We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The George Inn, Tideswell

Commercial Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8NU England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 inns in Tideswell
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Under New Management 2020. Rebecca & Rory welcome you to the George Inn. A traditional village pub and former 1780s coaching Inn. Our neighbour, the church next door is the Grade I listed St John the Baptist, also known as the “Cathedral of the Peak” because of its size and grandeur. You may hear it's bells ringing during your stay… don't worry too much they’re only every 15 minutes! Although the nearness of divinity has not stopped the George from being haunted, and at the dead of night the ghost of Old Sarah searching for her husband, has been seen in the pub. Sarah was a fifty-five year old Victorian barmaid whose husband went missing. She continues to search for him. One story suggests that her appearance during a party in the 1930s successfully scared all the guests away! If ghost hunting isn’t for you, then maybe some exploring instead. You are surrounded by the Peak District, where there are plenty of sightseeing opportunities and scenic walks around and we would be happy to help guide you as best as we can. We are only 5.1 miles from the ‘plague village' of Eyam, 7.8 miles from bakewell ( Although we must insist you try our Tidza pud, it definitely wins over a Bakewell pudding! ) 7.3 miles from Buxton and 10.6 miles from Haddon Hall, a little further but well worth a visit. As well as there being many other sight seeing opportunities around. We offer four Bed & Breakfast rooms, all with newly refurbished ( as of May 2022 ) en suite bathrooms. There are 2 double rooms, and 2 family rooms available ( Family room with a single and kingsize bed ). Travel cot also available on request. Each room has a smart tv, heater / air con, tea and coffee making facilities, complementary toiletries and hair dryer. Our room’s are generally quiet even though they are located above the pub. We mainly focus on our food offering, which means we are not a late night, noisy pub. We do host live music nights once a month and these are always listed don our website for you to see. You may notice some noise from the church bells during your stay, but of course this is out of our control. Here at the George we aim to provide professional, friendly and efficient service, quality home cooked food and a pleasant, relaxing stay. We will always go above and beyond to help our customers and guests in order to make your experience the best in the Peak District.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Darts
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Public wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Desk
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Commercial Road, Tideswell, Peak District National Park SK17 8NU England
The George Inn, Tideswell
102Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 17
  • 6
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Anthony B wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
We had a table booked for 4pm on Sunday and when receiving the Sunday Menu it had a choice of starters and deserts but the only choices on the mains were a Sunday roast. The online menu states on a Sunday the normal menu is available including roasts. Also on the menu it stated Sunday Specials were available but when we asked non were available. The beer was great but as they had run out of Beef it was only pork, chicken or Nut roast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The George Inn Tideswell, General Manager at The George Inn, Tideswell
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry we Didn't meet the service we hope to give everyone. With our weekend specials these are just for a weekend snd change all the time so we do occasionally run out of these. With our roast we were extremely busy earlier in the day and due to most our guest's having beefwe also did run out of this also. This isn't what we wanted and we have now planned on making sure we have aback upplan sp this doesn't happen again going forward We hope this doesn't put you off visiting us again and seeing we have corrected this going forward Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carol G wrote a review Jan 2024
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom20 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed at The George for 2 nights and had a really nice stay. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean with a well stocked welcome tray. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice and we ate at the pub on Friday night. Had a delicious steak and cottage pie. Staff were all really friendly and we'd definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The George Inn Tideswell, General Manager at The George Inn, Tideswell
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review, we are glad that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the food you had on Friday evening. We hope to see you again in the future
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sally H wrote a review Jan 2024
Coventry, United Kingdom1 contribution
I have never left a review before so hope I'm doing this right. I have had such a great day today that I felt that I need to spread the love a little. Me and my husband have just come back from a lovely day out in the peak district, had a nice walk and a lovely Sunday roast in the George Inn. We are now both stuffed and ready for bed! Let me tell you the Yorkshire puddings are the best I have ever had! The staff were all very welcoming from the moment we walked in. As some times in these little village establishments you can feel a little out of place. We sat on a little cosy table and ordered our food. I had the chilli chicken bites and the beef roast, whilst my husband opted for the soup and the chicken option. Food came out at a reasonable speed, was hot and absolutely delicious Would definitely recommend this little gem if your ever in the area. Thank you to the George for finishing off an already perfect day the way you did!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Top tip, get an extra Yorkie as they were amazing, oh and go hungry 😊
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The George Inn Tideswell, General Manager at The George Inn, Tideswell
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Hi Sally Thank you for taken the time to leave a review and we are so happy to hear that you had a lovely visit with us and enjoyed your dinner. We hope to see you again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Moodlidood wrote a review Dec 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom36 contributions7 helpful votes
We decided last minute to pop in for a Sunday lunch. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and we were seated straight away. The food was absolutely great. The pub and toilets were spotlessly clean. We really enjoyed our visit and will return soon! 😊
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The George Inn Tideswell, General Manager at The George Inn, Tideswell
Responded 7 Jan 2024
Hi Thank you for taken the time to leave a review, we appreciate this and are glad that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us. We hope to see you again soon Richard
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
MarvyGlasgow wrote a review Dec 2023
Glasgow6 contributions6 helpful votes
Really disappointing stay at The George Hotel. Arrived and checked into our room, the Bathroom sink hadn't been cleaned (soap and toothpaste around the basin). The bedding was covered in hair, stained and the 2 bottom pillows looked like they had been used previously without changing the pillowcase. I spoke to someone at the bar and we were moved to another room that was much cleaner. The TV does not receive a tv signal but is a smart tv although the internet wasn't working so we had no TV and no WiFi. Was looking forward to breakfast but unfortunately this was terrible. The toasted English muffin served with poached Egg's and wiltshire ham came served as a muffin with 1 poached egg and no ham. The cooked breakfast which is advertised as freshly cooked was awful, the sausage was inedible, scrambled eggs looked dreadful and the beans were cold. I asked to speak to the manager or chef and he apologised and said he "just cooks what hes given". On checkout i asked to speak to a manager but was told there wasn't one available, left my telephone number and asked for a call as i was not happy to have paid the full amount for the terrible experience and dreadful breakfast, unfortunately no one has called me back. On a positive note, the waitress working at breakfast was great, the hash brown and mushrooms on the breakfast were ok and the fan heater in the room was great to keep us warm at night. The best thing about staying in the George is its location, a lovely village and easy walking distance to The Star a fantastic pub with great food. I have tried all day to resolve this with management but they have failed to speak to me.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The George Inn Tideswell, General Manager at The George Inn, Tideswell
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Hi We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay but I first would like to say we have tried contacting you a number of times but I assume the signal isn't the best? With the room we changed room for you as your wife pointed out two small dots on a bed sheet was the issue? as I came to your room and seen this myself, we have spoken to our laundry company and pointed this out to then, we also apologise for this. With the breakfast I can only apologise that you didn't enjoy it and I've spoken to the chef and addressed this (may be if you speak to people in a nicer manner they will help you much better) instead of being aggressive and very rude. With the WiFi as we informed you we had some electrical issues and this was taken out of our control. We appreciate your feedback
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Caine Houldsworth wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited The George for lunch it was not good. Ordered the chicken bites starter this tasted like fish, must have been fried with fish. The main's were no better with the burger being raw, had one bite and sent it back. It took around a hour and half for our food to arrive which is ridiculous. All in all not good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The George Inn Tideswell, General Manager at The George Inn, Tideswell
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Hi We are so sorry to hear that we haven't given the service that we always try to deliver to all our guest. We have looked into your issues and spoken to the team to make sure all these areas are improved on and never happen again going forward We do hope you come back and give us a try and see that we have improved.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
christina g wrote a review Nov 2023
San Mauro Pascoli, Italy41 contributions12 helpful votes
Very clean, in the bedroom there were also excellent tea and coffee, many towels and good toilette products. Breakfast large and we'll presented, very good. Restaurant in the evening brilliant, small menu but very good food. Large private car park. Above all I was welcome by Chris who was very professional, kind and helpful. He made me feel at home and made my staying more pleasant. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There are other villages around like Hope, which really worth to be seen. Night is silent, far...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paul N wrote a review Nov 2023
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Very welcoming pub with a good choice of food, Sea Bass was a particular highlight with my wife, and the Cheese burger also good. A live band were there on the night we were there which added to a good evening
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Carl wrote a review Oct 2023
Buxton, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
I would like to thank all of the staff at the George Inn for a wonderful, relaxed time on 7 October, my girlfriends birthday. We both indulged in Chefs finest work of the tomato and pepper soup of the day, the bread roll was amazing, and the chicken and leek pie of the day. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Our stay was brilliant and will return soon. Thank you so much.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
DIANE L wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
Called in for a Sunday Roast and wasn’t disappointed. Seated and orders taken promptly by friendly staff. The food came out quickly and portions enormous. On top of the already generous serving of delicious roast beef, roast spuds, mash and veg was red cabbage and cauliflower cheese. All really tasty and with the exception of some of the cauliflower cheese being a tad too al dente all was very well cooked. Would certainly pop in again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tideswell area.
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPeak District National ParkTideswell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GEORGE INN, TIDESWELL - Updated 2024 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The George Inn, Tideswell
Which popular attractions are close to The George Inn, Tideswell?
Nearby attractions include The Cathedral of the Peak (0.03 miles), Peak Volumes (0.10 miles), and The Star Inn, Tideswell (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The George Inn, Tideswell?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The George Inn, Tideswell?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The George Inn, Tideswell?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The George Inn, Tideswell?
Conveniently located restaurants include Star Inn, Tideswell Lounge, and The Anchor Inn.
Is The George Inn, Tideswell located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the centre of Tideswell.
Are pets allowed at The George Inn, Tideswell?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The George Inn, Tideswell?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Eyam Parish Church of St Lawrence (4.0 miles), Eyam Museum (3.9 miles), and Eyam Hall & Courtyard (3.9 miles).