We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 590: English reviews
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This particular Holiday Inn surpassed expectations. Easy access off motorway. Free parking. Check-in fast and simple to do ( we did have a pre-paid room) by the most friendly staff. We stayed in an Executive Kingsize Bedroom (a bit of a splash out) and it was just fabulous. I have never seen such a big bed. It was so comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking time to post such a fantastic review of your recent stay. We always take guest feedback very seriously and are so pleased that during your stay we were able to get everything right for you. We do take guest requests into consideration and try to cater for guests who require gluten free items. However yes it...

Wakefield
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn for one night (Saturday) whilst on business a short drive away from the hotel. Upon check in at around 4pm the hotel was empty, quiet and airy. Check in was simple and straight forward the hotel receptionist even added the stay to my IGH card which was great. We stayed on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheMiniMillionaire
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you found our hotel to be weird. We were actually full on Saturday night but most of our guests were staying as there was an event on in the local area. I can only assume that they were at this when you were in the restaurant/lounge area. We price our menus...

Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived on a Sunday and had one nights accommodation, evening meal and breakfast prior to leaving. It was a really clean hotel with excellent food and very polite staff who were very professional. It was easy to find with ample free parking with very good facilities, I would highly recommend this for business and pleasure trips.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. It is so fantastic to hear that you would recommend us and for us as a team this is the kind of comment we always hope to receive from our valued guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again to stay with us. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived on a Tuesday evening and due circumstances beyond our control checked and out again within the hour (nothing to do with the hotel). The rooms were spacious and clean. We decided to eat before leaving and this was indifferent to say the least. The waiter asked if we wanted to charge the dinner to our room, he was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rwelfare
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies that not everything was perfect for you. After having spoken to the restaurant team it would appear that your beef burger request was mixed up with a chicken breast burger order. This was an oversight and we are so sorry this...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

No issues with my stay at the hotel. It is very close to a Holiday Inn Express as looked like it had just been renovated. Sitting for dinner with the table football in the background gave you a feeling of being in a student union. Ideally situated off the A1 with clean rooms although all have just a shower unless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you found our team to be friendly and that the hotel was suitable for your needs. We do offer our guests the option of playing some games in our lounge area to let off some steam after a hard day...

Scarborough
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here in November for the last 4-5 years and have always enjoyed it tremendously. The staff are amazing and look after us so well. I was one of approx 90 people in our group. I always find the rooms lovely, spacious and very comfortable. We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant and then a disco afterwards....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elisenotelsie
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know how your recent stay with us went. We are so very pleased to hear that the weekend went well and that you were looked after by our team. It means a huge amount to us to be able to welcome you all back every November and we really do look forward to...

Bramley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The room was not in an acceptable state. Decoration, cleanliness, facilities, toilet, all was a bit of a shock considering the price tag and the fact that it's an international hotel chain. Maintenance wise there was a number of things that were broken. I had to point this out (in case you're wondering, they should have known already). Most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheBeardedLlama
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your comments on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that the issues you had with maintenance in your room where fixed by the following day. However we are very concerned to hear that these were not picked up on by our housekeeping and management checks. We undertake these checks to ensure that any...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Booked at short notice for two nights. Room overlooked the motorway but very little noise. A bit of noise from people walking round upstairs but not excessive. Room and bed very comfortable. Great shower and lovely soft towels. Very good value for money. Staff very friendly and approachable. Our second visit here and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovebug
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. We are so pleased that everything was to your liking and that you would come back to stay with us again. Kind Regards Pat MacInnes General Manager

London
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Room was tired with a tiny grim bathroom with only a shower and toilet crammed into it. Sink was in the actual room and probably what accounted for the horrible musty smell. Worse part of the stay was the noise through the walls and floors. We stayed with our 5 yr old son who was unable to sleep because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Izzyden12345
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are so disappointed to hear that you received poor service in the restaurant. We are very sorry that this affected your stay and want to assure you that your comments are...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stopped off at the Holiday Inn for Sunday lunch. Have visited this Holiday Inn in the past when it had a carvery which was excellent and good price. Now it has gone way down. We arrived an picked a table ourselves, plenty to choose from. No other guests there. Where given a menu and a drinks list. The selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david_ne_uk
HIDarlington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent Sunday lunch at the hotel. Just to make you aware that we no longer serve a carvery Sunday lunch due to low demand. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen regarding the length of time taken to serve you lunch. This is not an appropriate length of time given the...

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
722 reviews
4.8 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
674 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Darlington Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: £38 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles TheBeardedLlama, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles jintyjan2, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet room ask for one facing the fields 2nd floor right at the end of the corridor.”
 of 5 bubbles Oxfordcameraman, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 22 was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles katemX3005PF, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“room I had was nice and quiet on First floor....”
 of 5 bubbles holiday1122, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay