We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The County Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (209)
Dining (96)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 10 hotels in Chelmsford
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The County Hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Chelmsford City centre with a 2 minute walk from Chelmsford train station and just 35 minutes train journey to London Liverpool Street. This warm, friendly hotel is an ideal location from which to explore Chelmsford city, The Essex countryside or even a quick trip into London. We have 58 rooms and all are stylish with contemporary features, consisting of standard, premium and suites. When you visit Chelmsford for business or leisure, we can offer you a perfect stay and pride ourselves on making your visit a memorable experience, whether it is for one night or more. Car Parking is subject to availability and chargeable per car, per night.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Filipino and 1 more
1183Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 518
  • 356
  • 178
  • 69
  • 62
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Modina S wrote a review 1 Feb
1 contribution
Chris was exceptional. Very personable and friendly. Definitely recommend, made my day. The stay here was nice too and the location was great in the middle of chelmsford. Reception took my bag up to my room which was nice and I didn’t have to lift a finger 😁
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. Christine is certainly an asset to the hotel. Please do visit us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
H4079TOstephenm wrote a review Aug 2022
Dunstable, United Kingdom3 contributions
Hotel's Favourite
hotel and staff were excellent.Service with a smile and could not of been more helpful.Emily and team were superb and Chris in the restaurant was excellent.All the bar staff were friendly and very helpful.Will definitely be staying again when in Chelmsford.Thank you to all who made our stay so enjoyable,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 1 Aug 2022
How lovely to read this splendid review from you. Emily, Christine and all of the team would like to thank you for your kind words. Please do visit us again soon - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul C wrote a review Jan 2024
Seville, Spain3 contributions
The county hotel is a good three star hotel.It needs some investment to bring up the standards, and the breakfast buffet was just adequate.i asked for poach eggs on toast and was told to make my own toast. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the range of teas in the bedroom was outstanding! Careful, they charge for parking.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Parking fees for the onsite car park.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are very sorry about the incident with regards to your toast. This certainly should not have happened. Our Head Chef and Restaurant, Events & Banqueting Manager send their personal apologies to you and we will ensure this does not happen again. The team would love to hear your suggestions for more items on our buffet, so please do feel free to email us via lauren@countyhotelgroup.co.uk. The hotel has invested a vast amount of money into the property in 2023 and we will continue to do so in 2024. We hope you may try us again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sam b wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
The food and staff have been amazing. All the girls on reception are kind and friendly and Chris in the restaurant always makes our mornings better with her happy attitude and great banter! All in all I would definitely recommend staying
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind words. Christine and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kim F wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
What an experience our two night stay was 🤭 let me first say how wonderful the staff are at the County Hotel, from the reception desk staff, to the bar staff, and the breakfast waiting staff, particularly Josh and Chris was just the most jolly and helpful person ever, nothing was too much trouble. Now back to the actual hotel, on arrival we sat in the bar area, it was lunchtime, so I thought I’ll have a nice Prosecco, lovely Josh politely said they were out of all Prosecco due to new years (even though it was the 15th January) so later on, I thought, ok, I’ll have a Vodka & orange. I was told there was no Vodka either, then my husband asked for a packet of crisps, guess what? You guess it, they were out of crisps too. Have management not heard of “Cash n Carry or Tesco” When our room was ready we opened our room door, to the noise of very loud humming, as if our room was next to a boiler room or something. I immediately went to reception, and said we’d never sleep with that noise in our room. The receptionist was fantastic, she moved us immediately to another room, no qualms. The next morning 5.30am (I had an appointment for a procedure at Broomfield hospital) so I run the shower, and boiling water was coming out of the cold taps too. So I went to reception, and after a bit of faffing about I was led to another room, which was freezing cold I might add, just so I could have my shower, again reception were on it, and very helpful. We went out and when we came back they had sorted us out another room to move to, once again the reception staff were fantastic. But unbeknown to us, the heating had been turned off by a switch above the bathroom door, we had been looking for a thermostat all night, (we had a thermostat in our other room) so obviously expected one in this new room, but there wasn’t one. I didn’t dare want to go down to reception and say our room was freezing cold, so we suffered it, and we also didn’t shower this morning, because the room was so cold. So to summarise, the staff are absolutely fantastic, but more checks and maintenance needed on the rooms in my opinion. And making sure the bar is stocked for it’s patrons. All I can say is, it really is a good job my husband and I have a good sense of humour. Well done to all the staff…
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be prepared for the unexpected!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2024
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for some of the issues you experienced throughout your stay. Our Maintenance Manager has been made aware of your feedback on the bedrooms and we are incredibly sorry you were moved on so many occasions. This should not have happened. Thank you for your kind words regarding Joshua and Christine. Joshua did in fact check you in at reception, but does not work on the bar. You were served by one of our Bartenders. Our Bartender informs us that whilst we had sold out of the house vodka, he provided you with an alternative premium vodka at the same price as the house vodka. Whilst we also had sold out of our house prosecco, we did have other sparkling wine alternatives available and in stock. Our Bar Manager would like to send his personal apologies that we had sold out of crisps and were awaiting a delivery which we received the day after your departure. After the Christmas festivities, the hotel does become very quiet, so we do our best to keep stock levels sensible. We do hope you will try us again in the future and would like to offer you something special on your next stay. Please feel free to email our Reception & Guest Relations Manager via emily@countyhotelgroup.co.uk to book direct.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
neclemen wrote a review Jan 2024
Launceston, United Kingdom142 contributions108 helpful votes
I stayed here for work, Chelmsford doesn’t have many central hotels so limited choice led me here. beyond the reception and restaurants this place is tired, dated and in dry poor condition. there was no sound proofing between floors, so that you could hear everything the room above was doing, the same into the hall so that anyone walking past sounded like they were in heat room - the inch gap under the door doesn’t help! Limited hot water which was a law unto itself, the bathroom was terrible, rusty mouldy fittings. How they have the nerve to display 4 AA stars I do not know. The only good thing was the friendly staff but that is the only good thing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t stay here!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and feedback. The hotel spent a vast amount of money refurbishing bedrooms and public areas in 2023 and we will continue to do this in 2024. We are an independent, local, family run business, so we thank you for supporting us. Thank you for the mention of our friendly, hard-working team. We would love to reach out to you. If you could please email me via john@countyhotelgroup.co.uk.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Owen S wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Me and my Farther on our way to work, stopped of here to see if we could have a breakfast. we was met with "Chris" she was fantastic, showed us to are table and was served with a joyful experience and breakfast. highly recommend. I give the hotel and Chris 5 Stars.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2024
Thank you for your 5 star review. Christine and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keith C wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions
We used a voucher for the festive afternoon tea. This was one of the best we’ve ever had with a good selection of sandwiches, delicious scones with jam and a generous dollop of cream and then a choice of chocolate confectionary, home made biscuits and sweet little Christmas pudding balls topped with icing. Very good selection of teas and friendly efficient service. Compliments to the sous chef. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Thank you for your lovely review. Both our Head Chef and Restaurant, Events & Banqueting Manager would like to send their personal thanks to you for your kind words. Our afternoon tea at the Samphire Restaurant is certainly quite a treat.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vacation14919269486 wrote a review Jan 2024
Ipswich, United Kingdom1 contribution
A large group of friends and I attended anew years eve party. The food was lovely. The quail eggs and beef Wellington were divine. Service was fantastic and music was great. We loved our new year celebration. The staff were so helpful and friendly
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2024
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear how happy you were with your new year celebrations at the hotel. We would love to welcome you back next year. Wishing you a Happy New Year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarah wrote a review Dec 2023
Chelmsford, United Kingdom98 contributions121 helpful votes
I booked and paid a deposit with our food oder on 13th December along another couple for what we hoped would be a decent special Christmas occasion . When we arrived we were put in the bar area, which was cold and soulless, with no Christmas decorations or Christmas music. I was told that they had a large party in the restaurant and therefore no room for us. We were not told this when we booked in end October. We were rushed throughout the meal and food was just warm and of only average taste. The next day I asked to speak to management and it took 5 days for a return phone call, where I was told "to send an email to prove I booked the restaurant!" I did this and it is now December 23rd and still no apology! Rude, Unprofessional and obviously prefer large groups rather than couple. I would never return and would deter anyone to go here. Spend your money where you know you'll be an appreciated customer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Mills, General Manager at The County Hotel
Responded 25 Dec 2023
Thank you for your review titled “Disgraceful”. We would agree that your review is disgraceful, considering areas of the truth are missing. You were allocated a lovely table in our Rainsford Bar & Lounge, which does contain Christmas decorations and a Christmas tree. The table was also nicely set up with a Christmas tablecloth, festive napkins and crackers. Christmas music was playing in the background too. It is interesting to note you have forgotten to mention the complimentary bottle of wine you were provided as a gesture of goodwill, based on your dissatisfaction with your table. Your table was well looked after by our Bar Manager and his hard-working team. We did not notice that you were ‘rushed’ and you made no comments on the day regarding the food. If you feel the service is rushed, let the team know and we will be happy to slow it down. Likewise, if you’re not pleased with the food, give our chefs an opportunity to amend it at the time. When you made your online booking, you provided an incorrect contact telephone number. Our Restaurant, Events & Banqueting Manager emailed you one day after receiving your complaint to ask for your correct telephone number. Following an email reply from you, she then telephoned you two days afterwards (on a Sunday following a busy weekend at the hotel). You were offered a full apology on the telephone. Following another ‘angry’ email from you, you also received a full email reply with an apology from our Restaurant, Events & Banqueting Manager. We are always willing to accept when errors are made and will happily apologise and make amends. However, we do ask our guests to be entirely honest with their reviews. Luckily, these review platforms give the opportunity for both sides of the story to be told. Wishing you a Merry Christmas!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chelmsford area.
PRICE RANGE
£90 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
county hotel chelmsford
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexChelmsford
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE COUNTY HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Chelmsford)

Frequently Asked Questions about The County Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The County Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Chelmsford (0.3 miles), Hot Box Live (0.2 miles), and The Ale House (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The County Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The County Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The County Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The County Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Taste of Italy Pizza Bar, Il Palazzo Chelmsford, and Zorba the Greek Taverna.
Is The County Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Chelmsford.
Does The County Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The County Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to The County Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hylands Estate (2.1 miles).
Is The County Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.