We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hoste

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hoste
The Hoste
Panoramas (37)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,247: English reviews
Start your review of The Hoste
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room excellent, service very good but food over rated and vastly over priced. Crab starter tasteless, pate starter tasteless, duck main course tough and meat unevenly cooked. £24 for two small pieces of tough duck breast - grossly overpriced. Chips stodgy, not crisp. Staying in the hotel but wouldn't have an evening meal here again. Complained to the manager at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GIB1950
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear GIB1950 Thank you for your feedback. We would be grateful to have the opportunity to discuss it further. Please contact me at your convenience on 01328 738777. Kind regards James Sanders Operations Manager

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It would be difficult to find a hotel anywhere else in a country location that could provide this high standard of service and accommodation. The staff are excellent and food was of a very high standard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony377
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear anthony377 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Hoste and we all appreciate your kind words. Delighted you have enjoyed our welcome and new menu and hopefully we shall have the pleasure of you return visit. Best wishes Martin

england
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited at the end of March with my Mum as a treat for my 21st Birthday. We were upgraded to your superior twin room and it was amazing. The bathroom was beautiful and the room was lovely and spacious. We ate at the restaurant on our first night and the food was delicious! The staff were incredibly friendly and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanabana
Martin D, Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear Hanabana Thank you for your lovely review and happy to learn that you have been well looked after at The Hoste for your birthday celebration. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Martin De Sousa

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at the Hoste before, I took my partner for a two night break. We stayed in a Luxury Double, which was lovely. Cannot fault the friendliness of the staff. However, the hotel was aware that it was a birthday, as it was mentioned when we checked in. We booked dinner for two nights in advance in the main...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevinfE5399DA
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear kevinE5399DA Thank you for your review and for choosing to celebrate your partner’s birthday at The Hoste. With both restaurants being so popular and in order to ensure that you receive the best possible experience, we are not able to guarantee any requests for specific areas or tables. However, I am glad we have accommodated your request and allocated...

Uppermill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night, wish it could have been longer! That staff were so polite and helpful, full marks to the management for their training. The food was delicious and the room very comfortable and well appointed. If we were in the area again we would definitely stay there!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear Janet K Thank you for your review and for your lovely comments which have been shared with the team. Our new freshly prepared and locally sourced menu has been well received by the large majority of our patrons and thank you for noticing the efforts made regarding the constant training of our team so we can keep being the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at the Hoste before and it was fantastic so was keen to go back. This time we tried out the railway house which is a short drive from the main buildings. As you might expect, it feels quite disjointed, we arrived there first but were sent to the main house to check in, all your meals are at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank londoncityeats
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear Londoncityeats, Thank you for review and we appreciate the choice of property comes down to personal preference as The Hoste Boutique Hotels are comprised of six individual properties, all of which are situated in the village. The original boutique hotel, The Hoste, sits within an historic building dating back to the 16th century, overlooking the village green. The Hoste...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed early April. Nice hotel in nice location. Bed comfy. Paid £25 for room upgrade but not really sure what we would have got if we hadn't taken upgrade. Might be worth asking to see both rooms. Evening meal in restaurant was fair at best. Serving staff were good but the food wasn't particularly. One of us had the special...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Fiona C
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear Fiona C Thank you for comprehensive review and we are disappointed in learning of your views and that your experience did not match the many others received complementing our good quality of food and service standard received during their stay at The Hoste. However, we appreciate your constructive criticism and look forward to possibly welcoming you back in the...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 1 night in the Railway House which was excellent. Quiet and peaceful well stocked with tea and coffee and water and above average toiletries.Communal lounge well decorated and outside tables if you wanted them.Continental breakfast in the hotel could not be faulted and I found all the staff friendly and helpful. We were offered an upgrade but did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathant621
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear jonathan621 Thank you for your honest review and I am delighted you have enjoyed the quirkiness of our Station House rooms, as well as the extensive full inclusive Hoste continental buffet breakfast. It is a shame that you did not have chance to dine with us on this occasion. However, as you live locally I am sure we shall...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

celebrating a special birthday, we had a great time. The room was lovely and the lovely touch of birthday card and chocolates on arrival in room. All staff were helpful and really welcoming. It was great that we could take our dog!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulasquance
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear paulasquance, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us and I’m delighted that we made it a little bit extra special. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Martin De Sousa

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amy and Jane in reception and Joe the barman were all brilliant. Our room was lovely but the furniture and decoration needs improving. The only downside for us is that although the Hotel is dog friendly we had to sit quite a distance from the breakfast area so were. going backwards and forwards This was not very relaxing or convenient...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkmoore1
Martin D, General Manager at The Hoste, responded to this review

Dear kkmoore1 Thank you for your review and for the lovely comment regarding our team members. We constantly review and maintain our rooms including the furniture and have shared your comments with our senior management team so we can ensure this situation is rectified. Thank you for appreciating that despite being a dog friendly hotel with designated bedrooms we also...

447 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (185)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (67)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (230)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (23)
Viewed
JuniorSuite (32)
Viewed
Junior Suite, Historic Wing (31)
Viewed
Luxury Divine Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham Market
4.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
750 reviews
9.7 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
831 reviews
14.1 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
642 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
545 reviews
24.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hoste staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hoste staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay at the main Hoste not the Railway House.”
londoncityeats, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Railway House is secluded with parking and very pleasant”
jonathant621, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Difficult to say as only used one but Classic rooms were small and Executive ill lit.”
4peterw4, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 23 was excellent, on the ground floor, close to the car park and all facilities were excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful without being obtrusive we had a great stay and will visit again.”
Fran279, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the Railway House”
OctaviaH_13, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5