We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 330: English reviews
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The food was without doubt the best part of this place, although the rooms are spacious and very well presented also.The only negative was the slow speed of the WiFi which is not ideal on a business trip.Easy to find, lots of free parking, reasonably priced food and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the room and food offered, my apologies for the slow wifi, this is unfortunately out of our control, despite us being only a few miles from the city centre we are unable to get a speedier connection, as soon as one does become available...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we have been to a New Year's Eve Ball at this hotel. The staff are excellent and work very hard to ensure your evening is one to remember. The food is very good and both the entertainers this year were excellent. Thanks Ivy Hill will be back this year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Metaxa85
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to spend New Year's Eve with us at Ivy Hill. I am pleased you enjoyed the event and I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully before December 31st! Jason Bartella Managing Director

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had an excellent breakfast with commensurate service. Breakfast was well prepared and presented, waiter was attentive and friendly. Other staff were equally friendly and customer-focussed. All in all, it was a pleasure to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcruse
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice to hear that the team have exceeded expectations. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the venue for our club's xmas dinner. The food and service was exceptional. We stayed overnight and found the breakfast to be very good. The only thing we found that could have been improved was the cleanliness of the ketchup and brown sauce bottles. After removing the caps, we were faced with congealed overspill. Clearly, they did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman N
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased that you enjoyed your christmas meal, the accommodation and breakfast, however disappointed to hear about the issues with the sauce bottles, which I will get the team to look into as they should not be this way. I do hope that the positives outweighed this small issue and...

Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Ivy Hill Hotel is a Victorian country house, next to the A12. The general standards are good but in my opinion not worth the money (I paid £90 for the night). It is very obvious that the hotel is part of a chain as it has very little character, I think it is probably used mainly by business people for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles73uk
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Sorry that you did not feel the hotel had enough character, although we are marketed by Best Western the hotel is independently owned and is not 'part of a chain', we pride ourselves on our high standards, great service and being value for money so I am surprised you...

Reviewed 3 December 2016

We were guests at a wedding which was an amazing day. The food and staff we great! At some point I lost my bracelet and didn't realise till the following day. After calling the hotel to see if it had been handed in, they called me back shortly after saying that there was no sign of it but took my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed the wedding you attended and your stay with us, but I am most pleased to read that you and your bracelet were eventually reunited! We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director

Lincolnshire
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We found that the comfort and facilities were excellent and the staff very friendly and welcoming - much better than the norm. The breakfasts were well cooked. Our deal included dinner on the first night which was from a special menu. My only criticism here would be that most of this contained cheese, cream or yogurt and, being allergic I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggie058
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We always try to accommodate special dietary requirements, especially if we have been advised in advance, and I am sorry that the menu contained so much you were unable to eat, I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the...

Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2016

My wife and I stayed after a function, not something we’d normally do, one of us would abstain from drinking and drive home as it’s less than an hour away, however, this time we thought we’d treat ourselves and what a good idea it was. The room was well furnished and of a great size, certainly big enough for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WebMerry
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the function and your stay with us. The discounted rate for guests attending functions does start from £100 and this is a £60 reduction on our published rack rate and a £30 reduction on our usual advance purchase rate. This rate is not available...

norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Great stay as usual. Just of the A12 so handy for getting into London or heading to heybridge where my offices are. Always clean and always friendly staff. Sometimes a bit pricey compared to other best westerns

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your most recent stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed it and the location suits you well. We are competitively priced when compared with other hotels in the area and other Best Western's of a similar standard but understand that there are some which are cheaper. We look forward to seeing you again...

Onoway
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We booked to accommodate a visit to family, without wanting to stay on their doorstep. A very cosy and comfortable hotel that made you feel welcome as soon as you arrived. It accommodates multiple meeting rooms so can be quite busy on weekends with birthdays, weddings etc not to mention meeting groups during mornings and afternoons. Therefore weekends can be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibird8
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at Ivy Hill. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and despite the hotel being busy still found it to be a relaxing break. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are visiting family again. Jason Bartella Managing Director

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chelmsford
4.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#9 of 13 in Chelmsford
326 reviews
3.4 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 13 in Chelmsford
398 reviews
8.0 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Address: Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: £78 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel Chelmsford, Essex
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#3 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a standard room. As we stayed on one of their special 2 night deals we were not expecting the room to be as good as it was.”
 of 5 bubbles Maggie058, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Three price ranges, but a room facing away from the nearby highway noise if you find it disruptive to sleep. It didn't bother us however.”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwibird8, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one away from the A12 side!”
 of 5 bubbles Drooper901, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid corridor with rooms 23 upwards, but there is little escaping the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseKent, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Not room 10 a/c unit noise all the time, Windows always steamed up and room needs updating”
 of 5 bubbles , 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay