We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Golden Lion Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (313)
Room & Suite (126)
Dining (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Hunstanton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Free internet
Internet
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
854Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 248
  • 252
  • 141
  • 101
  • 112
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
GrahamForbesGordon wrote a review Feb 2024
Ashford, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Avoid at all costs.Terrible noisy room we could hear the people next door talking most of the nights as their bed was against our wall.Smelly room above the kitchen extractor fan and probably the worst pizza ever served anywhere in the world, I couldn't even eat it. Its a shame as the staff were really good...I feel sorry for them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello Graham, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you stay way back in September 2023 with us, It was such a long time ago that we failed to remember whether you had brought any concerns to my management team during your stay so i am able to respond to your review as i would of liked , We have no complaints noted during your stay regarding pizzas or your room. I am disappointed that this was not pointed out to us during your stay 5 months ago giving us the opportunity to address your concerns thoroughly. I would like to however thank you for your kind comments regarding my team. Kindest regards Giles Norwood General Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jenny B wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Very welcoming with easy check-in..The man on the desk was very jolly ..keep it up. Makes a difference when you walk into a new place.. Bed unfortunately was too hard and we didn't sleep much... The food really let's the place down..which is a shame... Dinner was awful, would explain why there was only 4 of us in the whole restaurant. Did notice a lot of takeaways being brought into the building... breakfast wasn't that great either..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Hello Jenny, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here with us at the Golden Lion Hotel I am pleased to hear that your welcome to our stunning hotel was a lovely one, you are correct this really does make a difference and it is lovely to read such wonderful feedback! I am however disappointed that your dining experience was not so great during your stay, I do wish that you had mentioned this to a member of my team during your stay thus giving us the opportunity to rectify any issues you may of had at the time. We wish you all the best on your future travels. Kindest regards Giles and team Golden Lion hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie H wrote a review Dec 2023
9 contributions
This place was in desperate need of updating... It has been taken over by new owners and already they have opened up the 3 open fires.... This hotel will definitely get better...... The new owners have some great plans for a great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Hello Julie, Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay, We are pleased your stay was a good one! We very much look forward to welcoming you back when we re open after our wonderful refurbishment Kindest regards Giles and team Golden Lion Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Charlotte wrote a review Dec 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom31 contributions20 helpful votes
Lovely staff, lovely location, lovely food... Stayed for a few days over Christmas period (not on a package deal) and found the staff very very friendly, food was served quickly, hot and tasty, even got me some Earl Grey Tea Bags ! lol..... Giles and his team were all fab. Guest communal areas (Bar/Lounge/etc) were all very nice and welcoming and great places to relax and have a coffee or drink after a beach walk. Open fires lush. Great mix of locals hotels guests and dog friendly too. Will be going back in April hopefully.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2024
Hello, Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your recent stay here with us, It is always a pleasure to read that our guest stay has been a great one. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding my team they will be delighted to read that they were able to contribute to making your stay fab. I am pleased that you enjoyed our newly installed log burners and had time to relax. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back again in April when we reopen after our refurbishment. Kindest regards Giles and team Golden Lion hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Honor G wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. Lovely staff, very friendly. The hotel is perfectly situated and has really great sea views. The rooms though are very very tired and in need of modernising and updating. It has so much potential and it would be wonderful to see it get a revamp and the TLC this historic building deserves.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2023
Hello, Many Thanks for writing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay here with us at The Golden Lion Hotel. It is such a pleasure to welcome lovely guests and we are delighted to read that you very much enjoyed your time here with us. We will be closing in January 24 through to Easter for a wonderful Refurbishment which we are all very excited about, Please feel feel to follow us on social media to keep up to date with our progress, and we look forward to seeing you again when we reopen. Kindest Regards Giles and Team Giles Norwood General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keith M wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Can I thank you for the most enjoyable nights stay at your hotel. The staff absolutely superb and very friendly/accommodating. Both myself and my mum enjoyed it thoroughly. Accommodation superb and the food excellent. It certainly enhanced the stay by welcoming my new puppy Honey. Thank you all so much. We will return very soon. Superb and professional. Very best wishes and Merry Christmas. Keith and Honey.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Hello Keith, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, We are all delighted to read that you very much enjoyed your stay with us, Your kind comments regarding my team are very much appreciated. It was an absolute pleasure to meet the gorgeous Honey what an delightful little puppy she is, we very much look forward to welcoming you all back in the future and keeping up to date with little Honeys future adventures. Wish you all the most amazing Christmas and very best wishes for the New year!!. Kindest regards Giles and Team General Manager Golden Lion Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Barbara P wrote a review Nov 2023
Leeds, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
What a completely wonderful place to stay. Warm welcome from staff who obviously really care that you enjoy your stay. Room was great, bar was great, food was great , yes you’ve guessed it everything was great. Arrived back in the small hours after a night out, no problem, friendly and helpful night porter to welcome us home. The team at The Golden Lion ensure that as a guest you feel special and welcome. Big thank you for making our holiday perfect.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 27 Nov 2023
Hello Barbara, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us, Of course we are all over the moon with such great feedback and wonderful comments regarding our stunning hotel and very hard working staff. We cannot thank you enough for such lovely words, We are delighted that your stay was fantastic and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the new year. Best wishes and kindest regards Giles and team Golden Lion hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ScealaiTheRakker wrote a review Nov 2023
Peterborough, United Kingdom1 contribution
