We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Aarandale Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chelmsford
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Aarandale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 9: English reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Woman was kind of nice. But demanding. Rooms are small. Tv is old school. Hate the shared bathroom. Door 6 had a dodgy lock and the shower feels like you're being urinated on it's so pitiful. You get half a towel to dry with. Dust in the tea cups. Get what you pay for. The upside is, you do get...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank rriicckkyy
Essexhotelier, Owner at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this review

This comment is one of those that is so absurd and not worth answering to. Still I am intrigued in a way as to what exactly got up "rricckkys" nose? Because I am sure it is not our tea cups which are washed daily nor our bath towels which are standard size,and least of all our bath shower which is...

Reviewed 29 March 2013

The woman was nothing but rude. There was no need for her manner. You run a guest house and don't give good service. I think maybe you need to look in to another area to work in. It was a disgrace. Yes it was cheap. But will NEVER stay again. The room was freezing and the walls were thin. Need...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Luvinash
Essexhotelier, Owner at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this review

When an intoxicated young lady tried to escape without paying her bill for three nights stay, at 3am, I did my best to keep my composure. Amidst her shouting and swearing, I could not say much, but I locked the front door and gave her a choice; to pay and stay till the morning or pay and go, as she...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed at the Aarandale for a week in the depth of a very cold February. I had the en-suite room on the ground floor which was very cosy and comfortable; the landlady was very pleasant and the tea, coffee and biscuits were replenished every day and our beds were made as well. Also my room was right in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raggedroyalist
Zrenjanin, Serbia
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Clean quiet and friendly. Homely atmosphere with a very pleasant friendly landlady. Privacy was well respected while the rooms were cleaned and the beds made daily while I was out. There was no breakfast but tea and coffee making facilities were in my room and supplies of tea, coffee, sugar and milk were replenished daily. Bathroom facilities were shared but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam P
Essex
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This place is shocking. The foreign woman is very rude and arrogant she can barely even talk english, so communication is hard. The bedsit stinks of dogs and has an old musty smell. The rooms they class as double are just 2 single beds pushed together. The tv is tiny and a big back off one with bad signal and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Craig A
Essexhotelier, Manager at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this review

We aim to respond positively to all objective reviews which we do not consider this to be, The partner of the reviewer had booked the room as a twin room with single beds and in the knowledge that we do not provide breakfast. The reviewers partner acknowledged this, however the reviewers nose seemed out of joint and this seems reflected...

London
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and it wasn't too bad, could have been a bit cleaner. The landlady was nice and friendly. The only big issue was it's meant to be a B+B but it should be called B. Does bot do breakfast at all. You can't call a place a B+B and have not even have a choice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thfc74
essexman2009, Owner at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this review

All guests are informed before they book a room that Aarandale Guest House only provides accommodation and our prices are set to reflect this. This approach suits most of our guests who are looking for good value clean and comfortable accommodation and are happy to make their own breakfast arrangements if they require it. All rooms at Aarandale Guest House...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I would highly recommend avoiding this B&B - they cancel your bookings if they get a 'better' one (longer stay or whatever). I booked to stay at one point this year and if I hadn't emailed for a written confirmation, goodness knows whether I'd have been told that they'd decided they had "building work" going on. Speaking to another local...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank LakesWanderer
essexman2009, Owner at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this review

Aarandale Guest House does not cancel confirmed bookings as implied by this guest whose own booking was not cancelled. As Aarandale Guest House does not take credit cards we will ask guests who appear uncertain as to whether they wish to make a definitive booking to confirm their booking in the week prior to their arrival. When we do not...

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My family--husband, daughter, and I--stayed at Aarandale and found it to be relaxing and cozy. Our hosts were super-helpful, and we felt absolutely free to come and go as we pleased. We would definitely stay here again as the location is easy and yet quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KTBirch
Worthing
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I stayed at this B&B for a week after viewing on the internet and was somewhat disappointed as it did not live up to expectations. It appears that there has been a change of ownership since the website was first prepared and the property has lost it original 3* status. It has been allowed to deteriorate and although comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Muso30
chelmsfordproprietor, Proprietor at Aarandale Guest House, responded to this review

We would wish to respond to the above review: Aarandale Guest House is under the same ownership as it has been for the last 10 years and we continue to provide comfortable, clean and affordable quality accommodation. The gardens are maintained even in the autumn when this guest stayed, a few leaves on the lawn is to be expected at...

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chelmsford hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 13 in Chelmsford
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 13 in Chelmsford
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Chelmsford (Springfield) Hotel
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 13 in Chelmsford
322 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming Chelmsford quality guest house accommodation close to Chelmsford town centre. An ideal location for a short break or touring holiday in Essex. We look forward to providing you with a warm and friendly welcome at Aarandale Guest House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aarandale Guest House

Address: 9 Roxwell Road, Chelmsford CM1 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range: £25 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Aarandale Guest House Chelmsford, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aarandale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you use BT wifi the ground floor en-suite has excellent reception.”
 of 5 bubbles Raggedroyalist, 25 Mar 2013 | Read review
1 of 1