We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Camelia Hotel

178 Eastern Esplanade, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3AA England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (290)
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (34)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 18 hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Multiple Award winning family owned and run Boutique hotel. Located on the Southend seafront in Thorpe Bay with a large car park at the rear.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Hiking
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Windsurfing
Fishing
Patio
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, German, Italian
960Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 682
  • 178
  • 54
  • 21
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
titley wrote a review Feb 2024
london2 contributions
+1
We booked an afternoon tea on Valentine’s Day and it was absolutely fantastic! We were greeted by lovely friendly staff who gave us a window table so we could enjoy the view- very much appreciated. The afternoon tea itself was 5 star and I have a lot of experience on afternoon teas! The table decor was in keeping with Valentine’s Day as was the ballads being played in the background. All in all we spent a really nice relaxing couple of hours in a great venue, with lovely staff, excellent food and fizz enjoying the view! Thank you for making our Valentine’s Day special and we will definitely be back !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book with confidence!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you! Your comments are much appreciated and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and that it came up to expectations! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
pringo wrote a review Feb 2024
Rayleigh, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
We arrived at the Hotel Camellia and went to reception and was met by a lovely lady who was pleasant and helpful telling us all we needed to know plus telling us our room number, when we got to our room it was lovely the decor was immaculate, it was so clean and the bathroom was the same, we were so pleased with our room. We stopped over for one night with bed and breakfast plus evening meal in the restaurant. The staff where very attentive and helpful not to full on just right, Brandon the waiter/barman was very helpful and pleasant he served us our dinner with a lovely young lady who was also helpful and pleasant nothing was to much trouble we were made to feel very relaxed, the dinner table was laid out lovely. Our dinner was very nice indeed, the prawns in chilli butter are out of this world, my girlfriend had lamb shank for mains and I had the steak again we could not fault any part of the meal or service We had a good nights sleep in a lovely bed and in the morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast consisting of a full English or cereals etc it was such a nice breakfast and we were looked after again. I could not fault the Camellia hotel and restaurant in any way, we will definitely visit again soon. I can thoroughly recommend the Camellia hotel and restaurant. Thanks for looking after us so well guys.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience here at the Camelia and we appreciate that you would recommend to others. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the future. If you do consider a return visit, please contact us directly and we will do our best to offer you the best rooms/rates/availability.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martin B wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
The friendly staff, the cleanliness, the excellent food and the lovely rooms made me wonder how this was only a 3 star hotel. An excellent experience all round! The Asian Salmon linguine was absolutely to die for and the breakfast was lovely. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and were able to sample the full experience! We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and would recommend that you call us direct for the best rooms/rates/availability, if considering a return visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie B wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
Stayed here for one night, although the area was out of season this hotel was delightful. The restaurant was very impressive and we had a wonderful trip. We slept well, ate well, and above all…. Enjoyed ourselves immensely. We would definitely recommend this hotel both to eat and stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
We really appreciate your very kind comments following your recent visit. We are pleased that you were able to sample the full Camelia experience, and that you enjoyed all aspects. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you on another occasion in the future - if considering a return visit, please contact us direct for the best rooms/rates/availability
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Les S wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I recently booked this hotel for a celebration wake. From the initial contact they were very helpful and professional. The day went very well and the food was excellent. The staff were attentive and very helpful. I have also dined here in the past and will return again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent event at the Camelia. We are pleased that we were able to make a difficult day for you and your family, go well. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a happier occasion soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Louis B wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
Me and my partner came here back in August for a birthday retreat for the weekend without the kids and my gosh it was amazing, the staff were lovely, friendly and very helpful, the whole hotel was very clean especially the rooms , we had dinner and breakfast inside the hotel and both meals were Beautiful, for dinner we both had the steak raw with chips and side salad with a mushroom sause that was delicious and my partner had the same but with a peppercorn. Both sauces tasted divine and meet the chef Youssef and complimented his food later in the evening and bought him a drink, the breakfast was great aswell and very fresh and good ingredients used, thank you all for the great stay we thoroughly enjoyed it… P.s sorry I didn’t leave a review sooner
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your visit - goodness the warmth of August seems a very distant memory now! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the meal. We hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back another time. Please contact us direct for the best rates/rooms/availability
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sheree M wrote a review Feb 2024
Chelmsford, United Kingdom8 contributions2 helpful votes
What a find! Beautiful bar/lounge, excellent service and amazing food. We had a gift voucher for afternoon tea and it was just fabulous. The waiter was great, really helpful and friendly. Beautifully decorated and very clean everywhere. Would definitely return and recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Free car park at rear
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terry K wrote a review Jan 2024
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom32 contributions11 helpful votes
Had a lovely meal and drinks in the camelia restaurant and they never drop their high standards the food was excellent and the staff were really helpful and friendly and very professional my wife had prawns and squid and could not praise it high enough I had fish and it was delicious a lovely time
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Camelia restaurant. We are pleased that you both enjoyed your lunch and very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Siobhan H wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Lovely hotel with great staff and is conveniently located for all the shops, beach and attractions. Great restaurant too. We stayed in the two dog friendly rooms and have used this hotel numerous times
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reviewing your latest experience at the Camelia. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope it will not be too long before we see you again
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
John A wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
On check in the staff were friendly and helpful. She then told us we won’t be able to use the bar in the evening as they have a private function although the hotel says it has a bar for residents. Not a good start as we planned to use it that evening. We returned to the hotel at about 10pm to very very loud music and people singing at the tops of their voices, as there was no chance of a drink we went to our room directly above the bar where the noise and vibration was unbearable.at gone 11pm I went to the reception to complain to be told we will turn it down a bit. At my insistence that it was unacceptable they said we will stop it soon. The loud music did stop about 11.30 but the loud voices and singing continued a bit longer. If the hotel is going to have noisy private functions they shouldn’t open the hotel to other paying guests . Especially not give them the room directly above the noisy party
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Cammidge, Owner at Camelia Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Camelia. We are sorry that you were not entirely happy with your experience. We confirm that you were advised our bar was closed for a private function, however you were also advised that drinks from the bar would be waiter served in our adjacent Dining room throughout the evening. This was still the case at 10pm, when you chose to return to your room. The music was turned down at 10:55pmfor their last song and turned off completely, at 11pm
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Southend-on-Sea area.
PRICE RANGE
£92 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
camelia hotel southend on sea
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEssexSouthend-on-Sea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAMELIA HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews (Southend-on-Sea)

Frequently Asked Questions about Camelia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Camelia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Southchurch Park (0.3 miles), Bar Vic (0.2 miles), and MFA Bowl (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Camelia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Camelia Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Camelia Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Camelia Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Camelia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gold Coast Chinese Restaurant, Billy Hundreds Fish n Tapas Restaurant, and Roslin Beach Restaurant.
Is Camelia Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Southend-on-Sea.
Are any cleaning services offered at Camelia Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Camelia Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Camelia Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Prittlewell Priory (2.2 miles) and Southchurch Hall (0.7 miles).
Does Camelia Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.