This beautiful Victorian building occupies a prime position on the hill overlooking the Wash. At one time it would have had a perfect view of the pier, which is sadly long gone; destroyed by a combination of fire and storm. We stayed three nights - two adults and our dog, an exotic sighthound type. We were given a warm welcome by the staff on Reception (especially the dog LOL) and gladly permitted to check in early. Our room was, in my experience, unique. As an accessible room it would have been big enough to easily get my wheelchair or rollator all the way around the bed and into the bathroom had I needed to use them. Trust me, that's a first! Everything was clean and comfortable. I dont even sleep that well in my own bed. All the staff were friendly and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble and by the evening of the second day it was all beginning to feel rather homely. We ate in the hotel every day. My husband was very pleased with all the Vegetarian options on the menu especially the Plant based burger and the veggie sausages at breakfast. The Golden Lion does not serve a hot buffet breakfast, instead a waitress will take your order for hot food and pastries. Help yourself to everything else. Tip: Ask for exactly what you want eg. Two fried eggs, one sausage, three rashers of well cooked bacon. They don't mind what you do with it either. If you want to feed half your sausage and scramblies to your pooch it's no bother. Pretty much the only stipulation regarding dogs was 'not in the restaurant', which is reasonable enough. The hotel has a car park, which is charged for. I recommend you make use of it especially in poor weather. We nearly lost the boot door whilst unloading in front, due to Storm Debi. The car park will keep your vehicle tucked safely inside the shelter of a 200 year old solid stone building. Much safer! Some reviews on this site have made much of the cleanliness and maintenance of the Golden Lion. To be honest there was nothing wrong with the cleaning. Every day we asked for the room to be cleaned by hanging out the sign (The Golden Lion has a policy of cleaning on request rather than intruding on a guest pet) and every day the room was cleaned, vacuumed and the bathroom sorted. I did see some stains on the carpet along the skirting boards here and there but it was obviously bleach, which just points to the hard work of the housekeepers who were visible cracking on by the time we finished breakfast. The interior of the Golden Lion appeared a little dated and I was told that the previous owner had neglected the place before going out of business. The staff told me that they expected to close in January for a widespread sympathetic refurbishment and intended to be open again by 22nd March 2024. I did have some trouble with the harsh fluorescent lighting in the bedroom and the low Victorianesque light in the lounge, but that is my own problem. Hopefully the refit will include softer and more comfortable lighting respectively. Honestly, we loved our time at the Golden Lion in Hunstanton. My Historian nature wants to dig through all the mysterious sealed up doorways and alleged secret tunnels as well as investigate the stories behind the stained glass windows on the car park side of the bar. I wish I had the time off to stay longer and I'm eagerly anticipating a long weekend to come after the refit is finished, maybe even a few days in summer. Ten stars all day long. An extra couple for the homemade dog treats on sale at reception. My boy bought some for his friend who apparently adores them! Thanks for everything GH, see you soon!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This is a very old building, Grade 2 listed. Don't expect an 'elevator', air conditioning or...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2023
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write such a warming review regarding your recent stay with us here at the Golden Lion Hotel, It is a delight to read such lovely comments regarding our stunning hotel, views, food and Staff, we all believe we are very lucky to work in such a great hotel, Our guests are on the whole amazing people also and we love that they bring along their four legged friends on holiday too, We cannot wait to see you both and of course the lovely Mythos back again next year. Many Thanks again and we wish you all the best until next time. Kindest regards Giles and team Golden Lion Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kate l wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
We all travelled here for a surprise 80 th birthday do for my dad and the customer service was second to none. A lovely lady called Nikki contacted me to talk through the booking, requirements and even asked where in the hotel we would like to eat. When we arrived she was warm, friendly and accommodating to our large party. No ask was too much and herself and the rest of the staff literally made our stay and my Dad's special occasion. I can't thank them enough for their superb service. The hotel has beautiful views out to sea, is very central to other pubs, amusements and has lots of character. having stayed there, I became annoyed at some of the reviews which state that the place is old etc ... yes it is a grand, old building with heaps of identity unlike a plastic new chain hotel ... people should choose accordingly to their tastes. Likewise, this is a very good three star, affordable hotel, which offered a great break by the sea with good food and superb service. If people want a five star experience, they should be expected to dig a little deeper into their pockets rather than expect a five star experience for three star prices. The staff and place were superb ... well done and thank you so much !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Hello Kate, Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful feedback regarding your stay and celebration break her with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you all and we are delighted to read that your stay was a great one, It is always a pleasure to read that my team have exceeded our guests expectations. I am delighted that we were able to play a big part in helping your Dads special celebrations great and making such precious memories. It was a delight to have you as guests and we very much look forward to seeing you all again. Kindest regards Giles and team Golden Lion Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bentley Bear wrote a review Nov 2023
Harpenden, United Kingdom440 contributions171 helpful votes
We didn't stay here but we did visit Hunstanton whilst staying in nearby Kings Lynn and stopped here for some lunch and drinks. The old hotel is fully of character with fantastic views over the sea and beach. The staff were very polite, the big comfy chairs were great and, most importantly, the food and drink offering was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Sit by the windows for a great view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from L J Leisure Ltd, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review a review about your recent visit to us here at the Golden Lion Hotel, We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our wonderful hotel and stunning views. Your feedback is very much appreciated and i am pleased to read that your dining experience with us did not disappoint. We look forward to seeing you all again. Kindest regards Giles and team Golden Lion Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hunstanton area.
PRICE RANGE
£119 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden lion hunstanton, golden lion hotel hunstanton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkHunstanton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GOLDEN LION HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Hunstanton)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Golden Lion Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Hunstanton Beach (0.2 miles), Hunstanton Heritage Centre (0.06 miles), and Princess Theatre (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, breakfast buffet, and free internet access.
What food & drink options are available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Golden Lion Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Berni Beans, The Coffee Pot, and The Copper Kettle.
Is The Golden Lion Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Hunstanton.
Are there any historical sites close to The Golden Lion Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting King's Lynn, Uk (0.5 miles).
Does The Golden Lion Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.