the mixed platter to share. Luckily we had the Continental Breakfast and there didn't seem to be anybody else around so we helped ourselves. I wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 6735cath
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton .

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at the castle for my fathers birthday at the end of January. Check in was quick and easy. All the staff were excellent and very nice. Room was in the annex so very quiet - no noise! Large room with all amenities. Big tv comfy bed. The evening meal was excellent, Richard welcomed us in the dining area and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was our second visit to the Castleton Innkeepers Lodge. The last time we visited it was experiencing a heatwave, this time a storm - we seem to arrive during extremes of weather. We arrived early and enjoyed a coffee next to an open fire whilst our room was readied. We were given a room in the main building which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris O
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have just returned from a stay at the Innkeeper`s lodge in Castleton. On our arrival we were greeted by a friendly chap called Richard, who could not have been more welcoming and polite. He was kind enough to give us a complimentary bottle of champagne as it was my birthday. We regularly saw him and enjoyed a chat! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.

east yorkshire
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just returne from a stay at the innkeepers lodge (The Castle Hotel) Casstleton. Excellent location for one of the nicest places to stay in the Peak Disrtict. We stayed in room 9 in the annex - which is at the rear of the main hotel so no road traffic noise. The room was large and roomy as was the ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank officer133
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch recently as a young family of 4 and whilst the food was extremely good (delicious, generously proportioned) - one rather disappointing element was the lack of blazing fire in our dining room. If you look at the website or indeed read the signs outside the pub, a great deal of emphasis is put on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Occrec
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Castleton, Innkeeper's lodge Castleton .

Manchester
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have visited castleton lots of times, I always insist we eat at The Castle. We took a party of 15 for my mums 80th birthday, we were all very disappointed with the food. Frozen chips (we were charged £1 extra for fat chips for 4 people, but never got the fat chips) the steak was over cooked and tough.side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is the 1st time we stayed but second time we been. The room was lovely (room 10) the only problem was the room upstairs. When they walked you cud here them and the bathroom was cold as no heating in there. But apart from that it was perfect, and well the food we could not fault it. Best food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barnes27
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton , and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review. .

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (136)
Viewed
Double Room (15)
Viewed
Double Room (Alternative) (20)
Viewed
Family Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
369 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
157 reviews
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
366 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Price Range: £65 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Expect terrible internet”
576meredithw, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't know as we were in the Annexe which was very nice.”
Pauline502, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“17 is tucked away and very cosy!”
41simonf, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If possible stay in the main building for character although we have stayed in the annex which is still lovely.”
DEEWIZZ, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for a high quiet room in the lodge or in the annexe across the Car Park.”
JuanyJuannaJAN13, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5