We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge Southend on Sea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Southend on Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 253: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Southend on Sea
 Click to rate
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was very spacious for my family and was also very comfortable. There was very little noise from outside considering it is located right in the centre of town. There was also little noise from other guests in the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 670caraw
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception stank dirty carpets and also horrible service no clean water to drink and room was freezing. Noisy location too too much noise outside not a good stay at all. Could not use the vending machine as it does not accept the new £5 note just needed to buy some water and no change at reception either

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandasD1991GZ
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience at our Southend on Sea Travelodge but we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We would like to hear more about your stay, therefore may we kindly request you contact us via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good Travelodge with very friendly staff nice and clean couldn't fault it for the price. Going back staying again in may for 4 nights. Well positioned for everything in Southend. Little bit of noise heard but didn't disturb us at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamesashy
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We are so pleased to learn that during your stay your room was clean. We're happy to note that our hotel team were friendly and helpful throughout your stay and that the location was ideal for you; we will be...

Stogursey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basic, but you get what you pay for, and therefore good value. No facilities in the actual hotel, but plenty of nearby establishments for breakfast etc etc. Actual location very down market though. Staff friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimbobgubbins
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never experienced awful service like this before. Travelodge had a hold of my money (and still do), even tho we have paid for our stay. Their card machine declined my card, even though I had enought money on it, and when I opened my bank the money were gone. The lady at the desk told us we still had not...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank T7631MG
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I needed to stay overnight and the hotel was clean and tidy, the hot water was hot. the staff were friendly and helpful, and able to direct me to my next day's destination. Excellent value for price paid. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernardcH3233IU
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2016

its not the greatest of hotels equally i guess it isn't the worst however if i could stay elsewhere I would. Its not the greatest on cleanliness as I had to clean shower myself before using, perhaps staff need further training. Noise pollution due to location which i did not mind however some people might. also be prepared for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubern-x
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Southend on Sea Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

The hotel is in a central location, basic and clean. Janet on reception was very nice, as was the other member of staff who's name i didnt catch. The front rooms are on a bust road, but really didnt hear much noise at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their time with us and we are really pleased to learn that this was achieved and that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room and the service from our staff. It is also our aim to offer accommodation in convenient locations and we...

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Hotel offered me exactly what we wanted, great price, good customer service, clean and tidy room and very quiet. we will definitely use hotel again. Hotel location was ideal for my purpose and the room offered everything that I needed

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leepQ7467WY
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Close to all areas but Travelodge sign was not correctly working. However security was good and the rooms were really nice 😁. Tea and coffee wasn't refilled in room but room was clean. Bed was comfortable, pillows comfortable. Reception staff were friendly.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O5937PKsusand

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southend-on-Sea hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Last Post
The Last Post
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
547 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Southend on Sea

Address: Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Southend on Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Travelodge Southend on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Southend On Sea Hotel Southend-On-Sea
Southend On Sea Travelodge
Southend-On-Sea Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Southend-On-Sea
Travelodge Southend On Sea Southend-On-Sea, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Southend on Sea staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Southend on Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room - just incase its one of those odd nights.”
 of 5 bubbles Howard-Liverpool, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Front or back makes no difference - both noisy from about 0530 onwards so no lie in.”
 of 5 bubbles 390carlt, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles AlanHathaway, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Proper cleaning of the bed required!. Soiled and dirty sheet I found with hair in the bed disgusting.”
 of 5 bubbles zappy2014, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Be aware of the doors making noise when closing on their own.”
 of 5 bubbles 745samp, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5