We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney
 Click to rate
Nuriootpa, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had our own caravan and because I made it known that was our first trip,I accepted the staff's offer to put my van in the lakeside berth as I probably would of ended in the lake. We found the toilets and shower facilities were spot on In general the park was quite layback for us being pensioners but you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cruzin310
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're happy to hear you appreciated the facilities and enjoyed the site. Thank you for your review!

Aust
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed the week before Christmas had a great time. Facilities were clean and had great showers always a plus. New shower toilet block opened day after we left. Lake views were amazing fantastic location. Sites not level but with a little twirking here and there we worked it out. Staff very friendly. Fantastic location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddie77
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you had a pleasant getaway at our park - enjoying our facilities, views and customer service. Thank you for the review, Freddie.

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Been coming for more than 30 years. Park has been improved and nice to see plenty of tourists back. Cabins need some work. Appliances broken and aircon filters clogged. Facility very tired. Cutlery sparse so needed to buy. But beautiful Barmera just gets better. A must stay. Murray River my favourite place in the world.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruceStirling
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear you continue to return to our park after three decades, Bruce! Thank you for sharing your feedback of our little oasis on the Murray.

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

$1400 for Deluxe cabin beds not made got told occupational safety issue cabin not very clean asked for more clean towels got told would bring them to us never did .oven was dirty sand in shower.got told over phone I could have my dog then got spoken to like crap by Management that dogs were not allowed at deluxe cabins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the accommodation and your experience with our staff. To discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We had a fabulous time camping with our little girl. Great facilities including equipment hire and wonderful amenities that are very family friendly. Campsite was clean and free of rubbish which was very encouraging. Staff were very friendly on arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee E
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that you were well accommodated for at our park and that your family enjoyed camping on our sites! Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you have the chance to return, Renee.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2016

This caravan park hasn't really kept up with the times. The toilet blocks and showers need updating, and regular cleaning. The swimming pool isn't big enough for the amount of campers. The shop is poor, a few drinks a couple of ice-creams, and it closes at 5:30pm, it could be really good if it did coffee, and stocked a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayo T
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the pool, the kiosk and some aspects of our customer service. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for your review, Ayo.

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

I will be honest, this isn't the newest and fanciest caravan park, however it is very clean and well presented. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The water trampolines were great, the view of lake Bonney was gorgeous, my kids loved the pool. The prices are very competitive. Would highly recommend this caravan for families on a budget and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're pleased to hear your family had a happy and enjoyable stay at our park. Thank you for your review, Amy!

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Was one of the worst stays in a park. First we where crammed in like sardines to sites. It was australia day long weekend 2015 when we stayed. (You could hear the next site snoring at night). Other Tennant didnt care about being in close proximity up to all hours partying, screaming, loud fow mouths drinking to 4am in morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Packie01
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the noise level and ants at our park. Please be assured your feedback will be addressed with the team. At this stage, we are currently going through an upgrade of our amenities block in order to improve the in-park experience for our guests. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact...

Kadina, Australia
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Last week my wife and I plus the ever present Golden Retriever ventured down to Barmera for a short break in our caravan. We found the Lake Bonney Top Tourist Discovery Park to be just what we needed for a relaxing break. The staff were friendly and helpfull and we were able to choose a site close to the lake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

How perfect! A glass of wine, the views, and an opportunity to really relax. We're happy to hear we were able to provide this experience for you and we hope you are able to return for a getaway to the lake. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for recommending our park.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We were not told the cabin we had booked 8 months prior to our stay was not available so they had moved us to another type of unit, (extremely dirty and not maintained) and did not inform us until we checked in.We had previously stayed in the superior parkland cabin and had no trouble. It was clean and nice, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tri2357
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with our level of maintenance and customer service. Your feedback will be addressed with the team, as we appreciate the feedback we receive from guests in order to further improve our in-park experience. To discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for your review.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmera
1.0 mi away
Barmera Country Club
Barmera Country Club
#1 of 2 in Barmera
73 reviews
8.9 mi away
Berri Hotel
Berri Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berri
200 reviews
17.8 mi away
Renmark Hotel
Renmark Hotel
#1 of 5 in Renmark
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barmera Lake Resort Motel
9.8 mi away
Berri Riverside Caravan Park
18.2 mi away
BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney

Address: Lakeside Avenue, Barmera, South Australia 5345, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Barmera
Price Range: £43 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Once book, call and make sure they are not going to move you, without telling you.”
  • Dust on top of the wardrobes in the bedrooms, with a broken coat hanger left up there.
  • Dust clumps that have blown out of the air conditioner located above the kitchen bench.
  • Someones dirty baby's jumpsuit left in the wardrobe.
 of 5 bubbles tri2357, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Two bedroom is a great option for a family as the budget option has the double bed in the kitchen/lounge room, ...no privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles paulmG1387BC, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We camped on the lake foreshore with great views”
 of 5 bubbles leor634, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Choose room on budget, high end is very new and really nice, mid range is older but very clean and suit the purpose”
 of 5 bubbles christopherb567, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Check the website for options”
 of 5 bubbles ianp593, 16 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5