We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good40%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(35 reviews)
“function room”(4 reviews)
“peak district”(21 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
60
61
22
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
60
61
22
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfunction roompeak districtold buildingtai chinext morningfood was served quicklymixed grillstayed for one nightevening mealnew ownersheated towel raillight sleeperdvd playerspent nightslovely villagecurry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted by pleasant staff on a busy friday evening and very quickly made to feel welcome. Add this the availabilty of a really good pint of Tetleys and I don't really want for more. We will be back to spend more time in...More

Thank Bob W
Response from Wendy C, Owner at The George InnResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words and we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. Best regards wendy & the team x

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Service was good and with a smile, but unfortunately the beef and chicken pies pies were not available. Food came quickly and was good. Nice quiet room and the 60s music was appropriate for most of our party!More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Wendy C, Owner at The George InnResponded 2 weeks ago

We apologise that the pies had sold out, they are very popular and this does happen from time to time. Glad you enjoyed your alternative and he music too. Look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in the village. Regards Wendy &...More

Reviewed 1 May 2018

We were greeted by a lovely, young and friendly lady who showed us up to our room. The room itself is really nice - it is modern and clean with all the amenities you require (hair dryer, wifi, dvd player and tv, decent sized wardrobe)....More

Thank Ca5pan1c
Response from Wendy C, Owner at The George InnResponded 8 May 2018

Hi, I do apologise about the heating, we did have a problem with the heating pump and Greeneking were notified and sent an engineer, which is why the heating did come on after his visit. We have recently decorated the building throughout, and have the...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018

Visited here during a short stay in Tideswell, it's one of just 2 pubs in this village. It was busy in the pub side but quiet on the restaurant side of the pub. Good service & food, would recommend the curry it was delicious.

Thank Julie M
Response from Wendy C, Owner at The George InnResponded 1 May 2018

Glad you enjoyed your meals. Always nice to get feedback. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Hope to see you again next time your are in the area. Regards

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

First time to Tideswell and first visit to the George inn . We booked a table over the phone and was greeted there by a friendly polite young lady. All are meals were spot on service again was great . Couldn’t fault the place and...More

Thank Jason C
Response from Wendy C, Owner at The George InnResponded 2 April 2018

That is such a nice review and we appreciate you taking the time to comment. 1st Class... it is an honour, thank you. We look forward to greeting you again. Regards Wendy & the team xx

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$90 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$90 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
FavershamHector
7 September 2017|
Answer
Response from SJWEN |
Yes, with kettle, hot chocolate sachets and 2 packs of biscuits.
0
Votes
Kazpaz
14 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Walb0 | Reviewed this property |
HI again try 01298 872840 I think that right known as the George Inn Mike
1
Vote
steve m
21 January 2016|
Answer
Response from OzzyHound | Reviewed this property |
Looking at their website its 01298871382
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 4 has 3 single beds, and looks onto the stained glass window of the Cathedral. It was bright and..."
Read review
"all rooms are good"
Read review
"I have not stayed I have only been for lunches"
Read review
"Don't stay on Fridays if you like sleep, or unless you love dodgy music + late nights."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing