We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 588: English reviews
Buckingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On a beautiful bright day we toured the various restaurants and chose the Swan for its menu which is varied with traditional lunches but also modern light bites. We sat in the main restaurant which with table cloths and pleasant decor makes for a lovely setting for a meal. Seeing the two course set menu we went for that in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked 2 nights for a 30th anniversary in pre school holiday July. We paid £185 a night for one of the Lighthouse rooms. We were looking forward to this, but we were surprised and very disappointed at what we got for the price. A small room with a facade that was very tatty and run down. I understand that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mrdeeping
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here this week as a surprise for my 40th birthday. My wife booked and the management were great, they'd organised balloons and a case of Adnams as a surprise. We had room 15, one of the suites with amazing views of the sea and the market square. Breakfast is equally fantastic as is the service at all times.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert_Lindsay76
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Happy Birthday! What a superb review- thank you More 

Essex England
Level Contributor
246 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been gifted a dinner, bed and breakfast package. Friends who had stayed there all loved their experience. We had high hopes but I'm afraid that the service didn't live up to our expectations. Check in was brief. We were instructed about the facilities at high speed; I am sure that this was just repetition but it lacked the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tappy Feet
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Sincere apologies that your experience was not up to the standard of your friends previous visits. Your comments will be adressedwith the team to ensure our standards are not compromised again. More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved this hotel, it's a bit different but great. I didn't stay in the main building but in one of the small lodges in the garden. They are so comfortable and make you feel at home in an instant. They have a homely feel about them but are not old fashioned at all. There's a small terrace in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALs888
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, glad you felt so welcome in the Lighthouse Rooms. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Swan Hotel Southwold opitimeses the worst of our East Anglia hotels, Set in a picturesque seaside town full of maritime and wartime history the sheer beauty of a coastline captured in Constable paintings is breathtaking only to be marred by the disappointing experience of staying in what is supposed to be the best hotel in Southwold. The sheer laziness... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pepi k K
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Swan is in a great location at the bottom of the High Street, very close to the sea. We spent a couple of nights in a superior lighthouse room, which was delightful - spacious room and bathroom with a small outside seating area overlooking a garden. Very peaceful, and with a great view of the lighthouse beams radiating at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I hope you return and enjoy another peaceful stay after the refurbishment More 

UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was literally a last minute booking, on the morning (which was £125 for a room rather than the best price, the night before, of £185). If you bring pets, which is a plus point, you stay in the garden rooms at the rear of the hotel which are single story purpose built rooms ranged around a small garden -... More 

Helpful?
Thank NicholasUk
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed a superb lunch in this beautiful restaurant. We both chose roast beef which, for us couldn't have been better cooked. The Yorkshire pudding and veg were all perfectly cooked. I must mention the wonderful dessert. I chose pannacotta and was I pleased that I did! It was so delicious, with lime meringue, avocado and lime mousse. With very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carole K
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful review – thank you for your kind comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed such a delicious Sunday lunch More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Swan have purpose provided rooms at the rear of the main building with great access for dogs, the rooms were large enough to accommodate a large cage and a small fridge for their food, the staff were friendly and experienced working around dogs, the bar area was comfy and welcoming but with all hotels, quiet as they are usually... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve239
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

A lovely review and glad the dogs had a great time too. More 

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.1 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
910 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
604 reviews
12.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
The Swan Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just yards from the Adnams Brewery the hotel has been awarded 4 Stars by The AA and two Rosettes for the food in the restaurant. A short stroll from the hotel is the beach at Southwold with its rows of colourful beach huts and the town has a wide selection of individual boutique shops to browse. Our Lighthouse Rooms in the Garden are Dog Friendly and wheelchair accessible.Brewery and Distillery tours can be arranged for guests and there are plenty of Adnams pubs within walking distance to enjoy a taste of our beer. Please note: Free WiFi is available in rooms in the main hotel only. There is no WiFi available in the Lighthouse rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range: £182 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I loved the garden room”
 of 5 bubbles ALs888, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superior lighthouse rooms are spacious and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieP766, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dog friendly but state you are taking dogs when you book.”
 of 5 bubbles Steve239, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you plan to do brewery tour consider booking that first as you may get a discount at the swan or crown”
 of 5 bubbles katief594, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for sea view rooms 23 - 26 .”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay