We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilpena Pound Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wilpena Pound Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 427: English reviews
Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Safari tents and thought they were very good. Booked through Wotif and got a cheaper price than booking directly, although we probably got the worst view of any of the safari tents - #13. Tent was well appointed, with tea and coffee making facilities and fridge. Great bed and good bathroom. It was everything that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hen302
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was a complete let down. The owners of this place only care about $$$$. So prepare to keep putting your hand in your pocket for something that is not worth it. Firstly for myself, the food was a complete disgrace. Secondly all the hot spots you will need either 4WD or to go on a tour (which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlemissgiggles379
Brisbane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Suite 58 - one of the 'luxury Heysen Suites' with the luxury price of $310 per night. Sadly the name is where the luxury stopped. I wrote a detailed letter to management - they chose not to acknoweldge or respond to the issues I raised so I guess its only fair to warn fellow travellers. Our suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok, this is in a national park and you have no other option. But even with this monopoly, I do expect to have at very least a clean room. 233 AUD per night is way to expensive. No WLAN at all. Average food in the restaurant. I would definitely come back because of the wonderful location. But I would as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KlausBaerbel2014
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed at the safari tents before and while we didn't feel they were excellent value for money, it was enough of a unique experience to return for a longer stay 18months later. On this trip we were very disappointed in both service and value for money - we paid $330 per night for quite shabby accomm and poor service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lucky enough to stay in one of the Safari tents. Lovely to wake up surrounded by nature, while enjoying a level of comfort, glamping style!! Lots of great walks and food available in the restaurant was enjoyed, particularly the buffet breakfasts. Agree though that the resort is looking a little tired and requires refurbishment. Cleanliness standards were also very average,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was a fantastic place to visit, the accomodation in the glancing tents were really great. The restaurant was not fantastic but ok. Accomodation 4stars meals 2.5 stars. The best part was the flight around the flinders ranges, for $299 per person it is so worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
Melbourne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another place off the bucket list. Worth visiting particularly if you are a walker. Staff varied from the excellent to mediocre. Breakfast was very good buffet style. Rooms were a decent size and were comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HelMelMelbourne
GM-WilpenaPound, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Good to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. It is certainly our hope that you will be visiting us again. Sincerely.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Bit of a disappointment considering the price charged - first issue was the frosted up fridge - fixed, second issue was replacing bulb in bedside lamp - fixed, third issue heaps of dead bugs lying on floor around windows - fixed, fourth issue was Channel 9 breakfast show advertising rooms for $130 a night and not the $230 a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wallyvicig
GM-WilpenaPound, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and regret you faced some issues. However, we are happy to have attended to most of them during your stay. We hope you will be giving us another opportunity to host you in the future. Sincerely.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had 3 nights in an Edeowie Unit. Self contained, with a bath - which was appreciated after walking! Unit 73 was perfect as it was far enough away from Restaurant not have people walking past the large wall windows. A good feel of being in the bush. The menu was same each night - variation would make it more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vari B
GM-WilpenaPound, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and glad to read your feedback. We are happy to have made your trip an enjoyable one and hope to see you again. Thanks again and regards.

198 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
364 reviews
14.5 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
54 reviews
17.1 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wilpena Pound Resort is the only accommodation in Ikara Flinders Ranges National Park. All rooms are non-smoking. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples while the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger and suitable for families or people needing extra space. Some rooms offer cooking facilities. All rooms are en-suite, have TV, mini fridge, air-conditioning, tea/coffee tray. On site restaurant serving hot meals, bar and bistro. Resort also offers Ikara Safari tents for a great glamping experience as well as powered and unpowered sites for camping. An on site store sells supplies and a visitors center to advise on information about the area and guided walking as well as 4WD tours. Air Wilpena at our private air strip, takes you on air safaris around Flinders ranges and Lake Eyre. RESORT RECEPTION HOURS ARE 7AM TO 6PM DAILY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range: £92 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wilpena Pound Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Wilpena Pound Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the normal rooms, wouldn't waste $$$ on the glamping.”
 of 5 bubbles littlemissgiggles379, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Would recommend staying in the safari tents. Beautiful to wake up in nature with a little comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles karencM2204WV, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms further away from reception, facing sunrise as by afternoon rooms could be warm with so much glass.”
 of 5 bubbles varib, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“don't waste money for a tent”
 of 5 bubbles mitchl442, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There was no choice of rooms so had to take the one alloted”
 of 5 bubbles joanm770, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay