We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hawker Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawker
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Hawker Motel
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

It is always great to stay in this Hotel when doing a tour of the Flinders. While it may not be the best place around, the atmosphere of an evening in the dining room / bar adds to the experience, and makes it all enjoyable. The rooms here are standard Motor Inn rooms, with a few creature comforts. Nothing special,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We won a travel auction and were allocated to a standard room. This is an accurate description - standard! The room was roomy, clean and well lit. A microwave oven was provided but no plates or cutlery. Fortunately we travel with our own folding cutlery and melamine plates. However, all electrical appliances worked well. Room service consisted of two water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachmaninov3
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We pulled into Hawker on the afternoon of the Bathurst race and headed to the pub to watch the last hour or so. We found the staff friendly and we quite enjoyed ourselves. We returned later for dinner where we dined on honest pub fare. Good, friendly service combined with tasty food saw us return the following evening which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobk924
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We have called in to this pub on a few occasions and this is the first time when have been disappointed..................we didn't stay in the rooms because the atmosphere when walking into the pub was awful. The barmaid Megan was quite cold and when we asked what beer they had on tap the answer was "we only have bottles"......she then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dillydream22
Mount Barker, Australia
Reviewed 26 July 2016

As per the title, typical country pub with standard country pub food. We didn't stay here - just had a meal. Layout of the pub wasn't particularly user friendly and the dining room was quite noisy due to a rattly 1970s/1980s air conditioner - quite thankful it was on though as quite cold outside. No entrees or desserts but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We only had dinner but enjoyed it, the service was friendly and being July we were warm but ate in the bar because the air cond in the dining room was noisy. The meal was good pub food not flash but good when you just need a feed in or around the Flinders.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

A standard room but nice given the location. We were accepted as a last minute booking and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was simple but adequate. Warm and friendly environment. Laundry facilities were helpful too. I'd recommend if you want a night away from camping!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robboj21
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Attended here for dinner one Saturday evening. The décor is dated. There was one barmaid serving the front bar, lounge & taking meal orders, plus making coffees. She was friendly & informative about what was on the menu. I ordered a rump steak with vegetables & mash then sat at the only table that was free which had some dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ray F
Ardrossan, Australia
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Having 'won' the Hawker Hotel/Motel in the Travel Auction we (my wife and I) looked forward to a weekend break. We found the weekend to be restful only spoilt by the accommodation. We were housed in the 'old' part of the Motel accommodation, probably due to the fact that we had won this in the auction, and not in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yorkie_Smith
hejuhawker, Manager at Hawker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hawker Hotel. So sorry that your stay was not up to your standards. We try our hardest to accommodate all requests from our guests. Obviously we did not try hard enough with you. I would like to take this opportunity to address your points. 1) We don't have an 'Old' part of...

Mission Beach, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We are used to outback travelling so didn't expect too much - just looking for a clean room and a feed and we got it. The motel is really the pub with a few motel style rooms out back. The pub is a typical country pub and as usual staffed by back packers which takes away from the authenticity of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawker
19.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
1.5 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
58 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hawker Motel

Address: 80 Elder Terrace, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawker Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms on the west side have got great sunrise views”
 of 5 bubbles V1037LCstevew, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Look around at other places in Hawker.”
 of 5 bubbles Rachmaninov3, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkie_Smith, 7 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay in Hawker.”
 of 5 bubbles merrilynf2014, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Cant help you here, close to the Hotel maybe.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenC799, 26 Apr 2013 | Read review
5 of 5