Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge

Traveller (64)
Dining (10)
Standard Twin Room
Room & Suite (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 1 guest house in Thornbury
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Thornbury. The Lodge offers a charming environment, alongside many helpful amenities designed to help you enjoy your stay. You’ll enjoy relaxing rooms that offer a flat screen TV, and you can stay connected during your stay as Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge offers all guests free WIFI. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner with us in our Golf Centre Lounge, adjacent to the Lodge. We are open from 7am - 7.30pm, Monday to Saturday & 7am - 6pm on Sundays (please check with us about kitchen opening timings before arrival). Free parking is available on site. Travellers looking to enjoy some ribs can head to Thai Basil or Ship Inn. Otherwise, you may want to check out a Chinese restaurant such as Hing Tai. We are also a great spot for exploring South Gloucestershire -enjoy your stay at Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Bristol Road, Thornbury BS35 3SL England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Bristol Airport
16.9 mi
See all flights
Cardiff-Wales Airport
37.6 mi
See all flights
119Reviews1Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 42
  • 23
  • 7
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
06newman wrote a review Nov 2021
Exeter, United Kingdom26 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stopped here for an overnighter en route to Newent. The rooms are large and comfortable and check in at the Golf Clubhouse was seamless. Breakfast in the clubhouse was well cooked and very relaxed. The only downside was the level of noise coming from other room's plumbing and TVs. That said its a very old lodge and only to be expected. The shower in the bathroom was super and I was very reluctant to get out!
Overall really good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: go for ground floor to minimise noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YoungAngelaC wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom133 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice venue for a meet with friends, all the better if you have a round of golf. Choice of courses to suit all levels of play plus a putting practice area. Friendly bar with an outdoor patio area, nice in warm weather. Sunday carvery reasonable with the family, but go early to get the best veg. Good venue for wedding reception, with nice areas for photos.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elzbeth2015 wrote a review Aug 2018
122 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were friendly, rooms are nice, clean and have tea/coffee making facilities. We attended a wedding in Thornbury Castle and walked back to the lodge through the village which was a nice half hour walk. The lodge was on the golf course literally had golfers outside our window in the morning so keep the blinds shut but it is a golf resort so what else would you expect :) Breakfast wasn’t included which for the price was disappointing but loads of places both gain and independent in the village to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael P wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I attended a family wedding at Thornbury Golf Centre and the family made a block booking of rooms at the Lodge. As I am disabled I telephoned well in advance to make sure they had a room suitable for me. I was assured that Room 3 on the ground floor would accommodate my mobility scooter, had a walk in shower and would be kept for me. Nearer the date, when I rang to pay, I was again assured the room was set aside for me. When I arrived the room had been let the previous day to someone else and I was allocated a room on the second floor which I could not reach. No warning, no explanation, no apology. I sent a detailed letter of complaint. No reply. Be warned.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue M wrote a review Apr 2023
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Bed comfortable. Shower door difficult to manoeuvre around. Check in limited times as staff Keane by 8pm. there is no food or drink served after 8pm in this place. Which was not good for us as we had travelled over 200 miles to get here. Check out 10 30am. Again not great after a long journey the night before and then having to find somewhere to eat and drink ! Woken up in morning by staff accessing a store room next to room.
Not worth staying at if you are wanting a place to relax in of evening.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book somewhere else for dinner! Breakfast works out about £16 per person. Not great value. So...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sara J wrote a review Dec 2021
18 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The website describes the place as informal.. but on this occasion it was more like the Marie Celeste..no reception ( I arrived at 6.00pm).. a key code to get in.. and a key safe to access for the key to my room. It's an old house and felt a bit spooky..couldn't help wondering if I was the only person there.. perhaps I was.

When I rang at 4pm to say I'd be a bit after 6.00pm was told about the key arrangements and er..if you want food theres lots of places in Thornbury. Yes..luckily there are.. Hawkes House proving rather good as I write this.. but I don't pay hotel prices to get Travel Lodge treatment. Not good enough... Thornbury Lodge.. cheap treatment and off hand service at best. I won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RickyTFence wrote a review Mar 2024
Porthcawl, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here a few times, food is hit or miss as they close early.
This time was different, was checked into No 7, rushed over to get some food and got back to room by 7pm. Noticed some yellow lady-bug type insects around the tray with the kettle and cups, looked futhher and saw the whole wall around the window was swarming with them, they were flying around the room. It was really unplesant.
Called tge numner on the paperwork- useless. Returned to the golf center and the barman said they were full, so what do you want me to do about it?
I ended up driving home, which resulted in a 120 mile trip, as I needed to be in Bristol the next day.
I was offered a refund on the room, but the wasted time and the expense of having to return home was completely ignored and dismissed by a very blaise attitude from the manager, as it was deemed "harmless ladybirds". This room should not have been made available as it did not meet health and safety standards.
Avoid at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Caroline Williams, General Manager at Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge
Responded 1 Apr 2024
Dear Ricky, Apologies for the delay in coming back to you. I have recently started as the General Manager of Thornbury Golf Centre & Lodge. I am sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay and decided to leave us. I am disappointed to hear we didn't look after you or take an interest in your feedback. I hope you will be assured that we are looking into your feedback, and will ensure this issue doesn't arise again for other guests. Kind Regards Caroline Williams General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sue B wrote a review Apr 2023
65 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is very good value for money in a lovely location. We stayed in a double room which was very comfortable with a spotless ensuite. We had a good night's sleep as the room was quiet and the bed was comfortable.
We had breakfast in the clubhouse the next morning and they had gluten free options. Staff were very helpful. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Smithy wrote a review Jun 2021
34 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you to all the staff that saved our day after we were supposed to check into Thornbury Castle only to find it was like a building site.
It was our silver wedding anniversary.
We had a swift check in here, beautiful room in the Lodge and a warm welcome. We sat on the terrace, had a meal in the evening and really had a wonderful time.
Thank you Thornbury Lodge for making our stay special.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jim m wrote a review Aug 2023
Muscat, Oman29 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dear Sir/madam,
Just though I would drop you a line or two to congratulate you on the standard of service I received while staying with you on Tuesday. The room was a delight. Outstanding In every way. The staff in the golf club were courteous helpful and professional. The food was tasty, well presented and excellent value for money. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Great golf driving range with trackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from kazzy8
Royston, United Kingdom168 contributions79 helpful votes
We only stayed in the annex bit and therefore only had access to front hall, hallway and our Room! I don't see why you don't ring up thornbury gc and request the rooms that you want to stay in... Also try finding cheaper deals Sorry not much help
RickyTFence wrote a tip Mar 2024
Porthcawl, United Kingdom9 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all costs"
Read full review
jim m wrote a tip Aug 2023
Muscat, Oman29 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great golf driving range with trackman "
Read full review
Sue M wrote a tip Apr 2023
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book somewhere else for dinner! Breakfast works out about £16 per person. Not great value. So again book somewhere else for breakfast"
Read full review
holintel wrote a tip Apr 2022
Folkestone, United Kingdom248 contributions135 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Arrive whilst golf centre is open."
Read full review
06newman wrote a tip Nov 2021
Exeter, United Kingdom26 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"go for ground floor to minimise noise."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thornbury area.
PRICE RANGE
£90 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGloucestershireThornbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THORNBURY GOLF CENTRE LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Thornbury Museum (0.7 miles) and Dead Funny (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ronnie's Of Thornbury, Thai Basil, and Ship Inn.
Is Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Thornbury.
Does Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Newark Park (9.8 miles), Blaise Hamlet (7.7 miles), and Dr Jenner's House (7.1 miles).
All Thornbury HotelsThornbury Hotel DealsHotels near Thornbury Golf Centre Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire