We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hawker Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawker
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hawker Motel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 26: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We won a travel auction and were allocated to a standard room. This is an accurate description - standard! The room was roomy, clean and well lit. A microwave oven was provided but no plates or cutlery. Fortunately we travel with our own folding cutlery and melamine plates. However, all electrical appliances worked well. Room service consisted of two water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachmaninov3
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We pulled into Hawker on the afternoon of the Bathurst race and headed to the pub to watch the last hour or so. We found the staff friendly and we quite enjoyed ourselves. We returned later for dinner where we dined on honest pub fare. Good, friendly service combined with tasty food saw us return the following evening which we... More 

Helpful?
Thank bobk924
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We have called in to this pub on a few occasions and this is the first time when have been disappointed..................we didn't stay in the rooms because the atmosphere when walking into the pub was awful. The barmaid Megan was quite cold and when we asked what beer they had on tap the answer was "we only have bottles"......she then... More 

Helpful?
Thank dillydream22
Mount Barker, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

As per the title, typical country pub with standard country pub food. We didn't stay here - just had a meal. Layout of the pub wasn't particularly user friendly and the dining room was quite noisy due to a rattly 1970s/1980s air conditioner - quite thankful it was on though as quite cold outside. No entrees or desserts but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We only had dinner but enjoyed it, the service was friendly and being July we were warm but ate in the bar because the air cond in the dining room was noisy. The meal was good pub food not flash but good when you just need a feed in or around the Flinders.

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

A standard room but nice given the location. We were accepted as a last minute booking and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was simple but adequate. Warm and friendly environment. Laundry facilities were helpful too. I'd recommend if you want a night away from camping!

Helpful?
Thank robboj21
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Attended here for dinner one Saturday evening. The décor is dated. There was one barmaid serving the front bar, lounge & taking meal orders, plus making coffees. She was friendly & informative about what was on the menu. I ordered a rump steak with vegetables & mash then sat at the only table that was free which had some dirty... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ray F
Ardrossan, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Having 'won' the Hawker Hotel/Motel in the Travel Auction we (my wife and I) looked forward to a weekend break. We found the weekend to be restful only spoilt by the accommodation. We were housed in the 'old' part of the Motel accommodation, probably due to the fact that we had won this in the auction, and not in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie_Smith
hejuhawker, Manager at Hawker Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hawker Hotel. So sorry that your stay was not up to your standards. We try our hardest to accommodate all requests from our guests. Obviously we did not try hard enough with you. I would like to take this opportunity to address your points. 1) We don't have an 'Old' part of... More 

Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

We are used to outback travelling so didn't expect too much - just looking for a clean room and a feed and we got it. The motel is really the pub with a few motel style rooms out back. The pub is a typical country pub and as usual staffed by back packers which takes away from the authenticity of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2015

We decided to eat here on a Sunday night. Although Hawker is known as an "outback town" we expected a reasonable meal. We had the worst meal we have had in a long time. We both ordered Chicken Breasts, one with a sauce described as "rose sauce". Both with chips and salad. Mine came in and looked so unappetising that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Merrilyn F
hejuhawker, Manager at Hawker Motel, responded to this review

So sorry your meal was not up to scratch. We would love to have resolved this issue on the evening had I been informed of your concerns. Since your visit we have had some significant upgrades to our kitchen both staff and menu. So why not give us another chance next time you are visiting our beautiful part of the... More 

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawker
19.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
12 reviews
10.2 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
54 reviews
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hawker Motel

Address: 80 Elder Terrace, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hawker Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look around at other places in Hawker.”
 of 5 bubbles Rachmaninov3, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles Yorkie_Smith, 7 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay in Hawker.”
 of 5 bubbles merrilynf2014, 21 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Cant help you here, close to the Hotel maybe.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenC799, 26 Apr 2013 | Read review
“Go to cradock hotel”
 of 5 bubbles StephenC799, 26 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5