We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$133
View Deal
Snaptravel
Hotels.com
US$133
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$133
HurbUS$136
CheapTicketsUS$133
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

The Peak Hotel is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Castleton, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the inn.

The property also features breakfast to make your visit even more pleasant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you like Italian restaurants, The Peaks Hotel is conveniently located near 1530.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out an ancient ruins, such as Peveril Castle.

Enjoy your stay in Castleton!

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Patio
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
366Reviews4Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 187
  • 108
  • 25
  • 20
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Emily T wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Had a lovely stay at the hotel, room was very clean and staff very helpful. Food on the evening was absolutely amazing with a wide choice even with a reduced menu due to Covid19! Breakfast was good as well with takeaway bags in line with covid regulations. We were however offered either a cooked breakfast or a bottle of wine on check in due to the room price being the price for a refurbished room and ours was not, we did find out there was no cooked breakfast available and the wine we received was cheap cooking wine which was a disappointment, other than that we had a very enjoyable stay and would return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Hello. Thank you for your review. I'm not sure which rooms you are referring to. All of our rooms are of the same high standard and all but one are four poster suites. Our maintenance schedule is strict, and our property team keep up with all jobs required. You are correct in saying that we are unable to offer cooked breakfast during the week. You will notice that this is reflected in our low midweek rates. As for our wine selection, you wont find any 'Blossom Hill, or 'Echo Falls' here. All of our wines are specially selected for restaurants and bars alike. I'm afraid that in the current financial climate, I won't be involving in frivolity when it comes to making a 'beurre-blanc sauce'. Cooking wine in my mind has a maximum price of £6 or so, as apposed to our £14 table wine. sorry if that makes me tight fisted. Thank you once again for taking the time to send me your feedback. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Who knows, if your lucky, I might just treat you to another bottle of "cheap cooking wine". Rick
Read more
Babyeor wrote a review Oct 2020
Stowmarket, United Kingdom120 contributions37 helpful votes
+1
This has got to be the first place to make me feel so anxious. As the hotel closes at ten, if you want to go out to visit anybody, wee dog or anything, you have to wedge open the fire door and pray nobody closes it or your stuck out all night until 9.30. We booked breakfast nearby as hotel dont do breakfasts week days, again you have to go down the metal slippery fire escape. We had holes in our towels, broken shower and out of date hot choc in our room. The positive was it was clean and the cleaner was the most helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Hello. I'm so sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay in our little hotel, and most upset that you have already made your mind up about not returning. Firstly, The Peak Hotel closes at 12:30 unless required to close at ten by the government. The fire exit is opened by the room key as well as the side door. This was pointed out to you on check in. Unfortunately, as we are only a four bedroom Inn, it is not viable to offer a breakfast during the weekdays, this is reiterated by the low room rates that we have. I don't know how you got that towel, especially as we had a delivery not too long ago. I will make sure that it is taken out of circulation immediately. We haven't found the broken shower, maybe it would have been beneficial if you had told us of these little things whilst you were here so that we could have made things better for you. That way we would have an idea where to look. I am absolutely amazed that we were able to hold onto hot chocolate sachets long enough for them to go out of date. They're usually nicked well before this happens. Then again, I suppose the same could be said for the towels. Anyhow, Thank you for your feedback. Rick
Read more
Martin and Roz wrote a review Oct 2020
Hayfield, United Kingdom4 contributions4 helpful votes
Had a lovely pub meal in the Peak hotel with my husband on a Saturday evening. Lovely warm welcome. Very friendly staff, really helpful & great service. Food was good especially the desserts. Well worth a visit. Worth booking at busy times.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Hello. Thank you so much for such a positive review. I hope you can come and visit us again so that we can work on getting that extra point. Rick
Read more
jollyquest wrote a review Sep 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom60 contributions17 helpful votes
We would have liked to give 5 stars for our weekend stay at the Peak Hotel. The staff were friendly, great beer, and the cook was amazing. On a weekend when Castleton was packed the free parking was a welcome bonus. They have gone to a lot of trouble to make this a COVID-19 safe place. Sanitizer everywhere, tracking all who enter, one way system, spaced out tables. But unlike any other places we have visited indoors the staff DON’T wear any face masks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Hello. Firstly, thank you for your positive feedback regarding our high covid compliance. Having visited other places in the area, I'm sure you will have noticed that our premises rules are one of the strictest in the area. I can safely say, that from the very start of all this, our manager has followed the covid compliance guide right to the letter. No matter how ridiculous some of the rules appear, we have stuck to them like glue. As you will also be aware, now that it is safe to do so (in the catering industry), the waring of face coverings are completely mandatory. Thank you for your feedback. I hope you can come and see us again soon. Rick
Read more
Grum wrote a review Sep 2020
12 contributions2 helpful votes
Young Male member of staff was nice but my chicken and leek pie was very overcooked to the point I could have loaded into a trebuchet and used it to batter down the walls of the castle. To add insult to injury they tried to charge us for 4 extra drinks we didn't actually order. We will not be returning and suggest that people avoid this place also.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rick Ellison, Owner at The Peak Hotel
Responded 24 Oct 2020
Hello. Thank you for bothering to visit our special little pub. Well someone's been polishing up on their Game of Thrones lingo (or at least learning a new big word). Either way, well done. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal. I just wish you had have told us on the day so that we could have made it alright for you. It's a pet hate in the trade when we have dissatisfied customers that don't let us know when something is wrong. I'm sorry about the mistake where those drinks were put on the wrong tab. I'm told that the mistake rectified immediately. We really do care and have a genuine interest in making people into happy customers. Seeing as you have not allowed us to try and make it up to you and you have already decided not to return, I think we may as well leave it there. Thank you for your odd feedback. Rick
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$80 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the peaks hotel castleton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Peaks Inn
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkHope ValleyCastleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Peak Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Peak Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Peak Cavern (0.3 miles), Peveril Castle (0.3 miles), and Twin Peaks Outdoor Activities (0.10 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Peak Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Peak Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Peak Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Peak Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tilly's Of Castleton, The Ramblers Rest Coffee shop, and The George.
Is The Peak Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the centre of Castleton.
Are pets allowed at The Peak Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Peak Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thornbridge Hall Gardens (8.0 miles), Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (5.8 miles), and Eyam Plague Village Museum (5.6 miles).