We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Seven Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (397)
Room & Suite (134)
Dining (77)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#12 of 18 hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Seven Hotel is a brand-new boutique hotel located within the heart of Southend-On-Sea, Essex with 37 stunning bedrooms, including 5 luxury suites, a 60 seater modern British restaurant, Gin-centric cocktail bar and outdoor sun terrace. Sat high upon the cliffs, within the beautiful Clifton Conservation Area, the hotel boasts unparalleled panoramic views of the Pier and the Thames Estuary. Situated directly opposite the Cliff Lift, in this historic part of Southend, guests will be able to access, from the hotel, seven miles of classic seafront and the longest pleasure pier in the world. Light is a key factor to the design, with high windows and stunning statement lighting adding to the unique atmosphere for our discerning guests. Our philosophy is based upon seven key principles: a superb location, a unique award winning design and ambience, great modern amenities, luxurious ethos within a competitive price, fine gastronomy, first-class service and memorable hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
403Reviews11Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 190
  • 68
  • 45
  • 36
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Nina C wrote a review 6 Apr
1 contribution
We came to visit Seven for afternoon tea and had a lovely time! All the staff were incredibly friendly and so attentive. The cocktails were amazing and the food was even better! Definitely will be coming back and recommending to friends and family!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Travel Bug wrote a review 3 Apr
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland121 contributions77 helpful votes
Great hotel close to the activities of Southend on sea pier, shopping and pier amusement park. Lovely view overlooking the sea and watching the ships pass by. There is also a cliff cablecar right in front of the hotel you can use for free. The hotel has an amazing restaurant and it was truly delicious - great decor and atmosphere in the hotel and restaurant with friendly staff. Only downside was that the bathrooms were a bit small but l can live with that. Pleasant floor heating in the bathroom however and anti fog mirror. Rooms are clean and stylish Should we visit Southend on sea again, we would definitely stay at seven again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, easy to get to from the train station
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Samantha R wrote a review Mar 2024
Billericay, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
This place is beautiful, amazing cocktails & very attentive staff. They went over & above to accommodate our birthday gathering despite numbers going up & down. Situated in a beautiful location on top of the cliffs. their Sunday roast is gorgeous and they offer a selection of tapas. During the winter, you can sit outside with the heaters
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Inspire49351530117 wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Romantic feeling from outside, inside friendly staff, we selebrate my 60 Birthday, in 2023 october, it was a nice evening, we celebrate with my friends. I recomand for couples romantic place. The restaurant is in central Southend on Sea wonderful view to Pier and Sea
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Philip C wrote a review Feb 2024
Los Cristianos, Spain143 contributions79 helpful votes
As another short stay at this delightful boutique hotel, I can’t sing its praises highly enough. Modern clean pleasing decor; fab room with an extremely comfy bed; pleasant bar with a good selection of drinks - topped off with a fab team whereby nothing is too much trouble. To the management team - thank you - please pass on my praise to your amazing team
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sightseer56759525560 wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions
We received a fantastic welcome the moment we walked into the reception and the great customer service continued throughout the stay. A very modern and exceptionally clean hotel and perfectly situated in the town, and just a 10 minute walk from the theatre. Breakfast was a bit pricey, but it was good quality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dean P wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
It was the night of the storm 21st January there was a constant draft we had heating on 35 full blast was wearing the dressing gowns supplied we was in the suite best room in hotel we was freezing few things went wrong bath leaked and when I put towels down they were filthy but the problem was the cold reception and management insist there was no draft I messaged them at 5am asking for someone to please sort it as I hadn't had a minute sleep the flash 70ibch TV wasn't working I assume down to the storm iv requested a refund and iv even said if they willing to change room I'd stay again iv stayed there many times before no problems my issue is with the customer service in regards to temperature in the room I called reception no answer I sent messages I enclose evidence and the replies I have had from them is terrible you pay a lot of money to stay in a suite and she said your on the seafront on top floor there was a storm l.my argument is surely its built for this people shouldn't be freezing in there room and then being ignored after and during the fact I done what was required to contact my bank for refund I didn't want to go to trip advisor as had good stays before but I'm sticking to my guns as it has left a bad memory at a nice place they need to compensate me and I could out the one off behind me
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay away from suites on top floor facing the sea if there going to be a storm or high winds you...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clare Bracken, General Manager at Seven Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2024
I responded to your complaint on the 26th January, which was 5 days after you stayed in the hotel so I do not understand why you are saying you have been ignored. As you are aware, you arrived at the hotel with a picture of a credit card and we, of course, could not take this as payment as potentially this could have been a fraud. You also presented a physical card which you informed us had no funds on it so again, we were unable to take payment. A gentleman then came to the hotel and paid for your room. We therefore were unable to allow any charges to the room as you had no way of paying for it. Therefore the bank will be unable to request a charge back as you did not pay for the room. There was no leak in the bath and the floor was not dirty. It was the night of the storms and the wind was howling especially as you were on the top floor of the hotel but the room was not cold. We are really sorry that you are dissatisfied as we genuinely wish all our guests to have a great stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Reading_Traveller06 wrote a review Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom164 contributions157 helpful votes
I arrived late at the hotel but was still able to order room service for dinner. The room was nice, clean and spacious. I particularly liked the large walk in shower. However I wasn’t too keen on being greeted with cigarette smell in the corridor. The food arrived and was fantastic, I couldn’t fault it. I tried sleeping but unfortunately my room was directly above a large generator/refrigerator which was buzzing for most of the night so I didn’t get much sleep. I ordered room service for breakfast the next day which was also good. Overall a good stay ruined by a bad nights sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sunshine21904094847 wrote a review Dec 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Food was nice,and lots of different choice, but we had to ask 7 times for music to go down, if I wanted to shout to my colleague's, I'd go to the O2. If you want to speak to your friends, it's not for you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Steve C wrote a review Nov 2023
Wokingham, United Kingdom207 contributions66 helpful votes
Great hotel and restaurant. If you like modern decor, this hotel is for you. A lovely intimate bar, beautifully decorated rooms, and a great restaurant. We had the 3 course meal and everything was delicious. Good produce, excellently cooked and presented. One of our best meals in 2023…
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you eat in the restaurant if you stay here..
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southend-on-Sea area.
PRICE RANGE
£82 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthend-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SEVEN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Southend-on-Sea)

Frequently Asked Questions about Seven Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Seven Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Southend - Escape Rooms (0.2 miles), Adventure Island (0.2 miles), and Southend Pier & Railway (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Seven Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Seven Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Seven Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Seven Hotel?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Seven Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Istanbul Turkish BBQ Restaurant & Takeaway, The Mews, and The Pipe of Port.
Is Seven Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Southend-on-Sea.
Are any cleaning services offered at Seven Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Seven Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hadleigh Castle (4.5 miles), Prittlewell Priory (1.4 miles), and Southchurch Hall (0.8 miles).
Is Seven Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.