We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Compasses B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Compasses B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 13: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff helpful and welcoming nothing appeared too much for them. The room was delightful and comfortable. I will definitely stay again. Breakfast choice appears good, dinner was good. This is a lovely hideaway well off the beaten track.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RJJ1970
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Use this hotel/pub only if you don't have any other choice. The carpets were dirty, bathroom not clean with the fungus on the wall under the sink and hair in the shower. No soap, no shower products, the towel was old but clean. This rooms need a serious cleaning before they rent it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NomoreRadio
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We received a warm welcome when we arrived. We only stayed the one night but slept well that night. It was a twin room and the beds were quite comfortable. Complimentary tea and coffee were gratefully received although trying to fill the kettle from the bathroom sink wasn't easy. There was no soap or shower gell so remember to bring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neil B
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Exactly what I expected, a lot cheaper than anywhere in the area so don't expect to much but I had nothing to complain about, it was clean and tidy (as others have said, these are little chalets behind the pub), little tv in the room and plenty of tea and coffee. I didn't arrive till gone 10pm and this wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gareth D
Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The rooms were chalets, the room was smelly, caarpet badly stained, one of our beds was broken, the put-u-up bed was very bady stained. They did not serve breakfast or any hot food, although they advertise that they do. Definately would NOT stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wW0man
pardess, Owner at The Compasses B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. However on all the web-sites it states that we do not include breakfast and don not serve food. This is because we cannot compete with the large chain outlets as there are over a dozen in walking distance.

Auckland
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The rooms are called 'Chalets' and are situated at the back of the hotel. The room and bathroom were very tired and certainly need an upgrade. No breakfast being available is but another shortfall. The toilet cistern for my bathroom poured water continuously and the only way I could get some sleep was to remove the cistern innards and refit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AucklandFlyingKiwi
Singapore
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

We chose this place for a night as it was within a short drive from Stansted where we were going to drop off our car the following day. For starters, it is located some 10 miles from Chelmsford town centre, in the outskirts. So it would not be conceivable for those not driving. It was also difficult for us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WengKeeLeong
herefordshire
Reviewed 19 July 2015

I stayed here with my son and daughter whilst en-route to Colchester. I was looking for a cheap, clean room and that's exactly what I got! The rooms were spacious if a little 'musty'. The bathroom facilities were a bit dated but worked. Nice friendly welcome from host and the customers in the pub. If you want somewhere cheap and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nevertoolate_10
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night after a wedding just down the road. We were badly organised and ended up having a few issues which Martin and Dawn accommodated without question. They were extremely helpful and really made our stay so easy. The en suite rooms with tea/coffee and t.v facilities were just perfect, it was exactly what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monster87
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 7 July 2015

The rooms are located in a line of rooms behind the actual pub. The room was small and very basic. One could hardly move around the beds or the room. The shower/bathroom was small, bed was uncomfortable. You pull a string to turn on the shower. The carpets were dirty. They don't provide soap, not even hand soap. Luckily we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JavaMama58

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 13 in Chelmsford
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 13 in Chelmsford
322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Boreham) Hotel
3.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a friendly family run public house with pool, dart & crib teams also folk music, quiz nights, live music. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Compasses B&B

Address: 141 Broomfield Road, Chelmsford CM1 1RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: £43 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Compasses B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Compasses B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Compasses B&B Chelmsford, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Compasses B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Compasses B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles United25, 21 Jan 2013 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay