We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Northern Hotel

Traveller (13)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Northern Hotel has been developed and improved by three generations of the Sims family. Today, while maintaining the friendly atmosphere that has always been a feature of the hotel, the family and staff endeavour to provide a high standard of cuisine, comfort and personal service. We are ideally situated in the heart of Bexhill, just a short distance to the Seafront, the famous De La Warr Pavilion and the Town Centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Classic

Location

Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
49Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
10Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
48Reviews
82Photos
2Q+A
18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
There is at the moment no online booking service but nevertheless, it is a great traditional family run hotel. We had excellent service for the short time we stayed. Breakfast was excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend this for anyone
Read more
Nice clean hotel. There are some elderly permanent residents there, but I felt this added to the family atmosphere. The rooms were nice and clean. The staff offered excellent service. Full English breakfast was excellent. Loved the fact that the fruit salad was fresh and not out
Read more
I recently visited elderly family who are living in this hotel, that also caters for normal guests. I decided to stay overnight and there was a single room available for £59 Bed and Breakfast. My stay could not have been bettered. My room was spotless. Well equipped with a
Read more
Response from TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel
Responded 24 Jul 2017
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overnight stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bexhill. Regards, The Northern Hotel Team
Read more
We booked one night in the Northern Hotel to attend a gig at the De La Warr Pavilion which is within a few minutes walk from the hotel. Staff were helpful and the room and bathroom were spotless (and we are fussy). Breakfast was good too and staff again were very helpful and
Read more
Response from TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2017
Dear Guest Thank you for feedback about your recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your overnight stay and hope we can be of service to you again in the future. Kind Regards The Northern Hotel Team
Read more
A group of us went to the Northern hotel for afternoon tea which was booked in advance. We were quite disappointed we honestly didn't think it was at all good value for money. We meet every month and go to various places but we won't be returning here.
Read more
Response from TheNorthernHotel, Owner at The Northern Hotel
Responded 31 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were very surprised to hear you were dissatisfied with your recent event with us. We have built our business on the back of good quality fayre for a reasonable and commensurate price, coupled with attention to detail and personal service. We are extremely disappointed for you, and for us, that you felt your event was below par. We are, I can assure you, generally held in high regard for our catering services (of which we do many) so it is beholden upon us to seek to understand and rectify your dissatisfaction. Perhaps you would like to either call into the hotel or write to us with more detail so that we may ameliorate the situation. We look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Northern Hotel
Double Bedroom
Photo provided by managementThe Northern Hotel
Twin Room
Photo provided by managementThe Northern Hotel
Double Bedroom
Photo provided by managementThe Northern Hotel
The Richmond Function Room
Dear Lesley Thank you for your enquiry regarding a possible stay with us. We do have Double & Twin Bedded Rooms which are on the level which would prove suitable for your elderly parents. Please ensure when you enquire that you need a room on the level. We also have Rooms on mezzanine floors where there are 5 steps to negotiate once exiting the lift . I hope this answers your query and we can be of service to you. Kind Regards Mr N Sims
1 vote
Show all answers
What is its phone number
Dear Gareth Our Phone Number is 01424 212836 I hope we can be of service to you. Regards Mr N Sims
-1 votes
"Room 14 may be a bit noisy for some people"
"Front rooms would have a seaview."
"My room seemed all new with nice furniture"
"ask for a room with an opening window to catch the sea air"
"Ideal for older holidaymakers. The less mobile should request a room with direct lift access (as opposed to a mid-level room)."
PreviousNext
1234
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBexhill-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing