We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Base Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 448: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at Base for 2 nights while I was visiting Magnetic Island. Great location right on the beach, awesome and friendly staff (especially Jay), overall it was our best hostel experience yet on the East Coast! Jay took my friend and I on a tour to see koalas and wallabies which was awesome!! He also took us to West...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candice M
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Candice M! Awesome review and thanks for taking the time out of your travels to do so. Our location is pretty special and together with our amazing staff it makes it hard for guests to leave us! I'll pass on the high praise to Jay and shout him a few JD's. Safe travels and all the best, Jamie

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at Base Backpackers for 2 nights. I hiked Fortswalk and went around Horseshoe Bay. Later Jayson offered my friend and I to see Koalas. Best tour guide in town!!! Honestly better than if we paid for a tour or to go to the Koala sanctuary. We saw 3-4 koalas and got awesome pictures, we then went to an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariel_gaf
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day ariel_gaf, We've got some pretty strange and wonderful wildlife on the island which is always good to see but when you've got your own personal tour guide it makes it that little bit more special. Jay's always on hand to help and its amazing he takes the time out of his day to do so. I'll make sure he...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The location is incredible, great view. The vibe was brilliant you could be as involved as you want with cheap Drinks and food. Very friendly staff especially the new guy behind the bar. Exceptional! The huts were beautiful and such a unique experience... only gave them a 4 because our hut leaked during the massive...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sophie P
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'day Sophie P! Thanks for the amazing review. We really work on getting the vibe right for the diverse range of people we have come through our doors 365 days a year so its awesome you loved that aspect of our hostel. Our staff make this place very special and also very hard to leave and it looks like they've...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Probably one of the most fun hostels I've stayed at around the world. Perfect location, staff became our friends and one hell of a good time. Stayed over my birthday and all the workers made sure we celebrated it the right way. Boozy bingo is a must. Your liver will never forgive you. We're already having island withdrawals

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra G
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

WOAH SANDRA G! First of all, thanks for taking the time out of your travels to right such an incredible review. Our staff always try and create the right atmosphere and get everyone involved so its awesome to hear their hard work is paying off. Boozy bingo is my fave too! Island withdrawals are very common, make sure you come...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here having travelled up the East Coast and wish I'd never bothered. What started as a really good time ended up as a total upset. I stayed here with a group of people who I had met on the East Coast and the final night was a disaster. We had to split our group up over two hostels as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsten P
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Kirsten P It's good you enjoyed our Boozy Bingo but its such a shame this was over shadowed by the actions of a staff member. I'm really sorry to hear that one staff member ruined your trip over to Magnetic Island. I'd really like to get to the bottom of this situation so i'd like you to email me...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the best XBase hostel I have ever stayed at! Reception were pretty helpful, and gave us tons of vouchers to use during our stay, such as $8 breakfast, $10 dinner, free welcome drink and also free snorkel hire. For those who arrive early or depart later than check out time, they have a luggage storage room for you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser2290
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day Kaiser, This is an amazing review so thanks for taking the time out to give us such applause! We try and think of every little thing that would make your life easier while staying with us and it looks like we are starting to make that happen! The showers and nightly entertainment are definitely one of my favourite perks...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As an older guest I was worried that staying in a hostel would not suit me but my worries were unfounded and my stay of 3 nights went really well. Stayed in one of the double rooms right by the sea so woke to a beautiful sunrise each day! Room was basic but clean and all facilities worked well. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SWOOZ186258
BASEMagnetic, General Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'day Swooz186258, Thanks for the awesome review, We are defiantly lucky to wake up to this view everyday and so glad you got to experience what we have to offer, and even luckier to be here for turtle nesting season. Hopefully next time you return you can be here for the hatching periods :) Cheers Jack

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night as part of the Oz Experience package and wish we'd stayed longer! The dorm rooms were clean and comfortable, ours faced right out into the ocean. The pool and pool area is fantastic to swim or just to chill with a book. Bar was great, reasonable prices with lots of deals for food and drink. They hold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimiblay
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'Day mimiblay! I don't blame you for wanting to stay longer! It's a slice of paradise that can pull on the heart strings. Our bungalow huts offer some fantastic views over the main land. I'm glad you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer and got a little taste of the awesome nightlife! How good is bingo? You're welcome back...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wrote a review of Magnetic Xbase back in Jun16. I returned to Magnetic Xbase in Nov16 and it was so good, that I thought I would write another review. The weather was warmer (30 - 33c), but as Xbase is next to the beach, there was a lovely sea breeze most of the time. Magnetic Xbase has a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mc3192n
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey mc3192n, We are over the moon you decided to come back and visit and still loved the things we do here. Our staff work around the clock to ensure we keep the place up to the standards we've created. So it's always good to hear positive feedback! Thanks for the awesome review Peter! I'm sure we'll be seeing you...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hostel i have ever stayed in!! Will not be recommending this place to anybody. The staff were very very rude to me and my partner. We wasn't welcomed properly. While waiting for food, i saw the chef licking he's fingers. Waited at the bar to be served for 10 minutes before deciding to walk off as the barman was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mentesh T
BASEMagnetic, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers, responded to this review

G'day there Mentesh T! We really appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. I am incredibly surprised that you had such terrible stay with us. I would like it if you could email me with more details regarding the rude staff members - we take this incredibly seriously as we understand that staff members can ruin an...

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:20
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnetic Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Arcadia Village Motel
Arcadia Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Arcadia
219 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sails On Horseshoe
Sails On Horseshoe
#4 of 6 in Magnetic Island
100 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
Bungalow Bay Koala Village
#2 of 17 in Magnetic Island
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arcadia Beach Guest House
Arcadia Beach Guest House
#2 of 8 in Magnetic Island
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
Peppers Blue On Blue Resort
#2 of 6 in Magnetic Island
793 reviews
0.8 mi away
CStay
CStay
#1 of 17 in Magnetic Island
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Magnetic Island is a must do on any East Coast trip - in fact it's a destination holiday in its own right, especially as the only backpackers in Australia with 100% beach frontage. Boasting on average, more than 320 days of sunshine per year, Magnetic Island is the ultimate tropical adventure for anyone looking for something special Spend your days sipping a cocktail in the sun by the pool, spotting koalas from North Australia's largest wild Koala population or learning to dive at our on site SCUBA facility. From lazy days on the beach directly in front of the property to heaving parties of over 4,000 people for our Full Moon Down Under events - Base Backpackers has something for everyone. From ocean front en-suite private cabins - to shaded camping grounds and everything in-between, we've got an on site travel shop, cafe, restaurant and party bar and a team of staff that are willing to help in any way we can. Come stay and play in one of Australia's premier backpackers, on beautiful Magnetic Island. Getting here: Catch the SealinkQLD ferry transfer from Townsville to Nelly Bay, then it is a short ride on the Public Bus heading towards 'Picnic Bay' the bus stop is out the front of our property ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Backpackers

Address: 1 Nelly Bay Road, Magnetic Island, Queensland 4819, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Magnetic Island
Price Range: £37 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Base Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Hotel Magnetic Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms by the sea are definitely the places to stay in. A real room with a view!!”
 of 5 bubbles SWOOZ186258, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“far from the reception, front row”
 of 5 bubbles Bbthequeen, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a beach hut at the front near the end!”
 of 5 bubbles loveshotels4, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“try for ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles r0bynb23, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think they are all shared dorms from memory, but very rustic A frames, right on the beach and bus stop...”
 of 5 bubbles StealthyTraveller, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay