We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

PricelineUS$86*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$92*
US$86*
Great Deal
US$90*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 674: English reviews
Start your review of Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
 Click to rate
Innisfail, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The main part of the hotel looks nice but the rainforest area looks considerably older, the pool was nice but the bathroom in the rainforest rooms was really disappointing. I believe there is better value and more modern rooms in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank david_shorten
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi David_Shorten, Thanks for your comments. Our Rainforest Property is a little older than our Beachfront Property; we completed a renovation of the Beachfront property in 2010, however we only purchased the Rainforest Property (previously Mackays Motel) in June 2015 and not yet renovated these rooms, to allow us to keep the lower price-point available. Considering that all guests have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at Castaways in late March. We were lucky enough to get a room on the top (third) floor which had a balcony and great view of the beach. The room itself was clean, spacious and had all the basic amenities you'd expect. Didn't actually go in the pool but it looked nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sir_Rancelot
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi Sir Rancelot, Thank you for your review and thanks for choosing Castaways Resort & Spa for your stay in Mission Beach! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again for your next relaxing escape. Happy Travels!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here a couple of months ago with the kids for lunch, called before booking and asked to see if is it ok for our 4 girls (2 families) could have a swim while we ate, no trouble we were told, it was so lovely that we stayed and had a few cocktail and friends of ours (guests of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VLIrvine
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear VLIrvine, Thank you for your feedback, however I believe that your title ""Money Hungry Grubs" is ill-informed, insulting, defamatory and I do beg to differ. Our pool is reserved for our in-house guests only and our policy is standard for all guests, whether spending $6 or $600. I do however apologize if you were told otherwise over the phone...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room in desperate need of updating..mould on tiles/silicone peeling from around bath from a quick fix. Laminate cupboards/desk peeling...quite a bit more could be written...Overall not worth the money paid. A letter of complaint was sent to manager outlining all that was wrong and how disappointed we were...no response whatsover! Only plus of this "resort" would be the friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imagine692017
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Hi imagine 692017, I'm sorry about your recent experiences here at our resort and thank you for highlighting some observations from your stay with us. I apologize, I'm not sure when you sent your letter, but I have not yet received it - when I do I will be sure to respond, as all feedback it of the utmost importance...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The family room was clean, cozy and comfortable. Nice pool, lovely beach and great views of the ocean. We really loved the atmosphere of the place. The restaurant served delicious meals. The staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, a lovely hotel in a lovely spot and we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veronika V
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Thank you Veronika, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe Travels!

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertJohn59
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kreuzband-Tom
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Purdy G
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Malaga, Spain
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andiamo2017
Jasmine P, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

383 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (150)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
250 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Mission Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#4 of 11 in Mission Beach
78 reviews
4.3 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great view from the third (top) floor.”
Sir_Rancelot, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a beachfront room with pool access!”
, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront Balcony Room”
Solarpowered_12, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Third floor room with balcony is best for sea and beach view”
brianwR6658FB, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room with a Ocean view do not book in the rain forest area.”
CocotheClown2015, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$86* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$90
Hotels.comUS$90
ElvolineUS$92
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates