We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Orange Tree

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Orange Tree
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 369: English reviews
Cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We recently had a 3 night stay at the orange tree had a room in the Old Bakery which was very comfortable. The shower was excellent but the bathroom itself a bit small. The breakfasts were brilliant with such an amazing choice. We had dinner each night which was also very good.

Helpful?
Thank lizzieCambridge
Northern England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky enough to be allowed to stay overnight in our Motorhome in the car park. The pub is lovely, with really good real ales and very good food. Some good walks along the coast from the pub too. The only thing I'd say is that the food is much more "restaurant" than pub, and is therefore more expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Macandcath
Flitton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with The Orange Tree for a weekend in their accommodation in the Old Bakery. The accommodation was a very good standard, although we could have done with a side table on both sides of the bed. The graciousness and welcome from the staff was what really made our stay, with even the host running us down the road in... More 

Helpful?
Thank sallyonline
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having booked a room at The Orange tree to stay overnight and have supper we were very disappointed with the family room in the courtyard section. Lovely large bed but could just about get round it with the ensuite bathroom squeezed in the corner. No hooks to hang coats/clothes or space to put bags down comfortably. Fortunately we had booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phatlove
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the orange tree one night over the weekend and was very disappointed with our room ( no space for a wardrobe or to walk round the bed comfortably) . We had booked a larger family room for 2 of us. Wifi didn't work in the room, and couldn't resolve this after a couple of calls to reception. Stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidpZ2889QN
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this as a surprise for my husband's birthday as he loves the area. When I rang to book I was given the option of a suite which I thought would make our stay extra special, the only slight disappointment of the whole stay was to find on arrival that the lounge area was shared - lovely if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenni R
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Staying in Thornham for a few days, we decided to give some of the local gastro pubs a try for a meal., in Thornham and the nearby Holme. We had heard from friends who had stayed in Thornham a few times that we would probably find The Orange Tree the best. Having had a look at the current menu when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hawthorn37
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We had booked in for 4 nights and our relatives had confirmation by email from the hotel.0n the second evening we returned to the hotel to find that our rooms had been given to other guests ,all our belongings had been packed untidily by hotel staff and moved to a storeroom .When we complained to the manager he told us... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Stesid
TheOrangeTree_10, Owner at The Orange Tree, responded to this review

Hello Stesid. Genuinely, I am very sorry for what happened to you. However, as I tried to explain sensitively at the time, I am afraid the error was not ours. You could not have booked for four nights; the rooms you were in were staying in on the 3rd and 4th night were already booked when you made your original... More 

Stowupland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

North Norfolk, Just lovely. Fantastic beaches, we keep going back. The Orange Tree has 10 rooms. I think we got the smallest so check if booking. Generally the room was a bit tired but it was the end of a busy season. Shower could do with a refresh and the bed was not the most comfortable. Staff were very friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
provence
Level Contributor
103 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Warm welcome at this nice country pub with rooms. The dog friendly rooms are a little on the small side facing the main road but with a pleasant little sitting area just outside. It seemed to us that most people had at least one dog with them so if you don't like dogs you might want to look elsewhere The... More 

Helpful?
Thank boucheboy

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham
6.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
1,147 reviews
1.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
497 reviews
2.9 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
759 reviews
4.5 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Orange Tree

Address: High Street, Thornham PE36 6LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thornham
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orange Tree 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Orange Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orange Tree Hotel Thornham
The Orange Tree Thornham, Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Orange Tree staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Orange Tree staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check room size and location - some will be better than others”
 of 5 bubbles 930ChrisB930, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would look around the area”
 of 5 bubbles K5210PWrichardm, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Old Bakery rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles MandBandRuby, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose bakery rooms if quiet is a priority, but ordinary rooms are good with nice outdoor seating in summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles annedhale, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“Stay in The Bakery if you like it quieter away from the pub.”
 of 5 bubbles 356SusanA356, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay