Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Crown Southwold

Traveller (115)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 4 hotels in Southwold
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Standing proudly on Southwold’s High Street, The Crown is at the heart of the town and just moments away from the beach. Something of a Suffolk food institution, The Crown has always offered outstanding quality food and wine in a wonderfully informal setting. The wine list boasts a tantalising range of wines by the glass, one doesn’t have to have a bottle. It also showcases a range of well kept and award-winning Adnams beers and spirits. Our 14 bedrooms are all stylish and full of character, offering a high standard of accommodation and a comfortable, memorable stay in Southwold.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
961Reviews4Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 482
  • 316
  • 105
  • 35
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
catherine b wrote a review Feb 2022
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice clean spacious room, with a good view, however at £165 a night I would expect a shower slip mat could be so dangerous for some people also the dressing gowns feel starchy, hard fabric not good need new ones.
Slippers and a small fridge is also needed as I feel it’s standard for a room at that price nowadays.

The hotel is beautiful steeped in history and there’s never a bad day in Southwold it’s a gem of a seaside town.

Breakfast was amazing perfect so are the breakfast staff nothing was too much trouble the women in charge has a great sense of humour and runs the breakfast service very smoothly.
All in all a wonderful place to stay just needs a few tweaks to make it amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyndsay Edwards, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do have shower slip mats available, these can be requested upon request. I will pass your comments regarding dressing gowns, slippers and the potential for a small fridge back onto the management team. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrentwoodLSA wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a four-night stay in a Cosy Room. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The bathroom was also large, with a claw-footed bath and a large shower cubicle with good water pressure and heat. The toiletries were good quality and I needn't have brought my own.

There was a good choice of dishes at breakfast, so much so that lunch wasn't always necessary! The lunch/evening menu was varied and generous.

The Crown's staff were all helpful and very pleasant and we hope we can return before too long.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyndsay Edwards, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 9 Dec 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope you return again in the new year.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sasha wrote a review Aug 2022
Maidenhead, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love Southwold and have been going for years but this is the first time we have ever treated ourselves to a stay at The Crown! We stayed for 3 nights and it was so lovely to be right in the heart of Southwold. The room was AMAZING, so luxurious. We were in Room 14 which has a separate living area (which was made up into two single beds for our kids) and a little room with a loo. The main bathroom is across a corridor, but it's a very private corridor so you won't bump into anyone else and robes are provided. The bathroom is lovely, gorgeous roll top bath and a handheld shower.
Breakfast was delicious, and they were able to cater for my coeliac son (gluten free toast and he had a lovely yoghurt compote too).
The only thing I was unconvinced about was the (complimentary) beer flavoured crisps in the room! The complimentary beer was a lovely touch though!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adnams Southwold, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Thankyou for such a lovely review, this is very helpful to other families that we house in room 14. We have an excellent kitchen team that are very adaptable. We hope that the beer helped wash down the crisps and that you will be back again in the not to distant future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ann H wrote a review Jul 2020
Perth, Australia33 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I grew up in Southwold and was excited to stay at The Crown and used to work at The Swan many many years ago. I now live in Australia and booked two rooms for a night for my husband and three children (12,14 & 16) when we were in Southwold visiting my mother. I am sad to say that although the restaurant and bar still have their rustic charm the bedrooms we were provided with were nothing like the standard shown above. They were very tired and old. I am not sure if the hotel has not refurbished some rooms yet but we were at the back of the hotel looking out towards the church and it was not as beautiful as depicted above.

One of the most off putting things of all was the stuffy corridors with dirty old carpets that we had to walk through to reach the rooms. It smelt like a mens public toilet. I did investigate where the smell was coming from and indeed it did turn out to be a toilet that was in serious disrepair which opened onto the corridor and that was apparently being used as a storage room for cleaning products. It was foul.

The "help yourself" breakfast was a meagre spread (compared to other less pricey hotels we had stayed at in Norfolk) it consisted of primarily cereal and various "stewed" fruit such as prunes. If you like "black pudding" with your breakfast also beware the one served at The Crown. I had quite a shock when I took a mouthfull of what I expected to be a savoury item to find it was unbearably sickly sweet. On enquiring why this was apparently they make it in house and again it has prunes added to the mixture. The excess of stewed fruit seemed oddly in keeping with their catering to older clientelle.

The Crown has always had a great reputation for accommodation, food and its wine list. But I fear the wine list may be the only thing to recommend it now. Very disapointing for the price and not an experience I will be looking to repeat.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lyndsay Edwards, Owner at The Crown Southwold
Responded 27 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review and feedback relating to your visit with us back in January. We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy some of our breakfast items, which following our COVID Secure reopening are now all served direct from the kitchen, rather than a buffet for the cold items. We’re particularly proud of our own homemade black pudding, which has a few golden sultanas in it to help cut through the richness but are sorry that this wasn’t to your taste. Thank you also for your comments regarding our guestrooms, which were obviously very disappointing to read. All our rooms have different quirks and charms and we’re regularly maintaining and redecorating to keep our standards high, including across the communal areas.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pat M wrote a review Aug 2023
Hamilton, New Zealand83 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room could not be faulted. There was a comfortable bed with adequate bedding. Great ensuite, being older I do prefer a walking shower ,but the handles on the bath made it easier and safer to get in and out. This is the first hotel where I found the towels the same size as mine at home, extra large. Staff were helpful and friendly. Where oh where was the love in the food??
Such bland food,no seasoning and no dressings on the salads. The full English breakfast was a huge disappointment the bacon was dried up,never have I had such a watery, tasteless poached egg, sorry it did taste of vinegar. How is it possible to have a tasteless mushroom, the oil it was soaked in didn't help. I have eaten other English cuisine so I know it is not all bland.
I must say that the kitchen did a great job with my sisters special diet, luckily she has lost her taste buds.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Eat out
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adnams Southwold, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 3 Sept 2023
I would like to start by thanking you for your recent visit to The Crown, and for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We value each guest’s comments , and we want you to know that your thoughts matter to us. We are truly sorry to hear that the quality of the food did not meet your expectations, and that it had an impact on your overall experience. We always take pride in offering high-quality dishes that are prepared with the finest ingredients, therefore, it is disappointing to hear that we fell short of this. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with our kitchen team, and they will work diligently to address the issues you raised. We are pleased, however, to hear that you enjoyed the room, and that our team provided you with high quality service. Again, thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We do hope that we can have the opportunity to provide you with an enjoyable dining experience in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bell-Woolstons wrote a review Jan 2023
Sutton59 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a central hotel with really good parking. We had a small cozy room that still felt like it had everything we wanted. It had a comfortable bed, good selection of teas, coffees and water. We also got free Adnams beer and crisps. There was a tv and digital radio and 2 armchairs. It was very clean and there was a good size en suite bathroom. The only downside for us was that the bathroom was a bit chilly and the shower pressure was almost too much! The staff were all super friendly and gave fresh milk and water when we asked for it. Breakfasts were excellent with great choice and veggie options, all cooked to order. We chose to eat in the restaurant for dinner and the food was very good. Compared to some hotels that charge £100 more a night and provide less of a service, this felt like a small, non corporate place that cared about its guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Some rooms face the Main Street which is quiet in January but would be really busy in the summer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adnams Southwold, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 28 Jan 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us and all that The Crown has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leah G wrote a review Aug 2022
Colchester, United Kingdom53 contributions83 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself, my husband and our four year old stayed in the family suite for two nights and overall had a good stay. The room was lovely and there was plenty of space. The beer/crisps were a nice touch too. However, there were a couple of points that let the stay down overall.

We were contacted the night before and were told that their ovens were not working and therefore there would only be a cold menu for the dinner we had booked. We quickly rang round other restaurants in Southwold but everywhere was booked up so we had no choice but go for the cold menu option. We had booked this trip a long time in advance and we had looked forward to it so this initially put a bit of a downer on things. Luckily, when we got there we were told that the menu was pretty much back to normal. However, the food was still disappointing. I ordered the sea bass which was tiny and was on top of a load of mange tout with no potatoes or carbs of any kind. Quite plain and uninteresting. My husband’s curry just came with poppodums and no rice. It wasn’t very filling and just a bit odd really. It was very expensive as also our son had a small portion of plain pasta with grated cheese followed by ice cream and this came to £13! For breakfast, we asked if our son could have a ‘dippy’ or hard boiled egg but were told that they could only do fried eggs. This wasn’t a very big request so thought this was slightly odd too. The staff were all very polite and friendly though I must add.

Whilst the room was amazing, it was very noisy in the early hours from deliveries and seagulls as there was no double glazing, so we didn’t get a very restful sleep. The room was very expensive and I just felt everything was very overpriced with all things considered. We therefore unfortunately would not stay at The Crown again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adnams Southwold, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 10 Aug 2022
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the room and the space it offered. We are sorry that the extractor fan unexpectantly failed in the kitchen, this meant the kitchen could not cook on gas due to ventilation. We did contact guests and diners to let them know of this unfortunate incident and at first we were just offering cold food; however our excellent kitchen team were able to inventively produce some hot dishes to widen our offering, sadly there were still some limitations such as reduced egg option for breakfast. We are a coastal hotel and this does mean there are seagulls, being such an old building double glazing is not an option. We are sorry that your sleep was disturbed and that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jimmybov wrote a review Oct 2022
Leicester, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely restaurant in a very nice hotel (we stayed here back in January). Excellent decor and ambience in the very centre of Southwold. Good range of choice on the menu, good choice of wines etc and all staff very friendly, polite and efficient. Everyone in our party of 5 people agreed that all three courses were of an excellent quality. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a good, mid - range priced meal in a well appointed location.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adnams Southwold, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 2 Nov 2022
We are so pleased that you and your party enjoyed your meals and hope to see you again in the near future, thank you for your kind comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
abates846763 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Crown is right on the high street in Southwold, our room was comfortable , light and airy. Friendly, helpful staff and free private parking . Food was nice , using local seasonal produce. The bar area was cosy and had beams and a quaint historic feel to it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adnams Southwold, Sales at The Crown Southwold
Responded 21 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. These will be passed on to the team at the Crown. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clare S wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I didn't arrive until 1115pm but was greeted by a very friendly and helpful night porter. The room was lovely. Breakfast was served with a smile and plenty of coffee, and my poached eggs were cooked perfectly. Thank you.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AdnamsManagementTeam, General Manager at The Crown Southwold
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Thank you for your comments Clare, I am glad to see that our night porter was able to assist you when you arrived late and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I do hope you return again in the future. Kind Regards, Adnams Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom5 helpful votes
Good morning, the cancellation policy is on the room type you book. We offer both flexible cancellation policies and full pre-pay so you have the choice on what you choose.
Tracey O asked a question Dec 2017
83 contributions31 helpful votes
Is it dog friendly?
Answer from Tim B
Tisbury, United Kingdom119 contributions39 helpful votes
Not obviously so but there is a back entrance so public rooms could be avoided
Southwold, United Kingdom5 helpful votes
The Crown has a car park at the rear of the hotel for residents only.
Southwold, United Kingdom5 helpful votes
Yes, all bedrooms have a hairdryer.
christinelD385DH wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ipswich5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Poor"
Read full review
Pat M wrote a tip Aug 2023
Hamilton, New Zealand83 contributions44 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat out"
Read full review
Emma B wrote a tip Aug 2023
Ilford, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The hotel has free parking for guests, and the beach is easily walkable from the hotel"
Read full review
redgraverose wrote a tip Jul 2023
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom117 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No lift"
Read full review
phil s wrote a tip Jul 2023
Harrogate, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Probably stay away from the Crown due to Seagull noise but use the restaurant and bar which are very good"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southwold area.
PRICE RANGE
£146 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the crown hotel southwold, crown southwold, crown hotel southwold
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaSuffolkSouthwold
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CROWN SOUTHWOLD - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Crown Southwold
Which popular attractions are close to The Crown Southwold?
Nearby attractions include Southwold Lighthouse (0.1 miles), The Lord Nelson (0.1 miles), and St Edmund's Church (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Crown Southwold?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Crown Southwold?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Crown Southwold?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Crown Southwold?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ninedeli, Sutherland House Restaurant, and Coasters.
Is The Crown Southwold located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 miles away from the centre of Southwold.
Are there any historical sites close to The Crown Southwold?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Edmund's Church (0.09 miles).
All Southwold HotelsSouthwold Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SouthwoldHotels near The Crown Southwold
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire